ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Regional forums > The Rockies It's all downhill from here...
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-19-2013, 08:41 AM   #1
ilyaon OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 92
Rampart Range Road for dirt biking.

Hi,

I'm new to the area. I've heard that there is Rampart Range Road riding place for Dirt bike riding.

Had anyone ride there?
Can you offer any information (difficulty level (I'm a beginner), how crowded is it, parking ...)

Thank you.
ilyaon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 09:40 AM   #2
Rodzilla
Horny as Hell

Oddometer: 1,474
Ilyaon,

My name is Rod and I am a member of the Rampart Range Motorized Management Committee (former President and former VP of the club)

Rampart Range or "Rampart" is probably the most used (if not overused) OHV area in the state. It's an easy 40 minute drive from Denver and less from Castle Rock so it sees a lot of traffic. Lots of camping (not remote) and you'll see a lot of traffic of all types and all abilities. Lots of people on weekends (often several hundred at peak times), sometimes you have the place to yourself on weekdays.

Most of the system (over 120 miles of trails) is "multiple use" meaning it's ATV wide. ALL of the trails are 2 way. This is important to remember as you do need to be watchful and careful as there is likely traffic coming the other way.

Trail difficultiy is mostly easy to moderate, but since the trails are mostly decomposed granite (pea gravel) even the easy trails can have some challenge to newer riders. Because it is so heavily used, the trails have a lot of "whoops". Even though we run a SWECO trail dozer 9 months of the year out there, you can only groom the trails so much.