ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-26-2013, 06:58 AM   #91
atg OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2005
Location: Sao Paulo, Brazil
Oddometer: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by Go_With_The_Flow View Post
I want to thank 'gr8ridn, ATG, NWPA' and others who have responded. Has anyone tried to copy the full OS from a Navigator IV and transfer all data to the Zumo 660??
As Garmin stated, the units are identical and all the pins are active on the units.
Im wondering if it could be resolved with a simple transfer of all the OS?!

I certainly would be quite interested to know the results of such experience !

Andre
atg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 08:03 AM   #92
NLS
My bike needs washing...
 
NLS's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: GREECE!
Oddometer: 2,813
Quote:
Originally Posted by atg View Post
Hi NLS;

From what I could find out there are 3 wires out of the rotary switch. They run straight to the main electronic module located under the rider seat.

I believe that the bike's CPU send its commands to the GPS through a single wire, the third wire on the triple wire plug.

Andre
Interesting.
So...
a) BMW most probably can utilize the wheel otherwise if they wish on an update.
b) Would be interesting to understand what kind of protocol GPS receives from a single wire (it must be some kind of serial connection).
__________________
NLS
My Blog
When the going gets tough, the tough get going...
NLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 08:04 AM   #93
maximo de la maximus
Abracadabra Holmes
 
maximo de la maximus's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Golden CO, Home of the Mothership
Oddometer: 56
check this out...

If you don't absolutely have to have use of the control wheel AND you want wired audio AND you don't want to fidget with the three wires:

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=876608

The electrical tape solution works. I did this and carefully drilled a hole in the GPS bracket aligning with the audio input. After threading an extension under the body work a "permanent" input jack resides lower right above my right leg.
__________________
MdlM
maximo de la maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 08:30 AM   #94
MaddBrit
Now officially a Yank.
 
MaddBrit's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Allen, Tejas. Blissful state...
Oddometer: 23,441
It doesn't sound like there any any major problems with this one, and the switchgear issue is getting sorted and will no doubt get better moving forward. Thats very good news.



Have any of you put any real mileage in yet? (meaning over 5K).



I had enough issues with my 06 GSA (first production run) to keep me off new BMW's. It will be interesting to see if the drive chain is now sorted with the new model.

PS I bought a new Victory just over a year ago. I am very pleased to report not a single issue - not a squeak or a leak - in 13K miles. As it should be.
__________________
Just happy :)
MaddBrit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 08:31 AM   #95
Emoto
Sure, why not?
 
Emoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: SE Mass
Oddometer: 17,863
Who has the most miles on their new Sporkhead?
__________________
Eventual Master of the Obvious
2005 R1200GS | 2013 R1200GSW | SOHC4 208 | DoD 2032 | BMWMOA | BMWRA | YB
Proud walking jingle in the midnight sun.
Smugmug 20% off: http://www.smugmug.com/signup/?Coupon=mStnWv71mNkjo
Support .orgs that work to protect your rights: ACLU, NRA, EFF
Emoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 11:02 AM   #96
nwpa
Generally amused
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Location: Along the Great Lakes
Oddometer: 499
Here are some pictures of the windscreen cracking I'm seeing



nwpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 11:49 AM   #97
PhaseShifter
Gnarly Adventurer
 
PhaseShifter's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2006
Location: The Dutch Mountains
Oddometer: 147
Almost looks like "china" quality
how much you payed for this German top quality product?
it's a bloody shame this hapens with top-priced bikes
PhaseShifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 12:41 PM   #98
oz97tj
Studly Adventurer
 
oz97tj's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Fenton, MI
Oddometer: 811
Looks like someone get over zealous while torqueing down the windshield mounts. Thats about the only thing that would cause fracturing like that to the windshield. That would also mean it was the dealer who did this.
__________________
'13 BMW 1200 GSW
'05 Honda ST1300
oz97tj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 12:44 PM   #99
nwpa
Generally amused
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Location: Along the Great Lakes
Oddometer: 499
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhaseShifter View Post
Almost looks like "china" quality
how much you payed for this German top quality product?
it's a bloody shame this hapens with top-priced bikes
I look at the value of this thread not as a chance to bash anything, but simply to share issues that are popping up, to compare experiences with other owners in case there is a trend, pattern, or experience that can be of value to owners.

I love the bike. So far, without a doubt, it is the best I've ever experienced. This issue may be a quality issue, or it may be a part that was overtightened. I haven't seen anyone else mention it, but was sharing here to have owners keep an eye out.
nwpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 12:46 PM   #100
nwpa
Generally amused
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Location: Along the Great Lakes
Oddometer: 499
Quote:
Originally Posted by oz97tj View Post
Looks like someone get over zealous while torqueing down the windshield mounts. Thats about the only thing that would cause fracturing like that to the windshield. That would also mean it was the dealer who did this.
I was wondering that -- do these shields come installed or does the dealer put the shields on? (This was the same dealer that broke the pannier lever).
nwpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 01:13 PM   #101
268
Gnarly Adventurer
 
268's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Oddometer: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by nwpa View Post
I was wondering that -- do these shields come installed or does the dealer put the shields on? (This was the same dealer that broke the pannier lever).
The dealer definitely has to put the screen on. Saw mine being uncradled and the screen wasn't on te bike.
268 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 01:16 PM   #102
oz97tj
Studly Adventurer
 
oz97tj's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Fenton, MI
Oddometer: 811
Quote:
Originally Posted by nwpa View Post
I was wondering that -- do these shields come installed or does the dealer put the shields on? (This was the same dealer that broke the pannier lever).
Yup, dealer puts them on. Sounds like your dealer has someone who relies on muscle for everything instead of finesse.
__________________
'13 BMW 1200 GSW
'05 Honda ST1300
oz97tj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2013, 03:44 PM   #103
NLS
My bike needs washing...
 
NLS's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: GREECE!
Oddometer: 2,813
Quote:
Originally Posted by oz97tj View Post
Looks like someone get over zealous while torqueing down the windshield mounts. Thats about the only thing that would cause fracturing like that to the windshield. That would also mean it was the dealer who did this.
Exactly. This is definitely dealer installed.
This happened on my GS and was a mix of dealer error (too tight) and some over-powered pressure cleaner (in some gas station somewhere). I didn't notice it right there, else I would make them pay for it.
Dealer replaced the screen anyway.

Second time around, I also installed rubber rings myself. Maybe this is also a solution for '13.
__________________
NLS
My Blog
When the going gets tough, the tough get going...
NLS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2013, 04:28 AM   #104
Andylaser
Heavy Metal
 
Andylaser's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2011
Location: Southampton UK
Oddometer: 951
The GPS firmware is tied to the PCB electronic serial number. Just transferring it across wont work. This is also why you cant download the Nav V OS on to the Zumo.

You would need to hack some pretty robust security algorithms to do it.
__________________
Sent from my binary data processing apparatus using magic and wires

OLD SKOOL HEAVY METAL
Andylaser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 03:55 AM   #105
IB1
Studly Adventurer
 
IB1's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Location: Brussels
Oddometer: 779
I was in germany for a long weekend and had quite a bit of rain during 2days. On saturday my left hand control cluster failed. No turning signal, no horns, (DRL switched to night mode), ... On sundayevening the system sometimes came back very briefly after starting. (DRL symbol in the instrument flickered) and went back out immediately after.

The garage will replace it tomorrow.
IB1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014