ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Old's Cool > 2 smokers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-30-2013, 08:20 PM   #1
YamahaCT3 OP
Adventurer
 
YamahaCT3's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Oddometer: 13
1974 Yamaha DT360A Can you single wire?

Can you single wire it like the rest of the older bikes? noticed it has a pulser thing instead... Looking to buy one and rats ate wires. was thinking single wire from stator too coil?
YamahaCT3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 11:29 PM   #2
Twin-shocker
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Oddometer: 1,673
No you cant single wire a CDI ignition bike. Wiring is very simple though, so should be easy to replace missing wires to CDI unit and HT coil.
Twin-shocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 12:57 AM   #3
YamahaCT3 OP
Adventurer
 
YamahaCT3's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Oddometer: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twin-shocker View Post
No you cant single wire a CDI ignition bike. Wiring is very simple though, so should be easy to replace missing wires to CDI unit and HT coil.
There a way to convert to points?
YamahaCT3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 01:00 AM   #4
YamahaCT3 OP
Adventurer
 
YamahaCT3's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Oddometer: 13
Pulsers are expensiveeee
YamahaCT3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 01:15 AM   #5
tHEtREV
Captain Awesome
 
tHEtREV's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Middle Park, Brisbane, Australia
Oddometer: 7,070
Possibly.

The 250 was points and might be interchaingable.

I converted my 76 DT250 to CDI by swapping the stator, rotor and CDI stuff from a 76 DT 250.

It was a straight swap so it should go the other way.
__________________
tEAM iDIOT.

KDX Super Fan!

My Spot HERE (active and on a trip).
tHEtREV is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 02:37 AM   #6
YamahaCT3 OP
Adventurer
 
YamahaCT3's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Oddometer: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by tHEtREV View Post
Possibly.

The 250 was points and might be interchaingable.

I converted my 76 DT250 to CDI by swapping the stator, rotor and CDI stuff from a 76 DT 250.

It was a straight swap so it should go the other way.
Reason i ask is i'm very good at points lol cdi not so much. I'm hoping all mine will work. bike has rebuilt topend and extra jug. comes with 3 carbs!! says rats ate the wiring. had the guy in my phone for about a year now and its just been sitting. wants $270 and its pretty clunky no light or anything . i really want a bigger vintage bike to take to the track and ramp. took my ct but i would be more comfy on a dt250 (nice power)but i know of this 360 so why not right? My ct3 did however smoke my brothers 2004 ktm125 lol
YamahaCT3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 03:15 AM   #7
stainlesscycle
Beastly Adventurer
 
stainlesscycle's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2008
Location: morgantown, wv
Oddometer: 2,109
Quote:
Originally Posted by YamahaCT3 View Post
My ct3 did however smoke my brothers 2004 ktm125 lol
something is wrong with your brothers ktm 125. 04 125 should make twice the hp of a ct3.. rewiring a cdi is pretty easy - a few wires to cdi, 2 wires to coil, 1 wire to kill switch.
__________________
current bikes
07 gasgas xc300-94 duc 900ss-86 morini camel (2)-84 IT200-83 IT175-78 guzzi lm1-77 pursang 250-76 morini 3 1/2 strada-76 frankentaco pursang 200-74 frankentaco pursang 200-74 morini 3 1/2 sport-74 mz ts250/0-74 puch 175 (3)-73 can-am 175tnt-71 guzzi frankeneldo-71 ossa Stiletto-70 frankentaco sherpa s(2)-66 morini corsarino(2)-63 morini corsaro + many more
stainlesscycle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 06:38 AM   #8
Twin-shocker
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Oddometer: 1,673
Quote:
Originally Posted by YamahaCT3 View Post
There a way to convert to points?

You can convert to points pretty easily. But you will need a stator, flywheel and HT coil, so I would guess it might be a very good idea to rewire the CDI system, and see if it works before thinking of changing to points?
Twin-shocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 02:04 PM   #9
YamahaCT3 OP
Adventurer
 
YamahaCT3's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Oddometer: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by stainlesscycle View Post
something is wrong with your brothers ktm 125. 04 125 should make twice the hp of a ct3.. rewiring a cdi is pretty easy - a few wires to cdi, 2 wires to coil, 1 wire to kill switch.
Lol yes there is it's got 100 psi in the topend hahahahaha. I'v rode alot longer then him though and i think that made a difference. Also i will most definitely rewire it and find out before swap over. Also i beat my brother on my ct in drag racing! i hit about 75 i think! i have road gears on it right now so its long geared (custom setup) either way i still land the biggest tabletop they had!
YamahaCT3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 02:06 PM   #10
YamahaCT3 OP
Adventurer
 
YamahaCT3's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2013
Oddometer: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by stainlesscycle View Post
something is wrong with your brothers ktm 125. 04 125 should make twice the hp of a ct3.. rewiring a cdi is pretty easy - a few wires to cdi, 2 wires to coil, 1 wire to kill switch.
And hold on a minute who needs a kill switch?
YamahaCT3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014