User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-28-2013, 12:31 PM   #1
grant22 OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 351
950 Adv brake rotor / caliper interference

I had to do a trail side front tube replacement yesterday. I am new to adv bikes, but not new to dirt bikes / KTMs.

While removing the front wheel, I thought I was careful to catch any spacers that may fall, but anything can happen. I remounted the wheel, very similar operation to my EXC bikes, pumped up my front brake pressure, checked for a free spinning wheel, etc etc etc, and away I went.

About 50 miles down the highway while exiting (and braking) I felt something weird in the front wheel. I pulled over and found this:

According to the ktm parts diagram, there is a spacer on each side, but on wheel removal and re installation, this is what my spacer situate looks like:

Rider's Left side:

Rider's Right side:

It appears to me the rider's left side has a spacer while the right side is spacer-less (I think the axle is stepped, acting as a spacer). But somehow, the wheel went right (rider's right) and the rotor started hitting the caliper support (the rotor has a chunk of aluminum and the gouges are all actually melted aluminum).

Like I said, I probably did something wrong (and am very lucky this didn't cause something uglier).

-what did I do wrong to cause this?
-is there a spacer on the rider right side that I'm missing?
-has this happened to any of you?

I'm going to start tear down and assess the damage and order parts, but would like any of your help to keep this from happening again.

Thanks!
grant22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 12:42 PM   #2
gefr
Life is a trip

Oddometer: 3,707
Have a look in this parts' fische

http://www.munnracing.com/
you should have these two spacers at both sides:
part No #60009012000
part No #60009013000 this seems to be missing
Nothing serious
Cheers.
Clutch master cylinder resleeving