ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 06-27-2013, 03:44 PM   #136
Travex OP
Lost is found
 
Travex's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Western NY State
Oddometer: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emoto View Post
Let's hope so!

I am just back from a 1746 mile backroads trip using the 350 as my primary nav and a Montana as a rolling topo map. I had 2 issues:

1. The 350 randomly powered completely off at least twice. Holding down the power button brought it back up and navigating my route like nothing happened.

2. One of the spring loaded pins on the power cord in the mount started randomly sticking in the down position, causing loss of power and consequent half brightness screen. If I removed the gps and poked the pin, it would pop back out and do its job. This meant stopping, so through trial and error I found that if I grasped the unit and wiggled it clockwise and counter clockwise that this would cause the spring pin to pop back out.

I spoke with Garmin support yesterday and they are sending me a replacement power cord. They don't know if the shut-downs that I experienced are related to the stuck spring pin or not, so want me to see how it goes. If it continues to randomly power down with the new cord, I am to call them back. I rode something like 8-10 hours each day except one, so two shut-downs were not a huge issue, but I do want to make sure it doesn't keep happening.
Interesting problem. I'd have thought that the unit would've exhibited it's default behavior of prompting you to cancel the power down (or not) at loss of power... Same as turning off the ignition if you're wired that way. Sounds like you're right and the cable is the culprit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by saito View Post
leaving saturday for a 2 week trip, first trip with my 350, lets hope it'll work as i hope it will :) I'll report my findings.
Seems to me that after the latest update you should be in great shape for your 1st 350 use. Bon voyage!
__________________
"Rider assumes full responsibility"

2012 Super Tenere For Sale in "The Flea Market"

Travex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 03:47 PM   #137
Travex OP
Lost is found
 
Travex's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Western NY State
Oddometer: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lion BR View Post
Considering the problem Travex stated is likely a software issue, the term "lemon" would apply to ALL Zumo 350's.
Meant to comment on your post earlier and forgot... Sorry. You're right I think.
__________________
"Rider assumes full responsibility"

2012 Super Tenere For Sale in "The Flea Market"

Travex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 04:37 PM   #138
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,912
Quote:
Originally Posted by Travex View Post
Interesting problem. I'd have thought that the unit would've exhibited it's default behavior of prompting you to cancel the power down (or not) at loss of power... Same as turning off the ignition if you're wired that way. Sounds like you're right and the cable is the culprit.
Well, I cannot swear on a stack of bibles that it did not display the prompt you mention, however, it seemed that whenever it lost external power, it gave me a little BEEP of audio (which I have wired into my helmet) that would cause me to look down at it, whereupon I would see that dialog and tell it to keep running. The times that I found it to be off, I do not recall getting a beep, so can't be sure what happened exactly. It will bear watching.
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug Discount: https://secure.smugmug.com/signup?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 04:56 PM   #139
Travex OP
Lost is found
 
Travex's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Western NY State
Oddometer: 145
To my thinking you're still going in the right direction as infrequent power downs have not been a regular problem to have crossed my path during considerable searching of things 350. Certain you know, but the contacts at the power-side are equally important.
__________________
"Rider assumes full responsibility"

2012 Super Tenere For Sale in "The Flea Market"

Travex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 11:47 PM   #140
hoadie72
Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: Sydney
Oddometer: 69
I haven't read much of this thread but thought I'd chime in.

I bought my first unit around August last year and it worked faultlessly until I did a software update just before Christmas. After that, it'd freeze just about every time I'd ride. So typically twice a day. I put up with it for a while, hoping it was a software issue, and after working with Garmin, ended up getting it replaced under warranty in March.

The replacement unit failed within 2 days and I put up with it for about two months, but with a bid trip coming, I decided to get it replaced, so late May I was given another replacement. This unit worked faultlessly for my 3 weeks away. The only thing different between this unit and the first two is that I've left it on the original software version - I'm not convinced the issue is hardware.
hoadie72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 06:05 AM   #141
littlefield
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2004
Location: SE Texas
Oddometer: 115
Just returned from a trip using my 350 for the first time. No problems with it really just getting use to how it works. I've used a 2610 for several years.
When I first opened a route in Trip Planner it gave me a list of locations along the route to pick from. If I picked the final destination it would calculate the route based on my preferences but not including the modifications made while planning like inserting points, etc. If I picked the location I would arrive at earlier it would calculate correctly. The route shown in the Map View was correct.
Still can't figure out how to drag the screen to different positions on the map and navigation pages. It seems slow to respond, wants to drop pins where I touch and change screens. I'm sure it's just that I don't know the right method but I can't find it documented anywhere.
littlefield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 12:22 PM   #142
Lion BR
I'd rather be riding
 
Lion BR's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Oregon
Oddometer: 3,436
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoadie72 View Post
I haven't read much of this thread but thought I'd chime in.

I bought my first unit around August last year and it worked faultlessly until I did a software update just before Christmas. After that, it'd freeze just about every time I'd ride. So typically twice a day. I put up with it for a while, hoping it was a software issue, and after working with Garmin, ended up getting it replaced under warranty in March.

The replacement unit failed within 2 days and I put up with it for about two months, but with a bid trip coming, I decided to get it replaced, so late May I was given another replacement. This unit worked faultlessly for my 3 weeks away. The only thing different between this unit and the first two is that I've left it on the original software version - I'm not convinced the issue is hardware.
Look a few pages back, the freezing issues here discussed were solved via two rounds of software upgrades (2.6 and 2.7, I believe). The reason your third unit did not freeze is that you did probably not use Motorcycle mode, and did not use the fuel gauge option on that unit, correct?

On this page and the previous page, the discussion is regarding power cut off from the base. Not about freezing.
__________________
Whenever we are riding, we are an ambassador to our sport

I'd rather be riding!


Lion BR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 02:31 PM   #143
hoadie72
Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2010
Location: Sydney
Oddometer: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lion BR View Post
Look a few pages back, the freezing issues here discussed were solved via two rounds of software upgrades (2.6 and 2.7, I believe). The reason your third unit did not freeze is that you did probably not use Motorcycle mode, and did not use the fuel gauge option on that unit, correct?

On this page and the previous page, the discussion is regarding power cut off from the base. Not about freezing.
I tried all software versions that were available at the time, none of them fixed my problem. That's right up until mid-May. Your assumption about not using motorcyle mode and the fuel guage is incorrect - the fuel guage is a must have option for me as my odometer doesn't work. My previous units would also freeze regardless of using the bike mount or running off internal battery.

When did version 2.6 get released? Do the fix notes specifically call out fixing freezing issues? What I read of 2.7 a few pages up only mentions:

Quote:
Ver. 2.70 - 06/13/2013

Fixed an issue with postal code searching.
Fixed an issue with fuel tracking
The posts I read about 2.6 indicate that most people also turned off fuel tracking, so that may have fixed their problems, not the 2.6 update.

Having read the entire thread now, I can't see a lot of comprehensive testing of 2.7, with fuel tracking enabled. Does it work or not? I'm reluctant to update a working unit.

hoadie72 screwed with this post 06-28-2013 at 02:45 PM
hoadie72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 05:39 PM   #144
Travex OP
Lost is found
 
Travex's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Western NY State
Oddometer: 145
See my earlier post. In my case the fuel tracking is functional based upon a single event-less ride. It also details a new animation banner. Updating to 2.7 would be a good move.
__________________
"Rider assumes full responsibility"

2012 Super Tenere For Sale in "The Flea Market"

Travex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 09:13 AM   #145
Meff
half way there...
 
Meff's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Location: Cascadia
Oddometer: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Travex View Post
Thanks for chiming in Meff.

"best of an otherwise bad batch of GPS choices" really does say it all.

In my case I bought it as it's been several years since my last (450) and you know how technology marches faster than time. On paper (and until I did my 1st update) this is/was a great GPS. I hope it continues to serve you perfectly on your ride and every one after.

What version are you running / are you using fuel tracking / is autozoom enabled / 3D view / etc?
Travex, sorry for the delayed reply as I just returned from my trip. 4500 miles / 7300 kms and no freezing issues. I updated to the 2.6 prior to my departure, fuel tracking has always been off since day one based on this thread and the fact that I don't need it, autozoom and 3D view on and both worked fine.

The only glitch I had mirrors Emoto's experience of having the unit indicate a direct power loss and initiating the shut down procedure with the option to cancel. When it occurred I would choose to cancel the shutdown and it would continue to work fine. Typically I would disengage it from the cradle and snap it back in to attempt to improve the connection if in fact it had been compromised. Not sure if it was reality or just a phantom issue.

Overall it worked well, although I find that it is not a very intuitive device in some of it's workflow and features. I'll need more time with it to learn more of it's idiosyncrasies and how to live with them in the absence of a better option.
Meff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 09:18 AM   #146
Meff
half way there...
 
Meff's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Location: Cascadia
Oddometer: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lion BR View Post
Considering the problem Travex stated is likely a software issue, the term "lemon" would apply to ALL Zumo 350's.
Fair point Lion. There does appear to be a software issue although there is not universal experience of the same failures on the same versions with the same features being activated, there are certainly enough similarities to assume a broad defect in the software.

We can agree at the very least that the 350 is far from being a "peach"
Meff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 09:41 AM   #147
Travex OP
Lost is found
 
Travex's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Western NY State
Oddometer: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meff View Post
Travex, sorry for the delayed reply as I just returned from my trip. 4500 miles / 7300 kms and no freezing issues. I updated to the 2.6 prior to my departure, fuel tracking has always been off since day one based on this thread and the fact that I don't need it, autozoom and 3D view on and both worked fine.

The only glitch I had mirrors Emoto's experience of having the unit indicate a direct power loss and initiating the shut down procedure with the option to cancel. When it occurred I would choose to cancel the shutdown and it would continue to work fine. Typically I would disengage it from the cradle and snap it back in to attempt to improve the connection if in fact it had been compromised. Not sure if it was reality or just a phantom issue.

Overall it worked well, although I find that it is not a very intuitive device in some of it's workflow and features. I'll need more time with it to learn more of it's idiosyncrasies and how to live with them in the absence of a better option.
Glad you had a good trip there Meff. Seeing you don't use fuel tracking it's good to know that 2.6 did well by you. That power-down thing on the other hand does have me a bit flummoxed. On my 450 there was a failure-free multi-pin connector and it seems to me that paring that down to a simple two for power-only on the 350 should be damn near bullet proof. But... As we all continue to learn here, the 350 is full of unwelcome surprises. Although least likely, an internal intermittent connection could also be the culprit. I mention this as one of the replacement units I received did have a loose part roaming free within it.

Two ?'s.

Had you contacted Garmin re: the power-downs and if so, what was their response?

How is your unit wired to your bike, and is that connection sound? (I'm sure you've checked that... Just voicing it for the thread).

In any event, I'm pleased your trip was largely unaffected by it.
__________________
"Rider assumes full responsibility"

2012 Super Tenere For Sale in "The Flea Market"


Travex screwed with this post 07-03-2013 at 10:04 PM
Travex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 04:52 PM   #148
Meff
half way there...
 
Meff's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Location: Cascadia
Oddometer: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Travex View Post
Glad you had a good trip there Meff. Seeing you don't use fuel tracking it's good to know that 2.6 did well by you. That power-down thing on the other hand does have me a bit flummoxed. On my 450 there was a failure-free multi-pin connector and it seems to me that paring that down to a simple two for power-only on the 350 should be damn near bullet proof. But... As we all continue to learn here, the 350 is full of unwelcome surprises. Although least likely, an internal intermittent connection could also be the culprit. I mention this as one of the replacement units I received did have a loose part rowming free within it.

Two ?'s.

Had you contacted Garmin re: the power-downs and if so, what was their response?

How is your unit wired to your bike, and is that connection sound? (I'm sure you've checked that... Just voicing it for the thread).

In any event, I'm pleased your trip was largely unaffected by it.
Hey Travex thx - I just returned from my trek last Friday and have been knee deep catching up on work so have not had a chance to inspect the connection. The unit is wired directly from the cradle in to a FuzeBlock set up. http://www.fuzeblocks.com/

I have not inspected it yet, but should and will.

I did not contact Garmin on the intermittent connection issue, it happened maybe 4-5 times over 2.5 weeks / 4500 miles so did not get too annoying. Until I get a chance to check things out I'll hold off until I can try to asses the cause, but adding my voice to the fight as you have showed can do nothing but help the community.

My trip was epic, and I could not be happier, other than the fact that the trip is over and I sit here with a mouse in my right hand, and not the throttle.
Meff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 10:24 PM   #149
Travex OP
Lost is found
 
Travex's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Western NY State
Oddometer: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meff View Post
My trip was epic, and I could not be happier, other than the fact that the trip is over and I sit here with a mouse in my right hand, and not the throttle.
If it's to be found I'm sure you'll ferret it out, or if you're really lucky you could just read about in the forum as someone else will ultimately run into similar circumstance.

I have to comment on your quote above. I've said those same words nearly verbatim also, and believe felt as you do tonight. It's good to hear when someone's just experienced that high and appreciates it so thoroughly. You're a fortunate man Meff.
__________________
"Rider assumes full responsibility"

2012 Super Tenere For Sale in "The Flea Market"

Travex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 05:47 PM   #150
Travex OP
Lost is found
 
Travex's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Western NY State
Oddometer: 145
Over 300mi today with multiple destinations set, fuel calc enabled, 3D, and auto-zoom. No problems encountered. Have an 8k+ ride coming up so that should be the truest test. Judging by the absence of posts it appears the major problems may have been addressed.
__________________
"Rider assumes full responsibility"

2012 Super Tenere For Sale in "The Flea Market"

Travex is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014