ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-01-2013, 05:46 PM   #1
atomizer OP
Be here now
 
atomizer's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Dixon, New Mexico
Oddometer: 280
60CSx and TAT tracks help

Total GPS newb here.
I have a 60CSx and am heading out to do the Western TAT in a couple weeks. We bought the TAT tracks from Sam (.qdb file). I downloaded basecamp and imported Sam's files, then uploaded them to my Garmin unit.
Like I said, I'm a total newbie and can't find the files on the 60CSx anywhere.
Is there a very simple tutorial that deals with this issue?
I just want to be able to follow the tracks to Oregon :)
Any help would be awesome.A
atomizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 05:55 PM   #2
Countdown
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: Carson City/Ridgecrest
Oddometer: 5,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by atomizer View Post
I have a 60CSx We bought the TAT tracks from Sam (.qdb file). I downloaded basecamp and imported Sam's files, then uploaded them to my Garmin unit. can't find the files on the 60CSx anywhere.

Is there a very simple tutorial that deals with this issue?
First, not sure how compatible Basecamp is with 60Cx, it is meant for new genertation units. You may be better off with MapSource.

Second, unlike new units, "files" don't download to 60, only actual tracks. You will see them on the "Tracks" page. Not sure if BC will do that.

Third, 60Cx will only take 20 tracks of 500 points each. Not sure how many you have and how many points. That is plenty of points bukt you may have to filter what you got to make fit. I would think Sam give high resolution tracks for new units.

Fourth, I would go to my web site, (DualSportWest.com) and set up you 60Cx per my tips.
__________________
Jerry Counts
Countdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 07:54 AM   #3
atomizer OP
Be here now
 
atomizer's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Dixon, New Mexico
Oddometer: 280
Thanks..

Thanks for the info. I'll be checking out your site tonight...
atomizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 08:48 AM   #4
wbbnm
Beastly Adventurer
 
wbbnm's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: Abq NM
Oddometer: 1,980
You can effectively increase the 20 track limit by creating Direct routes with lots of via points. I think Direct routes can have up to 250 via points. (As opposed to self-routing routes which are limited to 50 points).

But you can only see the route if you select it for navigation in the Routes menu.

If you are going to carry a small computer with you, you can upload new tracks as needed.
wbbnm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014