ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Regional forums > Southeast, The Lair of the Dragon - The Blue Ridge and Smoky Mountains
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-02-2013, 03:12 PM   #1
cmacfar OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 28
Places to live

As these kind of posts pop up in the Mountain region often I figure Id post one up in the SE region for some opinions.

The wife and I have always wanted to move out of Colorado as we both were born and raised here and are looking for something new. As they say the grass is always greener and well that is true for us with the SE portion of the US. Just looking for options on places that would be good areas to raise a family (We have a 16 month old son thus far) We both love small towns but small towns are hard to find jobs in for our current professions (Im a Civil Engineer, shes in HR/Professional Training) List of things wed be looking for in a community:

1. Family Friendly
2. Good Schools
3. Easy access to outdoorsy stuff (camping, hiking, dirt biking, fishing, water sports etc)
4. Affordable Housing on a small piece of land 0.5 acre or more would be great (A typical tract home within 30 minutes of Denver is 200k for something small and needs a lot of work and possibly a crappy neighborhood and around 400k for a larger home in the 2,000 sf size range that has middle of the road upgrades and thats on a 5,000 sf lot A nicer older 20s-40s home close to the city are in the 500k-Million plus range in Denver) Depending on the work situation wed be in the high 200k to mid 300k range I would suppose.
5. A decent economy
6. A nice town center that might have a few mom and pop type shops and restaurants