Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 07-14-2013, 07:53 AM   #1
Centurion210 OP
Attitude Indicator

Oddometer: 84
2014 GSW Getting a Steering Damper as Standard Equipment!

How many of you '13 GSW Owners think that the bike needed a steering damper in the first place? Based on my test ride, the bike was very nimble and 'light on its feet' but I did not feel like it needed a damper. Just curious.
Centurion210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 09:57 AM   #2
Tonopah
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 457
I have just short of 6,000 miles on my GSW (mixed use) and have not felt the need for a steering stabilizer BUT, if BMW thinks they need one, then I hope whatever they produce can be retrofitted to the 2013s.
Old 07-14-2013, 10:40 AM   #3
DMilan
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 470
I do.

Only 2 test rides...
I'm no expert.

1. Felt LIGHT to me on test rides...

2. I've read of a couple/few complaints and seen a you tube review which mention handlebar wobble or some such issue.

3. There's a video circulating around of a gent thumping the right grip on GSWC as he motors down the road @ 60 mph. As I recall, his intent is to speak of the difference between light steering and instability. Shows the handlebar sort of oscillate as the steering centers and stabilizes from the thump of his palm hitting the grip. That oscillation is certainly a characteristic that neither my 2003 K1200GT w-stabilizer or my 2012 Suzuki DL650 without stabilizer exhibit.

my .02
Yeah, I think it may benefit from a steering damper.

I should add, to lessen the flaming, overall I like the bike, might buy one.

d'milan

DMilan screwed with this post 07-14-2013 at 10:49 AM
DMilan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 10:44 AM   #4
Centurion210 OP
Attitude Indicator

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tonopah View Post