User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-06-2013, 11:33 AM   #1
xxguitarist OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 63
Too many options..Duc to GS.. Help!

Some background: I've been working at an electric motorcycle company for ~2 years, and had a company bike the whole time. Most of that has been an electric version of a 696 Monster. Naked, mild forward lean, torquey, lots of fun.
I've put around 10k + miles on that in the past year, and 4k miles on a more upright commuter the year before. Mileage is lots of commuting, errands, and weekend/evening canyon runs.

It's looking like I'll be moving to western CT for family reasons, and will likely no longer have a company bike.
Trying to figure out what direction to go.
  • The R12gs looks like fun, I'd enjoy the possibility of two-up touring to VT, NH, maybe even Nova Scotia. It'd also be a good option for the daily commute, even if it's bigger than necessary.
  • A Monster would be an easy transfer, and I could rig up a hard bag or two for work shoes etc. Would also be somewhat track-worthy, which is a plus.
  • A Duc 748/848 pulls at my heart strings, and would have me in the garage staring at it everytime I shut it down. I'm tall enough that the length of the bike wouldn't be a huge issue, but I'm sure my knees might grow tired of it after a while.
  • The Honda NC700x/V-strom/F650gs single type options would probably be the most practical, but they aren't ideal for two up or track time.

Anyone else been here? Thoughts appreciated!

xxguitarist screwed with this post 07-07-2013 at 03:54 PM
xxguitarist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 01:50 PM   #2
OneTraveller
Social Reject

Oddometer: 123
If track time is definitely in your future, I'd stick with one of the Ducatis. Motorcycles aren't rational purchases, so I tend to follow my heart.

Mike
To paraphrase Antoine de St-Exupery
I ride because it releases my mind from the tyranny of petty things.