ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-29-2014, 01:17 PM   #1
Hill Climber OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Kaslo BC summer, Yuma AZ winter
Oddometer: 269
Speedometer setting?

Does anyone know how to change the default setting of 2205 front wheel circumference to a lesser value?
I found this solution, but it doesn't apply to my 2012 990 Adv

Step one: Mode = Trip F
Step two: Hold both buttons for 5 seconds
Step three: hit "mode" until "19" shows...hit "mode" again until "17" shows
Step four: Hit "set"
__________________
08 ktm530
12 ktm990Adventure
Hill Climber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 01:30 PM   #2
twisted-hog
Gnarly Adventurer
 
twisted-hog's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2012
Location: Wet Coast, Vancouver BC
Oddometer: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hill Climber View Post
Does anyone know how to change the default setting of 2205 front wheel circumference to a lesser value?
I found this solution, but it doesn't apply to my 2012 990 Adv

Step one: Mode = Trip F
Step two: Hold both buttons for 5 seconds
Step three: hit "mode" until "19" shows...hit "mode" again until "17" shows
Step four: Hit "set"
I'm curious on this also, speedo is out 5+km/hr at 70km/hr and up when checked with my Garmin.

I'd like to have my speedo bang on. I figure if it reads faster than I am going then the odometer will read higher also?
__________________
Baja in '15 2-up on a 990R

Baja Cerveza Conquest
twisted-hog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 01:35 PM   #3
Sumi
Beastly Adventurer
 
Sumi's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Hungary
Oddometer: 1,756
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showp...13&postcount=8

it's the same for the non-R 2009+ 990s as well.
__________________
2005.5 950 Adventure (with 265mm travel suspension)
Sumi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 01:39 PM   #4
Merlinx1
dreamer
 
Joined: Feb 2014
Location: Catania, Sicily, Italy
Oddometer: 18
is there a solution for a 1190r?
Merlinx1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 01:44 PM   #5
Sumi
Beastly Adventurer
 
Sumi's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Hungary
Oddometer: 1,756
Quote:
Originally Posted by Merlinx1 View Post
is there a solution for a 1190r?
I'm afraid there is not.
__________________
2005.5 950 Adventure (with 265mm travel suspension)
Sumi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 02:27 PM   #6
Hill Climber OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Kaslo BC summer, Yuma AZ winter
Oddometer: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sumi View Post
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showp...13&postcount=8

it's the same for the non-R 2009+ 990s as well.
Thanks for the link!!!!!!
Here's a Copy/Paste of the article:

I finally found the wire to disconnect!!! On the 990R, it's the brown/black wire.

I tried to disconnect what the could be 18 pin wire with no luck. Since there's no pink and no brown/grey wire, I tried the purple, it doesn't work. Finally, it was the brown/black one.

So to adjust the wheel size on a 2010 990R Adventure,

1- press MODE to go to TRIP 1
2- Hold the MODE key for around 10 sec
3- It will show actual wheel size. Use the MODE key to increase the wheel size and the SET key to decrease it
4- Hold the MODE and SET key to exit

I'm guessing that the Brown/Black wire is the Brown with a Black stripe?
And I'm guessing that afterwards you leave this one disconnected/cut?
__________________
08 ktm530
12 ktm990Adventure
Hill Climber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 03:11 PM   #7
rean1mator
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Oddometer: 179
Is this possible with a 2006 950?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hill Climber View Post
Thanks for the link!!!!!!
Here's a Copy/Paste of the article:

I finally found the wire to disconnect!!! On the 990R, it's the brown/black wire.

I tried to disconnect what the could be 18 pin wire with no luck. Since there's no pink and no brown/grey wire, I tried the purple, it doesn't work. Finally, it was the brown/black one.

So to adjust the wheel size on a 2010 990R Adventure,

1- press MODE to go to TRIP 1
2- Hold the MODE key for around 10 sec
3- It will show actual wheel size. Use the MODE key to increase the wheel size and the SET key to decrease it
4- Hold the MODE and SET key to exit

I'm guessing that the Brown/Black wire is the Brown with a Black stripe?
And I'm guessing that afterwards you leave this one disconnected/cut?
__________________
2006 KTM 950 Adventure
rean1mator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 03:28 PM   #8
wilmar13
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Oddometer: 562
Quote:
Originally Posted by Merlinx1 View Post
is there a solution for a 1190r?
I have not done so, but people have posted on here that you can get your dealer to reflash your speedo to a 1190S or Superduke (programmed for a smaller wheel). The speedo and ECU are separate so I guess there is no real downside.
__________________
'14 KTM 1190-R
wilmar13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 03:45 PM   #9
Sumi
Beastly Adventurer
 
Sumi's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Hungary
Oddometer: 1,756
Quote:
Originally Posted by rean1mator View Post
Is this possible with a 2006 950?
It is. See first post of this very thread.
__________________
2005.5 950 Adventure (with 265mm travel suspension)
Sumi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 06:15 PM   #10
MortimerSickle
Semi-Adventurer
 
MortimerSickle's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2005
Location: Rainville, Orygun, where moss is a road hazard.
Oddometer: 11,954
Caveat

I went back to the default setting. At default, the speedo and the odo were both off, but oddly they were off by different percentages.

When I set for 19", the speedo was almost exactly in agreement with my GPS, but the odo was off by a greater percentage than it was before, but in the opposite direction.

I decided that a more accurate mileage reading for maintenance purposes was more important than an accurate speed reading, especially when the speedo error is on the safe side.

My bike is an early '04, but I wouldn't be surprised if all years have similar results.
__________________


I miss round headlights.

"When I was a young man, I liked to race my horse...." -
G.H.W.S. 1878-1962
MortimerSickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 07:49 PM   #11
Whele
Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Southern German
Oddometer: 49
A setting of 2140 gives me exact agreement with my Sat Nav on a flat road.
Whele is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2014, 09:50 PM   #12
Zuber
Zoob
 
Zuber's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Main Street, Shedd, Oregon
Oddometer: 1,851
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whele View Post
A setting of 2140 gives me exact agreement with my Sat Nav on a flat road.
Depends on the tire.
__________________
"Dad, can I get a motorcycle when I grow up?"
"Son, you can't do both"
Zuber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2014, 05:12 AM   #13
Whele
Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: Southern German
Oddometer: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zuber View Post
Depends on the tire.
Sure, and even the amount of wear on the same tyre makes a difference over its lifetime. However I am not sure I am so concerned about the 1 or 2 km/h difference. In standard form the discrepancy was 14km/h at 80km/h
Whele is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2014, 01:12 AM   #14
fridgyis
Fridgy
 
Joined: May 2007
Location: BC
Oddometer: 50
Speedo change

On the990 there is no need to cut the wire. The connector will come apart with a small pick on either sides.......carful it is fragile. I have no pictures but it can be done. Remove the brown black wire then the function will work as it did on earlier models. I simply put some heat shrink on it and tied it back.

Good luck!
__________________
fridgyis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2014, 11:39 PM   #15
Hill Climber OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2007
Location: Kaslo BC summer, Yuma AZ winter
Oddometer: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by fridgyis View Post
On the990 there is no need to cut the wire. The connector will come apart with a small pick on either sides.......carful it is fragile. I have no pictures but it can be done. Remove the brown black wire then the function will work as it did on earlier models. I simply put some heat shrink on it and tied it back.

Good luck!
Thanks. I'll give this a go. (Like the idea of protecting the open pin with heat shrink)

Can anyone think of a reason why one would want to re-connect this connector ever again?
__________________
08 ktm530
12 ktm990Adventure
Hill Climber is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014