ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > Parallel Universe
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-13-2010, 12:22 AM   #1
hrach1 OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
hrach1's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Redwood City, CA USA
Oddometer: 192
Does anybody know where the F800GS fuse box is located?

Does anybody know where the F800GS fuse box is located? I can't find it.
Any help would be appreciated?

Thanks
hrach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 01:06 AM   #2
itsatdm
Beastly Adventurer
 
itsatdm's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Nor Ca.
Oddometer: 4,557
Doesn't have one.
itsatdm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 07:24 AM   #3
hrach1 OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
hrach1's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Redwood City, CA USA
Oddometer: 192
I see. I have heard newer bikes are using CanBUs but I didn't know what that is!

Anyway, the reason I was looking for the fuse box was that my iPhone charger is not working anymore. I am using the power outlet next to the ignition switch and it stopped working after the rain so I though I may have burned a fuse or something.
Thats all!

Thanks for your help
hrach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 11:27 AM   #4
itsatdm
Beastly Adventurer
 
itsatdm's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Location: Nor Ca.
Oddometer: 4,557
That switch has an amp limit. I think it is 5 amps, then is quits. Should reset though.
itsatdm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 01:15 PM   #5
Tor
Native Viking
 
Tor's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: PD of SC
Oddometer: 801
Not 100% sure, but I think you have to cycle the ignition to reset.
__________________
"Be Always Sure You Are Right - Then Go Ahead"

2005 Honda ST1300 / 2010 BMW F800 Gelände-Straße
Tor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 05:40 PM   #6
Pete O Static
Adventure Seeker
 
Pete O Static's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Location: The Great White North
Oddometer: 586
Yup.....cycling the ignition to off then on will reset the Canbus.
__________________
"The trouble with quotes on the Internet is that you don't really know if they are accurate" - Thomas Edison-
Pete O Static is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2010, 09:38 AM   #7
frtzl
Mors longa, vita brevis
 
frtzl's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Wilmington, DE
Oddometer: 231
If your power outlet was replaced at the shop with a PowerLet, which is a very common thing, there is a fuse located in-line between the jack and the battery. Easy to find once you take the center section of the faux tank off (6 torx screws).

If the outlet is the OEM CANBUS unit, then it may be that a wire has shorted or come disconnected or the interior of the socket has corroded (which is unlikely) or become grungy enough to prevent a connection.

Good luck,
Fritz
__________________
"A word of advice; if anyone uses the phrase 'as the crow flies' in your presence, slap him immediately. You are bound to want to slap him some time later." Metaljockey

My rides:
2009 BMW F650GS (The Cruise Basselope)
2009 Yamaha Zuma 125 (Sold due to new commute)
2000 BMW R1100R (Blaue Engel) (Traded)
2006 DL650 Euro Black, lightly customized (Godzuki) (Sold)
frtzl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2010, 01:39 PM   #8
hrach1 OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
hrach1's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2009
Location: Redwood City, CA USA
Oddometer: 192
Thanks guys. The culprit was my iphone Powelet cable. Thanks again
hrach1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 10:32 AM   #9
rideiteverywhere
n00b
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Location: The West
Oddometer: 4
F800GS headlight help

Saw threads. Yesterday, low beam out & warning light on. Today, removed headlight, looks fine. No 12v at the connector with ignition on. If CanBus is supposed to reset, any ideas how to track down the voltage short, loss, etc?
Many thanks.
rideiteverywhere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 10:53 AM   #10
bmwroadsterca
RadioFlyer
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Lanark County near Ottawa ON
Oddometer: 113
Have to start it

Just turning the ignition to ON only lights the small parking bulb. You have to start the engine before the headlight comes on. As such I would not expect to see 12V at the connector if all you did was turn the ignition on.
bmwroadsterca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 11:03 AM   #11
Foot dragger
singletracker
 
Foot dragger's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: chico,just below rag dump(nor-cal)
Oddometer: 12,775
Expensive bike and no manual?

Seems common.
__________________
Some bikes around at times
Foot dragger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 12:13 PM   #12
rideiteverywhere
n00b
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Location: The West
Oddometer: 4
Headlight

Thanks bmwroadsterca. I figured that out right after I posted the thing. No problem w/ 12v at plug, so although the bulb and filament look good under 10x magnification, must be the bulb, eh? So another question might be, not having shopped for the bulb, yet, and light-on being required in California, do you carry an extra?
rideiteverywhere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 04:49 PM   #13
Reaver
Outta Here
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Oddometer: 2,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by rideiteverywhere View Post
So another question might be, not having shopped for the bulb, yet, and light-on being required in California, do you carry an extra?
Bulbs go out often on these bikes for some reason. Take your high beam bulb out and put it in the low so you can go shopping legally. Same bulb, no problem.

A couple of basic questions here and nobody toyed with your heads? Opportunity lost. Canbus fuses are invisible, you need the Dealer's special flashlight.
__________________
n00babies should be
Reaver is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 07:15 PM   #14
Hamish71
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Hamish71's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Australia
Oddometer: 390
Its under the seat, next to the left handed screw driver....
__________________
Now: 13 F800GS, Kalamata Olive, with all the fruit!
Previous: 08 F800GS, 09 KTM 300EXC, 05 KTM 450EXC
Hamish71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014