ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Regional forums > Australia
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-22-2013, 02:30 AM   #1
JohnG. OP
Beastly Adventurer
 
JohnG.'s Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Location: Tumbarumba, NSW at the foot of the snowies
Oddometer: 1,940
SCA fuses

SCA fuses,their quality varies...

__________________
JohnG.
JohnG. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 03:58 AM   #2
gavo
Slacker
 
gavo's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Gympie QLD
Oddometer: 1,784
Had this problem also.Melted the fuse holder as well.
gavo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 04:53 AM   #3
PBee
______________
 
PBee's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Kersbrook
Oddometer: 8,719
Everything I see in that photo is wrong, did the fuse do all of that?
__________________


QUORN SCHNITZEL CLUB Est 2011.
When in the FLINDERS RANGES SA stay at the
ANGORICHINA VILLAGE

PBee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 04:37 PM   #4
crash n bern
Beastly Adventurer
 
crash n bern's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2007
Location: Brisbane Oztrailia
Oddometer: 1,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by PBee View Post
Everything I see in that photo is wrong, did the fuse do all of that?

Well put.
__________________
*Crash testing motorcycles since 1972.
crash n bern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 05:47 PM   #5
dnrobertson
Big Bike, Slow Rider
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: Frankston, Australia
Oddometer: 781
Quote:
Originally Posted by PBee View Post
Everything I see in that photo is wrong, did the fuse do all of that?
For the purpose of education, could you detail what is wrong in the photo?
__________________
David

2005 KTM 640A
2008 Wee-Strom
dnrobertson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 06:25 PM   #6
Andy_P
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Location: Brisbane
Oddometer: 446
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnG. View Post
SCA fuses,their quality varies...

I would say that its not a fuse issue, but rather a design issue. The fuse is designed to blow when it gets over a certain current. If it sits just under that, it gets hot, but not quite hot enough to melt the fuse material.

You will also see the same issue when the contacts in the fuse holder are dirty/corroded or the contacts are underrated. Possibly a combination of the 2.
__________________
“The purpose of education is not to validate ignorance but to overcome it”
― Lawrence M. Krauss
Andy_P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 06:28 PM   #7
Warin
Retired
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Oddometer: 1,958
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnrobertson View Post
For the purpose of education, could you detail what is wrong in the photo?
Electrical tape

Possibly wire colour

Solder joint without strain relief

==============
The problem for that fuse holder is poor contact, that combined with current produces heat that has melted the thing.
If you want to avoid this - check the contact pressure - is it hard or easy to insert the fuse? Does it get warm/hot - feel by hand with what ever it powers 'on'.
Warin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2013, 06:38 PM   #8
slowbike smallpenis
Tester of Tooheys Old
 
slowbike smallpenis's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2003
Location: just above Tasmania
Oddometer: 19,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnG. View Post
SCA fuses,their quality varies...

Any rating noted on the fuse base and carrier?
__________________
Im afraid its beyond me
slowbike smallpenis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 02:04 AM   #9
wisejangrae
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2010
Location: Mornington Peninsula
Oddometer: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by andy_p View Post
i would say that its not a fuse issue, but rather a design issue. The fuse is designed to blow when it gets over a certain current. If it sits just under that, it gets hot, but not quite hot enough to melt the fuse material.

You will also see the same issue when the contacts in the fuse holder are dirty/corroded or the contacts are underrated. Possibly a combination of the 2.
+ 1
wisejangrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 02:21 AM   #10
PBee
______________
 
PBee's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Kersbrook
Oddometer: 8,719
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warin View Post
Electrical tape

Possibly wire colour

Solder joint without strain relief

==============
The problem for that fuse holder is poor contact, that combined with current produces heat that has melted the thing.
If you want to avoid this - check the contact pressure - is it hard or easy to insert the fuse? Does it get warm/hot - feel by hand with what ever it powers 'on'.
+ 1 wire looks like it melted the insulation & is insulated with black tape.

I'd rip it all apart & start again. Top of the list after that would be to measure the current draw.
__________________


QUORN SCHNITZEL CLUB Est 2011.
When in the FLINDERS RANGES SA stay at the
ANGORICHINA VILLAGE

PBee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 02:28 AM   #11
klx_dude
Gnarly Adventurer
 
klx_dude's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Oddometer: 101
Use heat shrink instead of insulation tape. Alot neater and easier to get a nice clean look that will last longer

Sent from my GT-I9300T using Tapatalk 2
klx_dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 03:03 AM   #12
muncher850
Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Oddometer: 14
same problem

had the same problem , burnt out fuse block , cheap chinese fuses not blowing at the rated specifcations , checked the packet of fuses all blade fuses seem to have the same size wire (guage ) for different amperage , threw them out and bought Brand name , no problems since
muncher850 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 04:17 AM   #13
Andy_P
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Sep 2012
Location: Brisbane
Oddometer: 446
Quote:
Originally Posted by muncher850 View Post
all blade fuses seem to have the same size wire (guage ) for different amperage
scientific observation?

Not saying they are all good, but often the differences are subtle.

I have seen the damage in the photo many times, with high quality fuses. I just wonder what that fuse is for, because 9 times out of 10 you see that in headlight wiring.
__________________
“The purpose of education is not to validate ignorance but to overcome it”
― Lawrence M. Krauss
Andy_P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 07:28 PM   #14
sidecarcrazy
grandad in gladstone
 
sidecarcrazy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Aussie Land
Oddometer: 178
Grey tape

Is that grey tape "metallised duct tape" ?
Seen plenty of builders use it on building sites and the tape can become 'LIVE'
You should use 'insulation tape'

my 2 cents worth
sidecarcrazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 04:24 AM   #15
itsgunnahurt
Gravity Enhanced!
 
itsgunnahurt's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Location: Melbourne, AUS
Oddometer: 1,922
Did you follow the correct application chart?
__________________
I hate it when the voices in my head go silent...
˙˙˙buıuuɐןd ǝɹɐ sɹǝʞɔnɟ ǝsoɥʇ ʇɐɥʍ ʍouʞ ɹǝʌǝu ı
itsgunnahurt is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 11:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014