ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-23-2013, 02:19 PM   #1
Paulie OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Paulie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: UK (Upper Kuba)
Oddometer: 298
Question "follow road" route problem

I'm trying to use a route made on google maps on my 76cx, in "follow road" mode. Damned if the gps always wants to go into "calculate" mode & screws up the route.

I've used this that & the other conversion programs for input, a whole bunch of em. Pretty slick stuff, I gotta say! Have also tried all the diff "follow road" settings on the gps. Mapsource or basecamp, same dang result. Groan.

If ya got any decent clues, lemme know...thanks.
Paulie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 05:31 PM   #2
250senuf
Beastly Adventurer
 
250senuf's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Kootenai, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 2,289
Make it into a track or several. 500 point limit per each of max 10 tracks.
__________________
Not all who wonder are confused
250senuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 07:15 PM   #3
NorthernTraveler
Long time Adventurer
 
NorthernTraveler's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: The Big Mitten
Oddometer: 417
Tracks on 76cx

500 points max on each of 20 tracks.

Also, WinGDB will convert it for you to tracks with LOTS of points, which you then filter down to 500 points each.

This is the best way I've found to do it...
NorthernTraveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 07:17 PM   #4
250senuf
Beastly Adventurer
 
250senuf's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Kootenai, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 2,289
Oops, thanks for the correction.
__________________
Not all who wonder are confused
250senuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 04:10 AM   #5
9Dave
Bazinga!
 
9Dave's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Oddometer: 12,865
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paulie View Post
If ya got any decent clues, lemme know...thanks.
What maps are loaded on your GPS? I'm guessing your roads don't match between the two.

First recalculate in Mapsource or Basecamp, and then load into your GPS after ensuring the map data is the same (if using Mapsource).
__________________


dunno.....
9Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 04:45 AM   #6
Paulie OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Paulie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: UK (Upper Kuba)
Oddometer: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9Dave View Post
What maps are loaded on your GPS? I'm guessing your roads don't match between the two.

First recalculate in Mapsource or Basecamp, and then load into your GPS after ensuring the map data is the same (if using Mapsource).
They're both City Navigator NA NT 08, which seems to be ok. Yeah, I've tried that recalc in M - B & it also gets wacked out. Doing it on a lil local 5 mi route that's EZ to test, before a 7-8k ride in August.
Paulie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 06:30 AM   #7
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: NWA
Oddometer: 9,242
That's the problem with many of the handheld units. You're really not doing anything wrong, it will ALWAYS recalculate the route and it will ALWAYS change it unless you are very careful of where you place your via points. You're also limited to 50 of those so you're stuck with some very short routes if you get complex with the routing. Like others have suggested stick with tracks as the 76 is pretty much a useless routing GPS.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 08:44 AM   #8
wbbnm
Beastly Adventurer
 
wbbnm's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Abq NM
Oddometer: 1,985
If you really want to use routes you should do lots of practice runs like you are planning. You will find lots of problems that can generally be overcome with proper GPS unit settings and route planning.

Or not.

I would definitely recommend creating tracks as a backup in case routing just doesn't work out.
wbbnm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 09:21 AM   #9
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,286
Quote:
Originally Posted by wbbnm View Post
I would definitely recommend creating tracks as a backup in case routing just doesn't work out.
+1 No Brainer
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 05:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014