User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-08-2013, 07:23 AM   #1
XCgeek OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 56
My Bike Build

Hi. Welcome to my bike build thread and first ever post on ADV.

I’m building my own bike largely because I think that I can. Na, I know I can. I am a mechanical engineer by trade which means I can crunch numbers, work computers, inspect workmanship bla bla bla bla. What is does not mean is that I can weld, turn assemble or any other craft type skills. Much of this I will be learning and increasing my skills in as I go. That is not to say that I can’t weld, just that it is not something that I ever do for my job or have ever done any significant training for or qualifications for.

So, what to build?

Well, 8 or 9 years ago, I had a really interesting job in a very small design firm in Christchurch, New Zealand. One of the more interesting projects we did was an ultra light motorcycle. It weighed in at about 55kg (about 120lbs), was fitted with a pit bike engine (angled up to increase clearances), Down Hill mountain front forks, pit bike air rear shock. My job was to design a frame, swing arm and subframe to tie all these items together within design parameters (shape, form, construction method) prescribed by the client. I also designed the fuel tank and rear hub.

You can check them out and even buy one if you want from here:

www.fxbikes.com

Ever since then, I have wanted to make one for myself but with my design parameters.

First off, some things that this bike will NOT be!

An adventure-touring bike suitable for long multi day rides,

A motocross race bike set to take on Suzuki, Honda, KTM etc,

A trials bike that Toni Boa will want to compete on,

Your ideal bike!

Now, here is what I want the bike to be:

Light! The goal is 50kg, anything lighter than 55kg will be acceptable,
Air cooled. I don’t want to deal with radiators during the build or riding,
4-Stroke. I want to run straight gas,