ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Thumpers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-18-2013, 10:56 PM   #1
dirtriderbloke OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Oddometer: 96
KTM EXC Oil/Filter Change Question?

i have a question but not really sure how to word it so ill try my best.
why is it only 1 liter without filter changes?
i don't understand why we originally need to fill the filter housings with oil and still top up 1.2 liters so in total 1.2 liters will be inside the engine but w/o filter changes, considering there is oil already in the filter housings, if we top up with 1 liter, there will only be 1 liter inside the actual engine. it doesn't seem to make sense or is a bit inconsistent.
so why do we need to put 1.2 liters + fill up the filter housings one time and the other time, when there is oil already in the housings, we only need to put in 1 liter?? when originally regardless of how much oil we put into the housings, we still need to top up with 1.2 liters???

it kinda defeats the purpose of doing the original step and putting in 1.2 liters to begin with PLUS filling up the filter housings anyway and a bit contradicting because when we aren't doing a filter change, there is still oil in the housings so the 1 liter we put in, isn't going to goto those housings, so if we need to fill up with 1.2 liters originally when we are doing filter and oil changes PLUS fill up the filter housings, wouldn't it still be the same if we are to put 1.2 liters in regardless(considering there is oil already in those housings)...because if we have to put 1.2 liters in aswell as fill the housings, it makes more sense to put in 1.2 liters when there is oil already in those housings(just as we would with a filter change) and putting use to the 1st step which is filling up the housings anyway.
that's the best i can explain my question, i hope others can understand what i mean or am trying to ask/get at.
dirtriderbloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 11:22 PM   #2
clapped_r6
The Spoad Warrior
 
clapped_r6's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Ridgefield, WA
Oddometer: 2,526
Put the coke away!

1L without filter change, 1.2L with filter change. You're over thinking it
__________________
none of us is as dumb as all of us
clapped_r6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 12:52 AM   #3
Off the grid
Chaotic Good
 
Off the grid's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: That buzzing in your earhole, NorCal.
Oddometer: 8,999
__________________
Wedding(s) = $30,000
Divorce(s) = $25,000
2007 Triumph Tiger 1050 ABS = Priceless
Play War Thunder, ultra-realistic WWII Air Combat game with other ADVers
Off the grid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 12:58 AM   #4
Tragic Image
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Tragic Image's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Palmdale California
Oddometer: 242
I use 1.2 liters for a full filter change.

I "pre-pour" the 1.2 liters into my fill container.

Then I soak my filters in the fresh oil sitting in the container, then install them.

Pour in the remaining amount into the bike.


Viola. Still only using 1.2 liters.
Tragic Image is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 02:39 AM   #5
dirtriderbloke OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Oddometer: 96
yeah i get all that but i was just wondering why, as it wasn't consistent and contradicts what the manual states and why we have to do that step originally, even though when installing new filters you still put 1.2 liters in the bike plus fill up the housings making it more then 1.2 liters anyway and just can't see how it's any different if 1.2 litres is meant to be in there anyway WITH the housings filled. i am just a deep thinker lol
dirtriderbloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 02:42 AM   #6
Tragic Image
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Tragic Image's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Palmdale California
Oddometer: 242
Rules were made to be broken?


As long as you're good, via the sight glass... Why worry?
Tragic Image is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 04:11 AM   #7
dirtriderbloke OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Oddometer: 96
true. i was just wondering though lol. just wanted to know out of curiosity
dirtriderbloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 04:18 AM   #8
400psi
Cropdusting
 
400psi's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Asheville NC
Oddometer: 374
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtriderbloke View Post
even though when installing new filters you still put 1.2 liters in the bike plus fill up the housings making it more then 1.2 liters anyway
Its not 1.2 plus fill the housings. As stated, when doing filters, pre pour your 1.2, fill the filters half full or so, place back in housing. tigthten cap, pour the remaining 1.x into the engine.
don't rely on the sight glass
__________________
I'm so far behind I think I'm in first
400psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 07:31 AM   #9
dirtriderbloke OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Oddometer: 96


ok cool. fair enough. ill listen to what your saying but all i was saying is that that's not what the manual was saying. nowhere in the manual did it say pre pour 1.2 liters. it says fill the filter housings up then fill in 1.2 liters of oil. that's where i was confused.
dirtriderbloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 10:20 AM   #10
400psi
Cropdusting
 
400psi's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Asheville NC
Oddometer: 374
I see where your confusion is.

For what its worth. I change my oil/check srceens @ every 15 hours (or less depending on use) and my filters every third change. For the oil changes,I measure the amount that comes out and replace it with the same. When I do the filters, I premeasure the .2 l in a measuring cup and use this to fill the filters. I then add the remainder. I know that I've always heard 1.2 with filters, 1 without ,on ktmtalk and adv and so I have done it this way for quite awhile. Its an 04 with 412 hours and 12,800 miles.
Enjoy it. They're great bikes
__________________
I'm so far behind I think I'm in first
400psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 05:01 PM   #11
81forest
Gnarly Adventurer
 
81forest's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Seattle
Oddometer: 336
I think I have finally figured out the oil capacity on my RFS, but my problem is how to avoid getting oil EVERYWHERE when I do the filter change with the bike on its side. It is the worst oil change procedure I've ever seen, and I've owned an oil-in-frame LC4. I'm curious what tricks people have come up with to avoid that puddle in the garage (other than cat litter, duh!)
81forest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 05:09 PM   #12
Off the grid
Chaotic Good
 
Off the grid's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: That buzzing in your earhole, NorCal.
Oddometer: 8,999
Quote:
Originally Posted by 81forest View Post
I think I have finally figured out the oil capacity on my RFS, but my problem is how to avoid getting oil EVERYWHERE when I do the filter change with the bike on its side. It is the worst oil change procedure I've ever seen, and I've owned an oil-in-frame LC4. I'm curious what tricks people have come up with to avoid that puddle in the garage (other than cat litter, duh!)
I'm curious why you feel it's so torturous. A full change took me 20mins, and the more common drain/fill takes under 5-10mins.
__________________
Wedding(s) = $30,000
Divorce(s) = $25,000
2007 Triumph Tiger 1050 ABS = Priceless
Play War Thunder, ultra-realistic WWII Air Combat game with other ADVers
Off the grid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 05:55 PM   #13
400psi
Cropdusting
 
400psi's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Asheville NC
Oddometer: 374
I must admit sometimes I make an absolute mess and others its very clean. No good advice sorry.
__________________
I'm so far behind I think I'm in first
400psi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 07:59 PM   #14
81forest
Gnarly Adventurer
 
81forest's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Location: Seattle
Oddometer: 336
Quote:
Originally Posted by Off the grid View Post
I'm curious why you feel it's so torturous. A full change took me 20mins, and the more common drain/fill takes under 5-10mins.
How do you not get oil everywhere when you open up the filter housing?
81forest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 08:39 PM   #15
Off the grid
Chaotic Good
 
Off the grid's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Location: That buzzing in your earhole, NorCal.
Oddometer: 8,999
Quote:
Originally Posted by 81forest View Post
How do you not get oil everywhere when you open up the filter housing?
Not when the bike is on it's right side, no.
__________________
Wedding(s) = $30,000
Divorce(s) = $25,000
2007 Triumph Tiger 1050 ABS = Priceless
Play War Thunder, ultra-realistic WWII Air Combat game with other ADVers
Off the grid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014