User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-22-2013, 10:29 AM   #1
7164 OP
1 above potato patch

Oddometer: 48
nOOb with benefits...first REAL ride...first Ride Report

Like the title says, I'm basically a nOOb "with benefits". What does THAT mean? Well, It means I fully admit that I'm really new to the dirt bike riding scene, but I rode sport bikes and cruisers for the last 15 years and have done a bit of off road Quad riding and some extreme (to some) mountain biking. I don't think those things make me any less of a nOOb, but they might, maybe, sort of, kind of help accelerate my learning curve....maybe......or my untimely death, I'm not sure which yet.

That covers the "benefits" part, but what about the nOOb part? Well, I'm the proud owner of a "new to me" used 2011 WR250R, a freshly set up ADVrider and Smugmug account and a bunch of new and used (thanks to Craigslist) riding and wrenching gear. It also means I've never done a ride report before

My last bike was a large cruiser and the only reason I sold it was to help purchase a cabin in the mountains AND I couldn't ride the cruiser to said cabin so it was time for it to go. I found a great deal on this bike with it only having 292 miles on the odo, extended warranty, Devol lowering link, Yamaha tail pack/rack and single side saddle bag, acerbis hand guard / bark busters for only $4,800. So, I bought the bike, updated some of my gear to make me more dirt appropriate and got set to finishing the bikes break in.

Most of the break in was on the street commuting to work or to the cabin on the super slab, but I got to throw a few dirt miles into the mix and discovered what a ton of fun this stuff is.

Enough about me, get to the good stuff!