ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush > Ridiculous streetbikes with 6 CPUs and too much horsepower (1050/1190/1290cc)
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-11-2013, 12:11 AM   #1
JonesTheBiker OP
n00b
 
JonesTheBiker's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: Sydney
Oddometer: 4
KTM1190 Adventure - the Electronics

After 3 GS's and I just bought the 1190 to go with my 300EXC - excellent tool.
Just wondering if anyone has any tips on the electronics - specifically

1.Shift light - the rev limits that I set seem to be cleared each time I turn the bike off.
2. Do you know anyway of setting defaults for instance MTC - making it default to off ( it resets to on every time the bike is turned off)
3. And for the longer dirt trips it would be good to be able to get the ABS to default to Off-Road

Cheers
JonesTheBiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 12:34 AM   #2
AdvIvan
Rock on!
 
AdvIvan's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2013
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Oddometer: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonesTheBiker View Post
After 3 GS's and I just bought the 1190 to go with my 300EXC - excellent tool.
Just wondering if anyone has any tips on the electronics - specifically

1.Shift light - the rev limits that I set seem to be cleared each time I turn the bike off.
2. Do you know anyway of setting defaults for instance MTC - making it default to off ( it resets to on every time the bike is turned off)
3. And for the longer dirt trips it would be good to be able to get the ABS to default to Off-Road

Cheers
Hi there!

1. When I change my shift lights, they stay at my settings until I change them, unaffected by ignition. Sounds fishy!
2. To get the MTC to stay OFF or OFFROAD, you have to buy the Bad Fuel Dongle, which will let you drive with low octane fuel as well as save your ABS/MTC settings when torning off the bike.
3. Same as (2).

Have fun! I sure do!
AdvIvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 03:01 AM   #3
Bundu
===============
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Pretoria, South Africa
Oddometer: 622
I've been told the shift light will only work to your own settings after the 1st service...... not sure if that is so, as I still need to do my 1st service

It has been discussed elsewhere, but on my bike, the DRL setting also resets when the ignition is turned off - very annoying!
Bundu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 03:45 AM   #4
umitc
Gnarly Adventurer
 
umitc's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2008
Location: Istanbul
Oddometer: 325
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonesTheBiker View Post
3. And for the longer dirt trips it would be good to be able to get the ABS to default to Off-Road Cheers
I was thinking the same; it's time consuming everytime struggling with the buttons to go back to Offroad ABS mode. Maybe Offroad ABS would be default, with the Offroad MTC.
umitc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 11:51 PM   #5
paturoa
Gnarly Adventurer
 
paturoa's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Oddometer: 244
Speedo error

On my R at 110 ks indicated my GPS reads 100 ks. WTF?

I'll inquire at the 1000 k service if the dealer app can do speedo tuning.

EDIT: Not sure on the error for the T model, but that guy who took a video at 270 ks was probably only doing 245ks
paturoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 12:36 AM   #6
paturoa
Gnarly Adventurer
 
paturoa's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Oddometer: 244
Accesorey socket always on.

Has anyone got a wiring diagram yet? I'd be keen on changing the source for the acc socket to only power when the key is on.
paturoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 09:28 AM   #7
Bundu
===============
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Pretoria, South Africa
Oddometer: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by paturoa View Post
Has anyone got a wiring diagram yet? I'd be keen on changing the source for the acc socket to only power when the key is on.
PM me....
Bundu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 03:54 AM   #8
paturoa
Gnarly Adventurer
 
paturoa's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Oddometer: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bundu View Post
PM me....
Done.
paturoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 03:05 AM   #9
Bundu
===============
 
Joined: Aug 2010
Location: Pretoria, South Africa
Oddometer: 622
I see the switched ACC2 connectors in the front and rear of the bike are labelled 1A max

I wonder if that is true, as there is no 1A fuse on the bike except if it has an electronic auto resetting fuse.....
Bundu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 03:16 AM   #10
Katoom72
Studly Adventurer
 
Katoom72's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Location: Belgium
Oddometer: 830
Quote:
Originally Posted by paturoa View Post
On my R at 110 ks indicated my GPS reads 100 ks. WTF?

I'll inquire at the 1000 k service if the dealer app can do speedo tuning.

EDIT: Not sure on the error for the T model, but that guy who took a video at 270 ks was probably only doing 245ks
Almost every speedo does that
__________________
Now:
'03 KTM 250sx -- '05 KTM Adventure 950
Before:
'00 KTM 250sx -- '03 KTM 450sx -- '03 Yamaha R6 -- '08 KTM SuperDuke R --- '13 KTM 690 enduro R
Katoom72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 12:40 AM   #11
paturoa
Gnarly Adventurer
 
paturoa's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Oddometer: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bundu View Post
I see the switched ACC2 connectors in the front and rear of the bike are labelled 1A max

I wonder if that is true, as there is no 1A fuse on the bike except if it has an electronic auto resetting fuse.....
Looking at the diagram you sent, that is feed directly from the MCU pin 8. It is quite straight forward electronics to current limit or "electronically" fuse. Perhaps an email to the KTM peeps at head office to explain?

Oh and thanks heaps for the diagram. I'll insert a relay and control it off Acc2, which sounds like it is right next to the socket.

paturoa screwed with this post 06-24-2013 at 12:49 AM
paturoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 06:47 AM   #12
Tancakar
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Tancakar's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2013
Location: London , UK
Oddometer: 366
It might be nothing to with the electronics but a week ago I drop the bike 0 mph and the engine kills it self . This is very good safety feature ;) the bike is ok just a little scratch on the crash bar :) and the bag . Bike fall to the left .. .
Tancakar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 07:17 AM   #13
Katoom72
Studly Adventurer
 
Katoom72's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Location: Belgium
Oddometer: 830
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tancakar View Post
It might be nothing to with the electronics but a week ago I drop the bike 0 mph and the engine kills it self . This is very good safety feature ;) the bike is ok just a little scratch on the crash bar :) and the bag . Bike fall to the left .. .
roll over safety switch :)
__________________
Now:
'03 KTM 250sx -- '05 KTM Adventure 950
Before:
'00 KTM 250sx -- '03 KTM 450sx -- '03 Yamaha R6 -- '08 KTM SuperDuke R --- '13 KTM 690 enduro R
Katoom72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 08:15 AM   #14
AdvIvan
Rock on!
 
AdvIvan's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2013
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Oddometer: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tancakar View Post
It might be nothing to with the electronics but a week ago I drop the bike 0 mph and the engine kills it self . This is very good safety feature ;) the bike is ok just a little scratch on the crash bar :) and the bag . Bike fall to the left .. .
Mine didn't switch of. Not to the right, not to the left. And not to the left again
AdvIvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 08:25 AM   #15
Jaimoto
Beastly Adventurer
 
Jaimoto's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Spaniard in Chile
Oddometer: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdvIvan View Post
Mine didn't switch of. Not to the right, not to the left. And not to the left again
Try dropping it to the right again, an even number of drops will reset the tipover sensor
__________________
Jaime

2007 KTM 990 Adventure
2012 Yamaha BWs 125
Jaimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014