Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 06-21-2013, 04:28 PM   #1
crg infidel OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 37
Inject oil w/Scottoiler?

Hey all,

I tried search, and got nowhere. So bear with me.

I love seeing things used for purposes in which they were never, ever intended. I can't help but wonder if a Scottoiler (chain oiling system) or other such small oil pump, could be made to inject oil into the intake, thus eliminating the need to mix. Mixing gas & oil seems to be a hang up for some, and a deal-breaker for others.

One of the Scottoilers is vacuum operated, and the other model is electronic. I must admit that I have no experience with these, but the idea seems feasible if some issues could be overcome.

Can they be made to flow enough oil for the application?

Can they be regulated for more output at higher RPM?

Has anyone ever seen a system to inject oil into a 2-cycle that was not a factory unit? If (like a lot of my ideas) this is more trouble than it's worth, that's fine. But it would sure be fun if it could be done.

We have some very skilled and experienced folks on this forum, and I'd love to hear what their thoughts are.
crg infidel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 11:59 PM   #2
brianwheelies
Iron toocus

Oddometer: 2,087
The Aprilia SR50 Ditech Morini engine uses an electric oil pump.

If you want vacuum operated there is a mikuni fuel pump used on scooters that maybe couldbe used with an injection oil.

I tthink vacuum is a bad way to go as you need rpm dependent and not load dependent.
Old 06-23-2013, 10:22 PM   #3
crg infidel OP
Adventurer

So....

If one gallon equals 4546ml, and you're using a 50:1 ratio, then you're putting in about 91ml/gallon. That would have to be a damn low volume pump!

What about a variable speed paristaltic pump? If there was a way to have a signal from the plug wire control the pump speed, then it would be linked right to the RPM.