User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-23-2013, 10:03 AM   #1
Metalsapo OP
R.E. Ordoņez

Oddometer: 41
SPROCKET change?

I will make a story to explain myself, i dont speak perfect english so i must ask a little patience and basic english words please, the technical stuff is something im still learning.
Hi for a F650GS twin i am thinking the following...

The problem is that i am not an expert in off road and still practicing allot of it, im starting to feel really confortable with it and always careful in strange paths, specially in downhills, and here comes the story.

When first gear is selected, the terrain is off road downhills with some curves.
I let go the front brake because of the curve, and suddenly infront of me appears a pickup going in my same direction full of people trying to get somewhere (In Guatemala public transportation is limited and pickups do the job in off road terrain in far away small villages) and in the opposite lane another car appears so i must reduce the velocity very fast, without skidding the back wheel so the bike does not turn with the wheel blocked and the engine brake is to loose to make me brake, so this complication could make me react with my Survival Reactions with fear and could make me brake harder and loose control, fall off the cliff,
crash with the back of the pickup or killed by the oposite lane transport, so, the sprocket configuration will help me with this?

This is one of my three crashes off road, learned allot this time.

So, been there and done that, jajajja, to the left side the nice guy who helped me a little later to put the bike up.
So what will the sprockets do in the motorcycle?
It will make it less efficient with gas?
Torque?
What can i do to have a little more of engine brake to make me go downhill a little slower and in control.