ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-13-2013, 07:02 AM   #1
Velociraptor OP
TrackBum
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: Seattle
Oddometer: 990
Immobilizer strikes again:(

My 2010 990 Supermoto R is considered a "Road Warrior" but I am posting here because few will see the post there and the engine is a 990 and the bike has the dreaded immobilizer-which is now doing its job very well!

2010 KTM 990 SMR

I went out to ride the bike yesterday morning and got the dreaded 3 then 1 blink code from the Immobilizer light and the 8 slow, one fast FI blink code. So the bike will not start.

I have a Power Commander with the Autotune module installed and the MK3 Airbox. Bike has been running fine for a long time. I last rode it about two weeks ago with zero issues. I parked it in the garage and did not touch it and next time I get the immobilizer errors.

I have the shop manual on CD which did not help much. I have all three keys so tried the other black key but no change. The immobilizer seems to be located in the headlight assembly. I pulled that apart and could not find any obvious wire breaks although some wire bundles are tightly zip tied together so I may cut those zip ties to see if I find anything.

I have a Shorai battery and it seemed charged although I put a charger on it overnight which made no difference.

I went through as much of the wiring on the bike as I could and all seems fine.

It seems like the two main causes would be a failed immobilizer in which case I have to take the bike to the dealer as the KTM diagnostic tool would be required for a fix, or there is a broken wire in the immobilizer circuit.

Any suggestions greatly appreciated!
__________________
2014 KTM EXC 500
2014 KTM 1290 Superduke R
2009 KTM 690r Enduro SOLD
2002 RC51 SOLD
2010 KTM 990 Supermoto R SOLD
Velociraptor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 08:11 AM   #2
tacosupreme
Gnarly Adventurer
 
tacosupreme's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2013
Location: Pendleton, Oregon
Oddometer: 242
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=670041
__________________
'12 990 with some orange stuff on it to make it go faster.
tacosupreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 08:35 AM   #3
Velociraptor OP
TrackBum
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: Seattle
Oddometer: 990
I read that post. I guess he had a bad ignition or a broken wire from ignition?
__________________
2014 KTM EXC 500
2014 KTM 1290 Superduke R
2009 KTM 690r Enduro SOLD
2002 RC51 SOLD
2010 KTM 990 Supermoto R SOLD
Velociraptor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 09:06 AM   #4
sabink
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Oddometer: 116
2011 990 Adventure:

I got immobilizer error code several times and the bike did not wanted to start. Turn off then on the key fixes the problem every time. The ECU record immobilizer error. I hope this problem does not leave me stranded on another continent!!
sabink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 09:16 AM   #5
Velociraptor OP
TrackBum
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: Seattle
Oddometer: 990
Thanks for the info. My problem happens all the time. I was lucky that it happened at home. Otherwise only a KTM dealer can fix it! I am also wondering if a Power Commander problem could cause it.
__________________
2014 KTM EXC 500
2014 KTM 1290 Superduke R
2009 KTM 690r Enduro SOLD
2002 RC51 SOLD
2010 KTM 990 Supermoto R SOLD
Velociraptor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 10:05 AM   #6
sabink
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Oddometer: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Velociraptor View Post
Thanks for the info. My problem happens all the time. I was lucky that it happened at home. Otherwise only a KTM dealer can fix it! I am also wondering if a Power Commander problem could cause it.
Good question. I also have Power Commander V.

I noticed that the LCD-100 that I also have interfere a lot with my GPS and I ended up removing the LCD-100 as my Garmin Montana constantly reported unusual low accuracy. Unfortunately after removing the LCD-100 I got the error again. I do not know if it is coincidence mine and your case. I do not remember some else with the problem mentioning of using power commander.
sabink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 11:44 AM   #7
vicster
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Oddometer: 884
Is this immobilizer of the type contained in the key? Been looking into possibly buying a 990 and hadn't read of this.
Thanks.
vicster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 11:58 AM   #8
gbx2001
Geophiz
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Harperville, Canuckland
Oddometer: 86
This will not help your immediate problem but just thought I would mention a previous thread in Orange Crush where an inmate described "fooling" the immobilizer by picking up a 2nd CPU and inputting the VIN from a 2007 or 2008 990 Adventure. The CPU part number is identical for both 2007-08 and 2009-current 990 bikes.

He reported that with the 2nd CPU installed on his 2009+ Adventure, his bike would run (on the 2007-08 CPU map) and that his existing keys (with immobilizer) would work fine (i.e. immobilizer not triggered and no warning lights). Essentially the CPU distinguishes between 2007-08 models and 2009-later models by the VIN. To really make this work you would need to copy the fuel/ignition map from your original bike to the "fooled" cpu.

I will post the thread link if I can find it ....
gbx2001 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 12:50 PM   #9
Velociraptor OP
TrackBum
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: Seattle
Oddometer: 990
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbx2001 View Post
This will not help your immediate problem but just thought I would mention a previous thread in Orange Crush where an inmate described "fooling" the immobilizer by picking up a 2nd CPU and inputting the VIN from a 2007 or 2008 990 Adventure. The CPU part number is identical for both 2007-08 and 2009-current 990 bikes.

He reported that with the 2nd CPU installed on his 2009+ Adventure, his bike would run (on the 2007-08 CPU map) and that his existing keys (with immobilizer) would work fine (i.e. immobilizer not triggered and no warning lights). Essentially the CPU distinguishes between 2007-08 models and 2009-later models by the VIN. To really make this work you would need to copy the fuel/ignition map from your original bike to the "fooled" cpu.

I will post the thread link if I can find it ....
I read that post too. Very interesting and I am keeping that open as a possibility.

I may try reloading my Tune ECU maps to see if that does anything. I have the ECU loaded with a Tune ECU map then a Power Commander and then an Autotune on top of that. Probably none of that is the problem, but it costs nothing to reload all the maps.
__________________
2014 KTM EXC 500
2014 KTM 1290 Superduke R
2009 KTM 690r Enduro SOLD
2002 RC51 SOLD
2010 KTM 990 Supermoto R SOLD
Velociraptor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 07:32 AM   #10
Velociraptor OP
TrackBum
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: Seattle
Oddometer: 990
I tried reloading a map using Tune ECU, and reinspecting a lot of wiring and everything looks in very good shape, so I am taking the bike to the dealer, much as I hate to. Without the KTM diagnostic tool I am dead in the water.
To be continued............
__________________
2014 KTM EXC 500
2014 KTM 1290 Superduke R
2009 KTM 690r Enduro SOLD
2002 RC51 SOLD
2010 KTM 990 Supermoto R SOLD
Velociraptor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 08:42 AM   #11
DSM8
Where fun goes to die....
 
DSM8's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Glendora, Ca
Oddometer: 3,554
I hear stories like this and worry more and more down the road when the time comes to replace my 990 (07) with something else will I be able to get it without all the electronic whiz bang stuff...

NO I wont get a KLR...

__________________
DSM8 - A different kind of mean
SQL > SELECT finger FROM hand WHERE id=3
http://share.findmespot.com/shared/f...d5LbKWMz6cHxaH
DSM8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 01:12 PM   #12
Questor
More Undestructable
 
Questor's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Diamond Bar, CA.
Oddometer: 3,979
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSM8 View Post
Will I be able to get it without all the electronic whiz bang stuff...

NO I wont get a KLR...

Honda XR650R?
That's going to be my backup bike.

Not even a key...

Q~
Questor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 06:41 PM   #13
Velociraptor OP
TrackBum
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: Seattle
Oddometer: 990
Dropped the bike off at the dealer today. Hope to hear something next week. At least AAA was good. I have never used them and when I finally needed them they did a good job. Very careful with the bike.
__________________
2014 KTM EXC 500
2014 KTM 1290 Superduke R
2009 KTM 690r Enduro SOLD
2002 RC51 SOLD
2010 KTM 990 Supermoto R SOLD
Velociraptor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 09:48 AM   #14
KMC1
There is no spoon.
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Greater SLC
Oddometer: 2,179
Did you try disconnecting the battery for a few minutes and then reconnecting?
__________________
Obama says adding $4 trillion to debt is unpatriotic: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1kuTG19Cu_Q&sns=em

An Overview of the United States National Debt: http://www.davemanuel.com/us-national-debt-clock.php
KMC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 01:18 PM   #15
Velociraptor OP
TrackBum
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Location: Seattle
Oddometer: 990
Quote:
Originally Posted by KMC1 View Post
Did you try disconnecting the battery for a few minutes and then reconnecting?
Yes, I tried that. Current best guess is that the antenna ring is broken.
__________________
2014 KTM EXC 500
2014 KTM 1290 Superduke R
2009 KTM 690r Enduro SOLD
2002 RC51 SOLD
2010 KTM 990 Supermoto R SOLD
Velociraptor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014