Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-18-2013, 07:26 AM   #1
dazler OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 147
Difference in 17-17 and 21-18 tire combo.

Hi im new to this so bear with me.
Im looking to buy a bike and it seem that most adventurers use the 21-18 knobbies.
why not use the 17-17 knobbies, more area equal better traction or im missing something.
I really dont know how much time I be spending off-road but I do have plenty of sand,dirt,rock - south texas desert here.

I might end up buying a set of warp 9 wheels but not completely sure if to get a bike with 17 or the 21/19 and then buy the other wheel set.
dazler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 07:40 AM   #2
kubiak
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 4,799
Quote:
Originally Posted by dazler View Post
Im looking to buy a bike and it seem that most adventurers use the 21-18 knobbies.
why not use the 17-17 knobbies, more area equal better traction or im missing something.
I really dont know how much time I be spending off-road but I do have plenty of sand,dirt,rock - south texas desert here.

I might end up buying a set of warp 9 wheels but not completely sure if to get a bike with 17 or the 21/19 and then buy the other wheel set.
the bigger diameter wheels go over rocks and holes better than smaller ones that may drop into instead of going over them. if you are doing easy trail riding the 17s are ok for that. the 17s are better for fast road use since they turn in easier and quicker than bigger wheels. tire selection is easier for bigger wheels if you are looking for offroad type and for smaller 17 inch wheels, street tires selection is better.
kubiak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 07:58 AM   #3
OKlr
Youtube whore

Oddometer: 730
a good compramise is the 19/17 combo. although you will be more limited on tire choises. I like my 21/17 but wish i had tubeless rims.