ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-28-2013, 11:53 AM   #1
fluff34567 OP
Studly Adventurer
 
fluff34567's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: choco land AKA switzerland
Oddometer: 928
690 enduro stalling promlem !

hi all,

i made a new thread so it doesnt get lost in the main 690 wunderfest

so when the bike is hot it just dies on idle, when moving/at speed i have no issue as the temp drops quickly.

it appears it is temperature related as first time happened in traffic:

I have the 2010 small display BTW.

temp guage was 2 bars from top, and when cooled down it started but idle was relly rough - nearly stalling and then as soon as i touched throttle it would die.

If i held throttle open quite a bit then it would run but roughly.

the dash display also flashed 2 or 3 times and then it would idle but i needed to keep revs up as it eventually stalls.

2nd time.

i installed a LV slip on can and loaded the SMC all years akra can maps FI and EP maps SAI and O2 checked .

did the throttle movement firsts, switched bike off with key, waited few seconds then started - display also flashed 2 or 3 times, idle rate changed to a bit higher after a few seconds, and engine remained stable.

engine stalled at 14 minutes - temp was 2 bars below top, as before would not idle, started then stopped straight away. if i left it for few mins then it would start, then idle roughly then stall.

after 15 mins the bike started and ran fine as the temp had gone down.

NO error logs are recorded.

Bike runs fine and pulls strongly.

3rd time: same afternoon as fitting can etc. I stopped and waited for temp to rise and fan cuts in and out then after about 6 mins bike sounds rough and stalls. Could restart again, then stalls and not possible to restart unless it cools down a bit. Display flashed again also .




IDEAS PLEASE! I am meant to be leaving for a big trip on the 3rd but if bike is not relaible ill have to cancel !

ill upload a video later.

fluff34567 screwed with this post 04-28-2013 at 12:51 PM
fluff34567 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 12:07 PM   #2
Yellow Pig
Allergic to Asphalt!
 
Yellow Pig's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Location: Colorado
Oddometer: 6,823
Bad fuel pump or clogged filter
__________________
So Many Idiots, So Few Comets!!!!!!!!!
Yellow Pig is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 12:47 PM   #3
fluff34567 OP
Studly Adventurer
 
fluff34567's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: choco land AKA switzerland
Oddometer: 928
I thought I had the display flashing on video but didnt catch it for some reason.

Bike has done 3000kms so doubt filter and bad pump wouldnt explain why only stalls when engine is hot, should do it all the time. I can go for an hour on highway withiut any problems.

sent using my fingers and voodoo magic.
fluff34567 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 12:52 PM   #4
fluff34567 OP
Studly Adventurer
 
fluff34567's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: choco land AKA switzerland
Oddometer: 928
Anyone got a wuring diagram? Want to see which cable is the main power supply for the display and earth points.

sent using my fingers and voodoo magic.
fluff34567 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 01:06 PM   #5
Roland44
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2013
Location: Alaska
Oddometer: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yellow Pig View Post
Bad fuel pump or clogged filter
It's always a clogged filter...
Roland44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 01:11 PM   #6
fluff34567 OP
Studly Adventurer
 
fluff34567's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: choco land AKA switzerland
Oddometer: 928
How would a clogged filter explain the display flashing and hot stalling?

Is there anything directly in the srea of the rear brake reservoir I should check ? Bike has had a chain through the frame at this point so might have knocked something. ???

sent using my fingers and voodoo magic.

fluff34567 screwed with this post 04-28-2013 at 01:49 PM
fluff34567 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 02:58 PM   #7
palmstatecrawler
Gnarly Adventurer
 
palmstatecrawler's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2013
Location: Columbia, SC
Oddometer: 460
When mine did it it was the coil wire slightly loose. Didnt make any sense but I crimped it tighter and all has been fine since. Believe it was fi code 37? Worth a shot.
__________________
'13 KTM 690 Enduro R w/ full akrapovic exhaust, Evo1 lid, uni filter, Renazco seat, hard parts windshield and footpad, scotts damper with BRP submount, hammerhead shifter, flatlands skidplate, lost dog centerstand, Touratech engine guards, r&g front and rear axle and exhaust sliders, piaa 1100's, Doubletake mirrors, G2cam system,
'10 Yamaha TW200 '07 Kawasaki KLX250, '86 Yamaha BW80
palmstatecrawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 03:01 PM   #8
fluff34567 OP
Studly Adventurer
 
fluff34567's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: choco land AKA switzerland
Oddometer: 928
screen shot from tuneecu for the TPS

it was 1% - 98 % but is now 2% - 97%





at wide open

fluff34567 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 07:07 PM   #9
milzispete
Conquistador
 
milzispete's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Muscat, Oman
Oddometer: 223
have you made any mods to your air filter or air box? if so you should consider using the evo 1 map. You also mentioned you have selected o2 and SAI. the pics you have attached show SAI as on. these both need to be switched off
__________________
i contacted the spirit world but they don't know what's wrong with my 690 either
milzispete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 11:32 PM   #10
fluff34567 OP
Studly Adventurer
 
fluff34567's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: choco land AKA switzerland
Oddometer: 928
Bike is 100% standard except for slip on exhaust. Filter and airbox also standard.

SAI and O2 is all installed so the boxes should be ticked ..... correct?

sent using my fingers and voodoo magic.
fluff34567 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 01:22 AM   #11
milzispete
Conquistador
 
milzispete's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Muscat, Oman
Oddometer: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by fluff34567 View Post
Bike is 100% standard except for slip on exhaust. Filter and airbox also standard.

SAI and O2 is all installed so the boxes should be ticked ..... correct?

sent using my fingers and voodoo magic.
You no longer have a catalytic converter so no need for SAI. Your O2 looks like it is already off. Also don't forget to reset the adaptation
__________________
i contacted the spirit world but they don't know what's wrong with my 690 either
milzispete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 09:13 AM   #12
DYNOBOB
lucky dog
 
DYNOBOB's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Oddometer: 810
My guess is your fuel pump is sticking/weak when the bike/tank gets hot at slow speeds. At speed w/ sufficient airflow it's ok.

I also think of all the guys on the 500exc/FE570 threads that add a Golan/CanAm fuel filter to stop injectors from getting fouled...

You might also hook up a voltmeter when it's acting funny. I remember one of the guys on a RTW trip had his 690 die randomly and it ended up being intermittent overvoltage from the charging system.


It's a little bit of work, but I did two things to my Husky to help me watch the health of my fuel system (paranoid about these fuel injected euro bikes..).
1. I T'd into the fuel line and added a fuel pressure gauge by the speedo. If it begins to deviate from 45psi I'm going to investigate.
2. I mounted a small led above the speedo that is hooked to the fuel pump power and ground. I can tell if lack of fuel pressure is loss of power to pump.





.
__________________
TE630.KLX250S.GL1800.CBR900RRturbo.919
CO/UT 2013
Northern Rockies 2013 IBA Key West 2014 Tentspace

DYNOBOB screwed with this post 04-29-2013 at 10:45 AM
DYNOBOB is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 10:41 AM   #13
fluff34567 OP
Studly Adventurer
 
fluff34567's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2010
Location: choco land AKA switzerland
Oddometer: 928
Think found the problem. .. spark plug cap! Bike stalled after 13-14 minutes. I changed the cap as a stab in the dark and it instantly sounded better. Bike idled for close to 40 mins before I switched it off.

sent using my fingers and voodoo magic.
fluff34567 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014