User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 04-30-2013, 07:56 PM   #1
mill OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 45
Fuego Dinero: Solo Gringo from Los Angeles to Puebla, MX

So I'm a newb around here, semi newb to the international adventure thing, and kind of a newb to the whole ride reports in general. I am not a newb however to motorcycles or long distance travel. Here's my first attempt at an ADV RR...bear with me.

My brother lives in LA, and last year I had him pick up a 1997 Suzuki DR650 to keep there for me to ride when I come to visit. I live in Alabama, and try my best to visit once or twice a year. Needless to say, the bike didn't manage to stay in LA very long. Talking with a friend of mine, I decided I would ride the bike south, down the Baja, hop the ferry to Mazatlan and continue forward to Panama where I would meet him the following year to continue forward.

The route planning began

I gathered tools and and double checked my list

Due to the fact that I work a normal 9-5 job, and my vacation is broken up throughout the year, I was going to have to split the trip to Panama into 2 legs. This would be my first leg of the journey, and I hoped to end in Puebla, MX where I would leave the bike. My intentions are to return in July to complete the second leg to Panama According to what I had calculated, I was going to complete a total of around 2,200 miles over the course of 7 days for the first leg of the trip. This was going to be a challenge. I would leave Saturday morning from Los Angeles and "hope" to arrive the following Saturday in Puebla, MX......."hope" being the key word here!

Things started going screwy for me on the very first day. Often times I find that people are not very well adapt to things going wrong. For some reason I have a totally different approach when shit turns south. For the most part, I've just learned to laugh them off.