ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 5 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 04-27-2013, 09:49 PM   #1
Travex OP
Lost is found
 
Travex's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Western NY State
Oddometer: 135
ZUMO 350 Freezing

Having owned many Garmin products over the years for everything from boating to flying I have to say that the ZUMO 350LM is the biggest piece of excessively overpriced junk in their stable.

In addition to useless "apps" and a memory wasting, unintuitive interface... It now freezes every few miles necessitating pulling over to do a reset just to gain a few more miles of insight. Use of this unit never quite felt right or as fluid as every other model I've used. Navigation of it's interface is counter intuitive, clumsy, and aggravating.

Garmin received an email service request from me earlier so we'll have to see how they handle it. In the past any service I've required has been handled properly, but conspicuously missing was any mention of error or fault on the mfg/design side. This is also reflected in their FAQ's as a cross word cannot be found on their site. Positives only. Thus no help whatsoever.

Updates to follow.

How I wish I never sold my 450.
__________________
"Rider assumes full responsibility"

2012 Super Tenere For Sale in "The Flea Market"

Travex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 05:03 AM   #2
aussie_king_mick
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Sydney, Australia
Oddometer: 166
Thumb Garmin Express

I don’t know whether you have the Garmin Express program already, if not, I recommend that you download it and use it to update your Zumo (ie with both the latest firmware & software)…please let us know how you get on?
Please refer Garmin Express website link below:
http://software.garmin.com/en-US/express.html
aussie_king_mick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 05:15 AM   #3
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,884
This is the first time I have heard of a 350 freezing. What does it look like when it happens? As a fellow 350 owner, I am curious. I have not experienced this problem yet but have had only a couple thousand miles on the unit.

Have you already run the updates from the MyDashboard page at Garmin? There could be both map and GPS unit software updates. Here: https://my.garmin.com/mygarmin/dashb...?in=true&ni=ff

ETA: There is at least one thread here of people complaining about Garmin Express. I would use mapupdater instead.
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 11:11 AM   #4
Travex OP
Lost is found
 
Travex's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Western NY State
Oddometer: 135
Thanks Mick & Emoto-- Yes, the unit's firmware and maps are kept up to date via Garmin web updater and map update. I have about 12k on mine and other than the clumsy interface I've not had any issues until lately with the freezing.

I was unaware of Garmin Express so tried that and it showed everything is up to date. I will use this utility from now on as it does everything rather that using separate utils... Thanks again for that.
__________________
"Rider assumes full responsibility"

2012 Super Tenere For Sale in "The Flea Market"

Travex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 03:18 PM   #5
littlefield
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: SE Texas
Oddometer: 104
Garmin Express seems to work okay for me. The only thing it doesn't do is update the map set on the PC. Have to use the updater utility for that.
littlefield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 03:09 PM   #6
Travex OP
Lost is found
 
Travex's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Western NY State
Oddometer: 135
Still hadn't heard from Garmin so they received my call today. After an hour of trying diagnostics and suggestions they threw in the towel and are sending out a replacement. As usual, they were very courteous and thorough. I still don't care for this model, but I'll gladly take the replacement and get on with the season.

FYi, it froze twice in 250mi yesterday and 4 times today in 80mi. Go figure.
__________________
"Rider assumes full responsibility"

2012 Super Tenere For Sale in "The Flea Market"

Travex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 03:10 AM   #7
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,884
Quote:
Originally Posted by Travex View Post
Still hadn't heard from Garmin so they received my call today. After an hour of trying diagnostics and suggestions they threw in the towel and are sending out a replacement. As usual, they were very courteous and thorough. I still don't care for this model, but I'll gladly take the replacement and get on with the season.

FYi, it froze twice in 250mi yesterday and 4 times today in 80mi. Go figure.
Glad they're doing the right thing. I look forward to a follow-up post to see if the new unit does the same thing or not.
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 07:31 PM   #8
Travex OP
Lost is found
 
Travex's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Western NY State
Oddometer: 135
I'll be certain to update with any progress. 40mi into a 350mi ride today found the unit frozen again. Upon resetting, it then went into screen calibration mode which has occurred to many others. Now, I like a rousing game of dots with a 3 year old kid as much as the next guy... But this took calibration to a completely new level. Thankfully I was stopping for breakfast as I must have hit 50 positional dots (curiosity) before the unit returned to normal use. It then went the balance of the ride with no freezing.

How odd that I've never experienced an aviation or marine GPS failure, yet this highly over-priced terrestrial unit with no perceivable technological advancement can fail with such ease and frequency.

This thing sure cultivates relationships with maps, odometers, and speedometers.

>End rant.


*Addendum:
Just received notice from Garmin informing me that they've shipped a refurbished replacement unit. With good reason I expected a new one, as I was led to believe. $700.00 doesn't buy too much from these folks any more. If this unit should have similar failings I'll wash my hands of the matter and refer it to both consumer and governmental consumer bureaus for their review. I pay for solutions, not problems... And certainly not someone elses'

>End rant?
__________________
"Rider assumes full responsibility"

2012 Super Tenere For Sale in "The Flea Market"


Travex screwed with this post 05-02-2013 at 08:52 PM Reason: Addition
Travex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 09:37 PM   #9
VMSfan
n00b
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Location: Aururn, WA
Oddometer: 9
I too have experienced freezing issues with my 350 that I purchased new from Touratech-USA here in Seattle. I could not go more than 15 miles at best without it freezing.

Freezing being that the screen would look like a screen shot of a particular point that I was traveling, but would not change.

Did the soft reset by holding the power button for 10 seconds or so and lately, ended up with the calibration screen where I would endlessly play "connect the dots".

I would go through several soft reset cycles and "connect the dots" calibration until I got is going again.

Just did a hard reset tonight, set things up again and chose a different view to see if that improves things. I will let you all know how if this helps things out.

Also, I use both web updater and express and both show that I am current and up to date.
VMSfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 09:52 PM   #10
Travex OP
Lost is found
 
Travex's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Western NY State
Oddometer: 135
I also thought changing the graphics might help, but it didn't.

Good luck.
__________________
"Rider assumes full responsibility"

2012 Super Tenere For Sale in "The Flea Market"

Travex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 11:14 AM   #11
flabombarda
n00b
 
Joined: May 2013
Oddometer: 8
Bluhduh I'm having the same issue here ..

My Zumo 350lm was purchased brand new, and I'm only using the map that comes with the unit (no secondary maps added on it).
And sometimes I can ride 300Km without issues, but for example this weekend it froze 3, 4 times in less than 200Km.
That's really annoying, especially considering I spent 700 USD on this unit here in Brazil. where I had an old (but working perfectly) Nuvi 550.

I contacted Garmin today by email to see if there is any solution for this, but what were the suggestions you got from them ?

Do you have any custom voice installed ?
I'm removing all the custom voices to see if it helps, will test it again this weekend.

Thanks,

flabombarda screwed with this post 05-03-2013 at 11:15 AM Reason: requested reply notification
flabombarda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 01:56 PM   #12
Travex OP
Lost is found
 
Travex's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Western NY State
Oddometer: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by flabombarda View Post

I contacted Garmin today by email to see if there is any solution for this, but what were the suggestions you got from them ?

Do you have any custom voice installed ?
I'm removing all the custom voices to see if it helps, will test it again this weekend.

Thanks,
I believe the fact that Garmin can only recommend a hard reset is somewhat telling in that there really is nothing a user can do about the problem.

As for the voices, I tried that too. This thing had me second guessing any changes I made from factory settings. It may not be what you want hear, but I'd return it if it's not too late.

Good luck.
__________________
"Rider assumes full responsibility"

2012 Super Tenere For Sale in "The Flea Market"

Travex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 05:44 AM   #13
flabombarda
n00b
 
Joined: May 2013
Oddometer: 8
Thumbs down

I found the tutorial about this hard reset and did it. it seems to be resolved (for now).
But I have to agree that it seems to be temp solution, actually is not even a solution is just a workaround.

I have disable the tracklog to see if it helps.
I rode 400Km this weekend without issues, will see !

But I have to say I'm not comfortable with this...

Thanks,
flabombarda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 07:05 AM   #14
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,884
Am curious about what was happening when a freeze occurred. In other words, were people just riding along, or were they using the touch screen giving specific commands that make it freeze every time, or was a saved route being followed, etc.?

I also wonder if those who have had theirs freeze have some other thing in common. For example, were maps uploaded a certain way? Was an upload interrupted due to failure, etc.?

If something can be identified and associated with the freeze, that would probably point to where the problem is in the software. In other words, is there "something" repeatable that will cause a freeze every time?

IME, software typically stops functioning when some sort of exception that it has not been programmed to handle crops up. "Exception handling" is one key to good software, because you can never fully predict all conditions before your software goes out into the field.

ETA: I visited zumoforums.com and there are several other people reporting the freeze issue, although they don't all use the term "freeze".
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF

Emoto screwed with this post 05-06-2013 at 08:08 AM
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2013, 10:01 AM   #15
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,884
I called Garmin Support to ask if there was a way to delete routes from the GPS via BaseCamp. There isn't, but I asked about freezing and she thought that if that is happening there is a good chance that some file or files became corrupted and that one should re-install the GPS software on the unit. She was nice enough to email me the instructions for doing this:

Please allow your device to charge for 7-8 hours and then update the unit's software:
Starting at the WebUpdater page: (http://www.garmin.com/products/webupdater/howtoinstall.jsp)
  1. Plug your unit into the computer via the USB cable
  2. Click on Download under step 1
  3. Select the appropriate version of the WebUpdater based on your computer's operating system
  4. Click "I agree to the above terms and want to proceed to the download page"
  5. Click Download
  6. Select Run when the pop up box appears
  7. Select Run if a message appears asking "Do you want to run this software?"
  8. Click Next when the WebUpdater installation page appears
  9. Check the box to accept the licensing terms and select Next
  10. Select Done to complete the WebUpdater download
Once WebUpdater is installed on your computer, select the application, if it does not automatically open, to run the program and follow the prompts.
  1. Select Next on the WebUpdater Wizard
  2. Select Find Device and Next
  3. Select Next to update the unit software on your device and follow the prompts
Once you have run the software updates and updated your device, you will be prompted to search for additional updates. To load any additional updates, check the box next to the specific updates you wish to download. Select anything that relates to firmware, GPS software, traffic, Bluetooth, vehicles, or voice languages relating to the versions you use. Once selected, click Next and check the Agreement box. At this point the updates will run directly to your Garmin device. Once the update is complete you will see a box showing the downloads and if they were a success. Click Finish and unplug your Garmin from the computer to allow the updates to load. Once the update(s) are loaded, your device will return to the normal agreement screen and it will be ready to operate.
Notes:
  • Internet connection is required to communicate with the Garmin server and download applicable Software updates.
  • WebUpdater is not compatible with Palm and Pocket PC devices, fixed-mount marine units, aviation units, chartplotters, or fishfinders.
  • WebUpdater updates the applicable Garmin device with the most current software version available. Check back frequently for additional updates.
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014