ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-15-2013, 06:18 AM   #1
GrenDesb OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Québec
Oddometer: 309
990 no abs, no speedo

2007 bike

ABS light is off but no ABS and speedo not working.

Didn't have time to tear into it yet but any clue would help.

Regards
GrenDesb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 07:01 AM   #2
KTMADV
Hammer Down
 
KTMADV's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Location: Willows Ca
Oddometer: 166
Make sure your fuse is good in your top glove box. Sounds like you don't have power.
__________________
Ceasar Vasquez
KTMADV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 07:14 AM   #3
Roeligan
Belgium power!!!
 
Roeligan's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Belgium
Oddometer: 503
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrenDesb View Post
2007 bike

ABS light is off but no ABS and speedo not working.

Didn't have time to tear into it yet but any clue would help.

Regards
HAd this once a few years ago...

Got it fixed by changing the battery...
__________________
KTM 990 Adventure (Stealth one ; 2008-), now S-d & Beta 350 RR 2013 to play with
Suzuki DL-1000 V-Strom (2004-2008) and Suzuki GSF 600 Bandit (2002-2006)
www.roeligan.net
Roeligan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 07:40 PM   #4
GrenDesb OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Québec
Oddometer: 309
So,

The new battery thing is interesting. I assume a fully charged battery would do the trick.

Pulled the battery to find that a wire to the voltage regulator was pinched by the skid plate, showing bare copper probably touching here and there and battery was weak. Re-insulated the wire with shrink tubing, charged the battery, measured (with headlight fuse out) 12.8v with key off, 13.5v at Idle and 13.25v at 5000rpm, not the 15-16v specified in the manual. ABS still not working.



I didn't realize yesterday but the ABS light is actually always lit but very very dim.

It appears brighter on the picture than it really is.



When I pull the ABS fuse out (glove-box one), it lights brighter.



Checked the fuses near the main relay and they are good.

Will continue the investigation tomorrow.

GrenDesb screwed with this post 04-16-2013 at 08:28 PM
GrenDesb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 07:49 PM   #5
KTMSAM
Gnarly Adventurer
 
KTMSAM's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Location: within sight of Lake Superior
Oddometer: 123
I would give a good look at your front wheel speed sensor, located on your left side fork tube and reads off the tone ring on your rotor. If that sensor was to go bad, it would eliminate ABS since it wouldn't be able to compare both wheel speeds, and the speedometer is read off of the front wheel. (that is why guys are interrupting the rear wheel speed sensor in order to shut off ABS instantly)

Hope that helps!
__________________
"KTM? Who makes that?"
KTMSAM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 08:23 PM   #6
Zuber
Zoob
 
Zuber's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Main Street, Shedd, Oregon
Oddometer: 1,797
+1, speedo cable. Compare to the rear ABS cable, are the same part number. You can pull the rear one, install it on the front. If the speedo starts working then you've found it. Not cheap, almost $100. Often get pinched because of improper routing during a tire change.
__________________
"Dad, can I get a motorcycle when I grow up?"
"Son, you can't do both"
Zuber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 09:04 PM   #7
GrenDesb OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Québec
Oddometer: 309
My understanding is that when you unplug or lose a sensor, the light should go on, right? It doesnt.

The light is dim all the time but does not goes on on start up and does not start to blink if I hold the ABS button, it only goes on if I pull the fuse out (the one in the glove box).

I'll go with your suggestions and check the sensors anyways, too easy to not try it.

Thanks, any new potential cause helps.
GrenDesb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 09:55 PM   #8
Motomedic
Beastly Adventurer
 
Motomedic's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Spokane
Oddometer: 2,449
I own a 950, so no help w the ABS, but as a long time mechanic, if my bike was making more than 14.7vdc, I'd wonder why the ECM wasn't fried.

Does the 990 book really call for as much as 16vdc?
__________________
Feike

I don't have to agree with you to like you or respect you. -Anthony Bourdain
Motomedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 10:28 PM   #9
gefr
Life is a trip
 
gefr's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: East Med, Greece
Oddometer: 3,759
Some strange effects happened when ABS switch was faulty.

Cure was replacing the button. I should ask and come back to you on this.
Cheers.
gefr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 05:48 PM   #10
GrenDesb OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Québec
Oddometer: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motomedic View Post
I own a 950, so no help w the ABS, but as a long time mechanic, if my bike was making more than 14.7vdc, I'd wonder why the ECM wasn't fried.

Does the 990 book really call for as much as 16vdc?
Memory fault, it calls for 14v-15v

GrenDesb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 05:50 PM   #11
GrenDesb OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Québec
Oddometer: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by gefr View Post
Cure was replacing the button. I should ask and come back to you on this.
Cheers.
I just went and scavenged my friends 990 to try his switch. Still the same trouble.

Pretty nice to allow me to leave his bike like this:

GrenDesb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 05:57 PM   #12
GrenDesb OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Québec
Oddometer: 309
So to sumarize, the ABS light and button does not act as described in the manual:



It stays lit but very dim like this:



Unless I pull the fuse in the glove box than it lights up:



I'll keep chasing some wires but I feel I'll need to have it plugged on the dealer diagnostic tool to get the trouble codes and I hope it's not the ABS module that's acting up.

GrenDesb screwed with this post 04-16-2013 at 08:33 PM
GrenDesb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 06:50 PM   #13
GrenDesb OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Québec
Oddometer: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by KTMSAM View Post
I would give a good look at your front wheel speed sensor, located on your left side fork tube and reads off the tone ring on your rotor. If that sensor was to go bad, it would eliminate ABS since it wouldn't be able to compare both wheel speeds, and the speedometer is read off of the front wheel. (that is why guys are interrupting the rear wheel speed sensor in order to shut off ABS instantly)

Hope that helps!
I just checked both wheel rotation sensors. They both pulse the signal when I turn the wheels so they seems fine to me.

Voltage going through them is around 12v. When I switch the ignition off, I still read 0,15v-0,16v. Anybody know if those values are normal?

GrenDesb screwed with this post 04-16-2013 at 08:33 PM
GrenDesb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 03:42 PM   #14
GrenDesb OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2011
Location: Québec
Oddometer: 309
Problem solved.

Ground was unconnected. I don't know what the PO did, seems like this ground has to go to one of the starter motor, guess there's been a problem with the starter.

GrenDesb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 04:49 PM   #15
coconuttele
Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2011
Location: New Haven Ct
Oddometer: 63
Had the same problem for months, chased wires all over, front to back. Found out from another inmate the switch on the dash was out. $35 later and all problems where solved. Hope it helps.
coconuttele is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014