Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 06-04-2013, 03:28 PM   #1
mroddis OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 115
Tubes?

Hi everyone,
I'm a noob still and wondering if I've made my first online purchase error....

I ordered a rear tube to compliment the spare front one I was given by the original owner. I received it today, and noticed that it is big.....and heavy. I ordered a Michelin Heavy Duty tube - 4mm (as it was the only one I could see online) as I figured a heavy duty one was a good choice.(bigger is better, right?)

Now my existing front tube box is no bigger than approx 4 oil filter boxes (it's all i have lying around that I figure you guys could visualize). The new one (rear, 18" and therefore 'smaller') is in a box at least double that of the front one. And it seems to weigh at least double...

So my question is - did I overdo it? I want to carry these tubes with me, but I don't think I can haul around such a big tube. What do you guys use? What size/thickness should I have bought?

Details:
2006 950 Adventure
Running Conti Attacks currently, also have a set of Mefo/Heidenaus
80/20 street/dirt rider
200 lbs rider.

Thanks all,
Matthew
Old 06-04-2013, 03:31 PM   #2
DirtyADV
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 1,773
Quote:
Originally Posted by mroddis View Post
Hi everyone,
I'm a noob still and wondering if I've made my first online purchase error....

I ordered a rear tube to compliment the spare front one I was given by the original owner. I received it today, and noticed that it is big.....and heavy. I ordered a Michelin Heavy Duty tube - 4mm (as it was the only one I could see online) as I figured a heavy duty one was a good choice.(bigger is better, right?)