Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Trip Planning > EMEA
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-15-2013, 12:37 PM   #1
Usernumbernine OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 13
Question Newbie begging for help on the first adventure, going from London to Cannes.

Heya,

This is the first time ever I'm posting on these forums but I've been lurking around a bit and wanted to say that I'm in awe of how much richness there is on your little corner of the internet. The pics thread alone has entertained and inspired me heaps.

Secondly, I would ask the mods to please not get angry if this is supposed to be posted somewhere else, after very careful evaluation this seemed to be the most appropriated place. Sorry if it isn't.

With all that said, I'll get on to it!

I'm 34 and am a Brazilian living in London where I work in the advertising industry. I've been riding bikes for a little while but most of what I have ridden are sports bikes or standard ones. Recently I went on a ride with a mate of mine and a mate of his. His mate is more of the adventure type and as we spoke about his trips It hit me that I was missing a whole part of what motorcycling could have been to me.

I started reading about it, watching films, youtube videos and pushed my current bike (06 Ducati sport1000 monoposto) around for longer trips but nothing lasting longer than a day (max 400 miles).

This is where the craziness starts. After all of this virtual immersion in this adventure motorcycling world I think I got too optimistic about what is possible and my own abilities.

Being the impulsive fool I am I destined the budget I had put aside to buy a new sport bike and after some research I ordered a BMW 1200gs.

The Bike is scheduled to arrive by the 14th of june and I am planning to hop on it to travel from London to Cannes on the 15th.

To help explain the scenarios here are a few key points.

Trip Facts: