ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-04-2013, 03:09 PM   #1
Brahma OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Oddometer: 294
Amateur Radio on 2011 R1200GS?

Has anyone used a fixed setup on a 2011 era GS? I ask specifically because I'm interested in what power you used, and if you experienced any issues with transmitting and all the computers, CANBUS etc,.

http://www.yaesu.com/indexVS.cfm?cmd...5&isArchived=0

I'm thinking of mounting a Yaesu FTM-10R with a 1/4 to 1/2 wave antenna.

Practical experience is appreciated...

Thanks-

B.
Brahma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 03:29 PM   #2
Brahma OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Oddometer: 294
I just read the FTM-10R is discontinued.... But replies still would be of interest..
Brahma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 05:02 PM   #3
mefly2
Beastly Adventurer
 
mefly2's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Big Sky Country
Oddometer: 1,182
Eventually an Icom-7000 w/ aux battery pack ... no experience yet; I ve the bike and the radio but need license... just no time right now - rather ride.
__________________
----------------> jer-
30+ years with RTs...then to F/GS; now *Finally*
the BMW: R1200GSW, factory low seat & lower crash bars;
Touratech: Upper Crash Bars, big foot, pannier rack, ZegaPro panniers;
Fuzeblock, Rigid Dually D2 + yellow covers; Wunderlich bar risers w/ Q-adjust
mefly2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 07:03 PM   #4
def
I've little to say
 
def's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: The woods and mountains of Alabama
Oddometer: 8,882
I operate a FT101 from my GS with no problem.

KJX4998

73
def is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 09:06 PM   #5
oz97tj
Studly Adventurer
 
oz97tj's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Fenton, MI
Oddometer: 814
I don't get why you'd want to mount a radio personally. I do carry a handheld during trips, but its mostly just in case of emergency and I'm out of cell range. I sometimes scan when at camp for the night as well but otherwise its off and I wouldn't want to mess with it while riding.

Then again, even my mobile unit mounted in my Jeep stays off most of the time too unless I'm with others in a group that have them as well.
__________________
'13 BMW 1200 GSW
'05 Honda ST1300
oz97tj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 11:06 PM   #6
FlyingFinn
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Oddometer: 1,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by def View Post
I operate a FT101 from my GS with no problem.
You have a Yaesu FT-101 mounted on your GS! Including an AC power supply.
You're the man!

__________________
"It is not when or how you die but how and if you truly were ever alive!" Dr. Jerri Nielsen FitzGerald
FlyingFinn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 08:53 AM   #7
UAS
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Northern Utah, USA
Oddometer: 106
With the GPS now built in to the handheld I've toyed with the idea of mounting a Kentwood TH-D72 and playing with APRS. I had earlier generations of Kenwood, both an HT and a mobile. I never mounted either one to my bike, just kept the handheld in the tank bag as an emergency backup.

No proof but I don't think a 50 watt mobile would cause problems with the bike's electrical systems. Maybe the dealer has some info especially if they service a fleet of Police bikes and all the stuff they might connect.

I've had Yaesu and Kenwod mobile and HTs. For me the Kenwood radios seemed a lot more intuitive in their menu system than Yaesu.

73
__________________
2012 GSA Triple Black

UAS screwed with this post 09-05-2013 at 09:07 AM
UAS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 07:10 PM   #8
Brahma OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Oddometer: 294
I have a D72 but the FTM-10R intrigued me with its "motorsport", waterpoof and remote mount faceplate marketing. It also had bluetooth capability which would fit with my helmet headset. Ham radio is great for solo trips- its nice to talk with people with local knowledge.
Brahma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 07:41 PM   #9
def
I've little to say
 
def's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: The woods and mountains of Alabama
Oddometer: 8,882
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyingFinn View Post
You have a Yaesu FT-101 mounted on your GS! Including an AC power supply.
You're the man!

CW is s little tough when riding off road...
def is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 09:04 PM   #10
TomLewis4412
Adventurer
 
TomLewis4412's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Northern Cal
Oddometer: 35
I run APRS, 2m and 70cm on my 1150GS (would also run HF if I could find a semi efficient antenna for such a poor ground plane)... I use the Sena unit for bluetooth operation and an FT-857 with the head in the tank bag...only run about 25 watts though...could run more but not overly needed...only negative on-air comments have been some alternator wine....cant help with canbus issues..sorry
73
K6IUZ
TomLewis4412 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 11:22 PM   #11
marchyman
Cam Killer
 
marchyman's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Oddometer: 6,906
Quote:
Originally Posted by def View Post
CW is s little tough when riding off road...
I'm sure you do lots of CW with that CB call sign.

The ham radio thread in Jo Mamma has me looking at the ft-817. Hmmmmmm.
marchyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 06:02 AM   #12
def
I've little to say
 
def's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: The woods and mountains of Alabama
Oddometer: 8,882
Quote:
Originally Posted by marchyman View Post
I'm sure you do lots of CW with that CB call sign.

The ham radio thread in Jo Mamma has me looking at the ft-817. Hmmmmmm.
Aw...ya got me good buddy....10-4...that's my old CB call...

My first CB radios were equipped with vacuum tubes.

73
def is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 06:18 AM   #13
genka
SUV hater
 
genka's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Baltimore, MD
Oddometer: 1,502
I would think twice about having a 50W transmitting antenna so close to my body. If you think it is acceptable, you need to wire the radio to the battery directly. 8.5A transmit power consumption can't be handled by the underseat socket. I also recommend installing a voltmeter, because transmitting will drain the battery fast.
__________________
.

Форум мотоциклистов в США http://www.xytopok.net/mvnforum/listthreads?forum=31
genka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 10:09 PM   #14
marchyman
Cam Killer
 
marchyman's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Oddometer: 6,906
Quote:
Originally Posted by def View Post
Aw...ya got me good buddy....10-4...that's my old CB call...

My first CB radios were equipped with vacuum tubes.

73
My first rig



Utica Town and Country. 6 rockbound channels.
marchyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 02:33 AM   #15
catch
Deutscher
 
Joined: May 2013
Location: Germany, Dortmund
Oddometer: 21
I would recommend a Motorola or Hytera DMR handheld radio. Five watts output should be ok to reach the next repeater. A mobile radio on a motorcycle definitely needs some more preparations. In my opinion it's not worth it. Recently I bought a Hytera X1p with this bluetooth finger PTT to pair with my Scala Rider Q3. My intention was to use the handheld on my GS easily via bluetooth connection. Unfortunately the Scala Q3 doesn't work properly, it's bullshit, not even working properly with Navigator 4 or phones!
Anyway, after I've crashed 190 with the Scala Rider I bought a Jabra Wave which is working great with the Hytera combined with the "finger PTT". So I found out, that Jabra BT devices seem to be good with the Hytera. For motorcycle use I additionally purchased a Jabra Clipper and mounted it to my helmet strap. The modulation is not "stereo quality" but for sure usable.
So now I just activate bluetooth on my X1p, Jabra and PTT and can conveniently use ham radio on my bike. By the way, the finger PTT is attached to the left side of the handle bar via velcro. Easy and fast setup!
catch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014