ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-31-2013, 06:23 PM   #1
geotherm OP
Adventurer
 
geotherm's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 88
garmin zumo 550 not recognizing when in cradle

My Garmin Zumo 550 charges via usb and the home/wall charger, but doesn't work on the bike/cradle anymore. I took it to BMW shop and put on another Zumo 550 cradle and it didn't recognize it either(wouldn't turn on or prompt to 'run on battery power' when removed either). I've tried soft and hard reset - neither affected. Anyone have a suggestion?
geotherm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 07:20 PM   #2
Garp
Beastly Adventurer
 
Garp's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: Newtown, CT
Oddometer: 2,440
Clean the contacts on the underside of the Zumo. A pencil eraser may well do the trick
Garp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 05:52 AM   #3
geotherm OP
Adventurer
 
geotherm's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 88
thanks Garp. I tried that as well as contact cleaner. I think the zumo is tango uniform.
geotherm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 07:43 AM   #4
WoodButcher
Beastly Adventurer
 
WoodButcher's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Oddometer: 2,045
Well, if it still works in the car mount then you still have a good unit for the cage.
__________________
Rusty

2009 BMW R1200GS Adventure
1999 DR650
WoodButcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 07:52 AM   #5
Spirit_Rider
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Spirit_Rider's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Boring state of Illinois
Oddometer: 228
Mine is the opposite. It works on the bike but it is iffy in the car. Sometimes in the car the fuel gauge works.
Spirit_Rider is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 07:58 AM   #6
Albie
Kool Aid poisoner
 
Albie's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Location: NWA
Oddometer: 9,250
Mine did the same think a couple years ago. Had to go the refurb replacement route.
__________________
Good. Bad. I'm the guy with the gun.

Another day, another foot injury!
Albie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 01:41 PM   #7
geotherm OP
Adventurer
 
geotherm's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Location: Atlanta
Oddometer: 88
problem solved. I just bought my dad's zumo 665 for $300.
geotherm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 09:37 AM   #8
Spirit_Rider
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Spirit_Rider's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Boring state of Illinois
Oddometer: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Albie View Post
Mine did the same think a couple years ago. Had to go the refurb replacement route.
That's my plan for this winter. Is it still $150?
Spirit_Rider is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 07:23 AM   #9
McRuss
Gnarly Adventurer
 
McRuss's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: Texas Hill Country
Oddometer: 246
Just saw this thread. My 550 did the exact same thing on my AK trip. Sent it off to a guy in MN who fixed it for $55 including shipping. Almost did the $150 Garmin option, glad I didn't.
__________________
"Guns are a lot like parachutes - if you need one and don't have one, you probably will never need one again." unknown

Colorado native, doin' time in Texas
McRuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2013, 07:29 AM   #10
dougfromindy
I smell premix
 
dougfromindy's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Indpls, IN Lexington, MI
Oddometer: 2,259
my 550 will not power up

noob here with noob ?s...
My zumo 550 worked perfectly then does NOT power up.
I get nothing on screen.
I let it charge in truck for a 6 hour drive, still nothing.
tried 2 seperate cradles, its dead.
How do you re-set it?
Whats my next step?
new gadget to me here.
thanks, Doug
dougfromindy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 03:16 PM   #11
acejones
Beastly Adventurer
 
acejones's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2005
Location: MS. Gulf Coast
Oddometer: 5,058
Quote:
Originally Posted by McRuss View Post
Just saw this thread. My 550 did the exact same thing on my AK trip. Sent it off to a guy in MN who fixed it for $55 including shipping. Almost did the $150 Garmin option, glad I didn't.
Who's the MN guy ?
__________________
I got tired of being here, so now I'm there
acejones is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014