ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-03-2013, 08:41 PM   #1
CondorWings OP
Second Wind
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Oddometer: 21
On/Off toggle switch for 990 Adv ABS?

Has anyone come up with a way to manually switch the ABS on a 990 Adventure? I ride a lot of dirt with pavement stretches in between. I want to be able to turn the ABS back on without having to turn off the ignition and reset the ECU. Also, if (when) the bike stalls in a tricky dirt section it's a pain in the butt to disable the ABS while in the predicament that made me stall!

A plain old ON/OFF switch would be so sweet!

Any advice would be appreciated!
__________________
2012 KTM 990 Adventure
CondorWings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 08:47 PM   #2
Whec716
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Spring, Texas
Oddometer: 112
put a rekluse auto clutch in and don't worry about stalling again.
__________________
If you know anyone looking to buy, sell or rent Real Estate in the Houston area. I'd appreciate the chance to earn your business. www.har.com/chriskrafcik
Whec716 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 09:51 PM   #3
CondorWings OP
Second Wind
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Oddometer: 21
Cool2 funny

Quote:
put a rekluse auto clutch in and don't worry about stalling again.
Funny... but that won't help me turn the ABS back on when I hit the highway.
__________________
2012 KTM 990 Adventure
CondorWings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 10:57 PM   #4
OldDog
Smelly Adventurer type
 
OldDog's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Mudgee, Australia
Oddometer: 4,354
Condor, I have a 09 model and the previous owner fitted an ABS off switch on the dash. The way I understand it he splaced the switch into the rear abs sensor wire, when its switched off the abs detects a difference between the front and rear bwheel speeds and disables the ABS. You can't just turn it back on though, you have to switch the ABS back on and restart the bike. As long as the ABS switched off you can restart and the ABS will stay switched off.

Hope that helps

Bill
__________________
“Your time is limited, so don't waste it living someone else's life.” - Steve Jobs

“Yesterday afternoon I was planning to ride Dakar, this morning I was planning to throw up in my helmet” - Boris Mihailovich
OldDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 11:41 PM   #5
bikyto
Dans le doute...gaz!
 
bikyto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Cali
Oddometer: 2,140
+1 on the switch by cutting the rear wheel abs sensor. Very easy.

Or you could go with a low cost solution by adding a spacer on the rear wheel abs sensor so that it doesn't pick up the ring it will send an error to the abs box and turn it off.
__________________
The race is long and, in the end, it's only with yourself...
bikyto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 11:48 PM   #6
Masa
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Masa's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: F1nland
Oddometer: 295
Pull the clutch in and hit shortly the start button to switch the ABS back on.
Masa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 11:51 PM   #7
bikyto
Dans le doute...gaz!
 
bikyto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Cali
Oddometer: 2,140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Masa View Post
Pull the clutch in and hit shortly the start button to switch the ABS back on.
Yep, works like described. :)
__________________
The race is long and, in the end, it's only with yourself...
bikyto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 10:32 AM   #8
Bronco3738
Mike
 
Bronco3738's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Just South of Phoenix, Arizona
Oddometer: 496
Easiest place to tap in your switch is under the seat. Trace the rear ABS sensor wire to the point where it goes to the ABS pump. Remove the pump cover, cut one of the two sensor wires. Splice in two wires, run those to a convenient place on your dash, wire in and mount your switch. Test an enjoy riding without fear of ABS ruining a great dirt ride.
__________________
2009 KTM 990

Honeymoon Ride Report

Crazy Europeans Tour Utah
Bronco3738 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 10:47 AM   #9
FakeName
Wile E Coyote SuperGenius
 
FakeName's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: San Diego
Oddometer: 1,718
Quote:
Originally Posted by bikyto View Post
Yep, works like described. :)
Does this gnash the starter?
__________________
ADVdiscount Motorcycle Product Photography


2011 White 990 Adv S
2014 500EXC Black
FakeName is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 10:58 AM   #10
Peanuts
Beastly Adventurer
 
Peanuts's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Oddometer: 1,479
Why not put a switch in line from the fuse? I pull my ABS fuse when going off road, no need to mess about pressing buttons then....
Peanuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 11:17 AM   #11
knobbyjoe
knobbyjoe
 
knobbyjoe's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2008
Location: N by NW of The Biggest Little City
Oddometer: 468
I use to worry about the ABS and turned it off but I found my self often forgetting to do so. Being the experimental type I decided to try and train myself to use the ABS all the time. I have practiced going down steep rocky hill etc and now think the ABS is helpful.

I think the problem is when the ABS does it's thing and the rider gets surprised makes for the OH' shiit moments. I have had a few. Anyway I am still riding the 990 with ABS on full time and feel comfortable off road and don't get surprised and am at peace with the system. I even have myself convinced the ABS helps even in the dirt.

Just another way to look at it.
__________________
KTM 400 XCRW with Thumper Racing 450 kit and 450 cam 2007
KTM 450 XCRW with Christini AWD and Plated 2008 now has 520 Thumper Racing kit
KTM 990 Adventure 2008

knobbyjoe screwed with this post 08-04-2013 at 12:26 PM
knobbyjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 12:58 PM   #12
Denalidirt
High Plains Drifter
 
Denalidirt's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Location: Denali, Ak.
Oddometer: 828
I have to disagree

I have both a 950 non abs and a 990 w/abs. Same type of riding the non abs model stops sooner and allows more control when under heavy braking in the dirt.
Denalidirt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 01:37 PM   #13
eebrumfi
eebrumfi
 
eebrumfi's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Location: Huntington, WV
Oddometer: 52
http://advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=589847
__________________
-2012 KTM 990 Adventure-
-A DRUNKEN MAN'S WORDS ARE A SOBER MAN'S THOUGHTS-
eebrumfi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 03:25 PM   #14
CondorWings OP
Second Wind
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Oddometer: 21
Thanks Old Dog and everyone else for the advice! I'm going to install a rear speed sensor switch on the dash.

A far as re-setting the ABS goes; would it work to just toggle the kill switch quickly? Might be less wear and tear than hitting the starter...

... but then again, sometimes when I restart the bike too quickly (without waiting for the tach needle up and back sweep) the tach readings are way out of whack - reading much lower than what I know to be happening by ear.

I guess I'll have to experiment with this a little.
__________________
2012 KTM 990 Adventure
CondorWings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 06:19 PM   #15
Bronco3738
Mike
 
Bronco3738's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Just South of Phoenix, Arizona
Oddometer: 496
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peanuts View Post
Why not put a switch in line from the fuse? I pull my ABS fuse when going off road, no need to mess about pressing buttons then....
Then you have no speedometer or odometer. Speedo not really needed but its nice to know how far you've gone and about how much further you can go before you're out of gas.

And a switch is way easier then digging for the fuse.
__________________
2009 KTM 990

Honeymoon Ride Report

Crazy Europeans Tour Utah
Bronco3738 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014