ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-27-2013, 07:22 AM   #1
rattis OP
Studly Adventurer
 
rattis's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2010
Location: East of the seas of Kattegat
Oddometer: 860
Thumb Help[

I NEED to know how to change my chain and sprockets, urgently that is.
On my way from Grand canyon to wards Vegas on the north side.
Is there any body out there who can help or are there any good shops around.
I have a new chain and sprockets and a DID tool but I have not changed a chain where you have to rivet it. How hard do you press the rivet?
Will the KTM tool kit do the job?
One nervous
rattis
PS How is the KTM place in Vegas?
__________________
I wish I had bought a GSA a long time ago
and now I drink Orange Crush as well, double up now, a 990Adv and a 950 SER
rattis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 07:40 AM   #2
Katoom119
Mmmm....Orange Kool-aid
 
Katoom119's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Knoxville, TN
Oddometer: 1,751
It's not hard if you've got the proper tools. I had to get a beefy MotionPro riveting tool to get it done but a person who knows what they're doing could probably get by with less.

Chain and Sprocket Index

Chain and Sprocket Replacement
__________________
Those who dance are considered crazy by those who do not hear the music.
I am not the same having seen the moon shine on the other side of the world. - Radmacher

5 Cylinders vs. Moab..........My East Tennessee.........Internships may go to Hell and I will go to Alaska
Katoom119 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 08:32 AM   #3
Orangecicle
Beastly Adventurer
 
Orangecicle's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: West Des Moines, IA
Oddometer: 2,046
With the sealed chain, it's important to get the spacing right on the link that you rivet in place. You want the width of the finished riveted part to match the width of comparable chain parts. That assures that you have the right amount of compression on the O-rings that go over the posts on the riveted link. Too tight and you can damage the O-rings. Too loose and you don't get a seal on the O-rings. Best done in a decent bike shop, and they should use a caliper to check the width.

Changing out the rear sprocket and getting good torque back on the nuts is hard to do without a vise (50Nm). Again, you find that in a proper shop. Torque on the engine sprocket is 100Nm, which means you need a proper torque wrench. Again, found in a proper shop.

There are different ways of getting the sprockets lined up properly. The guy that works on my bike uses a caliper on each side of the swingarm to make sure that the adjuster screws are the same distance. Another way is to use a chain laser (available on eBay). The other way is to eyeball it. But, sprocket alignment is important for proper wear.
__________________
"I'd like to meet the joker who had the nerve to call this a road!" -- Walter Sigmann
"Loud tires save lives." -- Unknown
Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/brad.horn.9
Orangecicle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 08:41 AM   #4
Hootowl
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2002
Location: Bend Oregon
Oddometer: 1,212
A clip type master link will work
__________________
Keep it Wild, Keep it Free

'07 990A
Parting '98 1100GS. Need Anything?
Hootowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 10:38 PM   #5
gefr
Life is a trip
 
gefr's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: East Med, Greece
Oddometer: 3,699
I would strongly reccomend against this master link.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hootowl View Post
A clip type master link will work
I had one installed on my bike and a couple of days later it was gone. There is too much force in this chain to have it brake.
Cheers.
gefr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 05:40 AM   #6
Orangecicle
Beastly Adventurer
 
Orangecicle's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: West Des Moines, IA
Oddometer: 2,046
Quote:
Originally Posted by gefr View Post
I had one installed on my bike and a couple of days later it was gone. There is too much force in this chain to have it brake.
Cheers.
The techs I go to refused to order clip-style masters for this bike for that reason. I'm sure some use them effectively, but the clear advice give to me was to just get the mushroom type and carry the tools on the trail.
__________________
"I'd like to meet the joker who had the nerve to call this a road!" -- Walter Sigmann
"Loud tires save lives." -- Unknown
Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/brad.horn.9
Orangecicle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 08:47 AM   #7
Hootowl
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2002
Location: Bend Oregon
Oddometer: 1,212
I understand the preference for a rivet master link but I've been using a clip type with the addition of safety wire & RTV silicone for thousands of miles. I check it every day.
I made the suggestion thinking the OP might find it easier to install a new chain with a clip and change it later if need be when he had access to the proper tool.

Richard
__________________
Keep it Wild, Keep it Free

'07 990A
Parting '98 1100GS. Need Anything?
Hootowl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 08:57 AM   #8
Head2Wind
MotorcycleMayhem
 
Head2Wind's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: NorthWet Washington
Oddometer: 2,458
don't forget to bust the counter shaft sprocket nut loose PRIOR to removing the chain..... You might need the rear brake to help hold things still to get the nut off, 31 or 32mm socket (??) , same size as the rear axle nut (?? again) can't remember off hand

If you don't have a chain peening tool, you can use the old school (crude but effective), two hammer method to peen the pins.
__________________
“The mind is sharper and keener in seclusion and uninterrupted solitude. --- Be alone, that is the secret of invention; be alone, that is when ideas are born.” - Nikola Tesla
2006 KTM 970 frankinADVsmSD
ADVmachines™ Proven Solutions for your Worldwide Adventures...www.ADVmachines.com
Head2Wind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 10:33 AM   #9
charlie264
Beastly Adventurer
 
charlie264's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Blighty
Oddometer: 6,959
Quote:
Originally Posted by Head2Wind View Post
don't forget to bust the counter shaft sprocket nut loose PRIOR to removing the chain..... You might need the rear brake to help hold things still to get the nut off, 31 or 32mm socket (??) , same size as the rear axle nut (?? again) can't remember off hand

If you don't have a chain peening tool, you can use the old school (crude but effective), two hammer method to peen the pins.
32mm dood.
__________________
Beauty is truth and truth is beauty.
Charlie's Side Stand Relocator.
charlie264 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 07:03 PM   #10
norschweger
Gnarly Adventurer
 
norschweger's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Location: Ushuaia
Oddometer: 242
I was NOT impressed by the shop in Vegas.
I am not impressed by the masterlink, which made me lose my chain while riding it. Obviously the pre-owner had put it on the wrong way.
On the other hand, the rivet link, I think, has been put on too tight. There is no o-ring on the one side and i think it is stiffer.
Safety-wire sounds interesting...
norschweger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 04:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014