ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush > Crazy-Awesome almost Dakar racers (950/990cc)
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-28-2014, 05:55 PM   #1
flyinturbo OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Oddometer: 54
Rigid light bar

I purchased my KTM 990 a bit over a year ago from a private party. The previous owner drilled small holes and installed low power LEDs in the lower cowl just below the screen on the very front of the bike. They looked lame, so I took them off but now I have a bunch of holes there! I have been considering installing a 10" rigid light bar between the forks and cutting out the bottom of the cowl where the holes are. Has anyone done this? How far did you need to cut up into the screen to get the light bar to fit and still allow full suspension travel?
flyinturbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2014, 01:20 AM   #2
rossguzzi
990 Adv.
 
rossguzzi's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Bottom left hand side of OZ
Oddometer: 878
THey make a 6 inch that I am thinking of. You sure 10 inch ?
__________________
990 Adv 06, Aprilia Tuono 03 Racing gen 1
rossguzzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2014, 01:24 AM   #3
EZ300
Studly Adventurer
 
EZ300's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: ARIDZONA
Oddometer: 981
A buddy did it on his 990.
He used a 8" light bar. As you can see there is room for a bigger light.






__________________
EZ
AMRA
2007 KTM 990 Adventure
2010 KTM 530 XC-W Six Days
www.rockstarsmc.com
EZ300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2014, 02:01 AM   #4
bikyto
Dans le doute...gaz!
 
bikyto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Cali
Oddometer: 2,154
I have the 6 inch lighybar in the cowl and it doesn't interfere with the suspension travel (S spec) even at full lock.
The 8 inch wouldn't fit on mine.

Very happy with it.
__________________
The race is long and, in the end, it's only with yourself...
bikyto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2014, 08:03 AM   #5
1Bonehead
Fearless of Falling
 
1Bonehead's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2010
Location: Marylanstain
Oddometer: 1,071
I got this from CJ designs. Brackets and all.
1Bonehead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2014, 08:32 AM   #6
bikyto
Dans le doute...gaz!
 
bikyto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Cali
Oddometer: 2,154
[QUOTE=1Bonehead;23806896]I got this from CJ designs. Brackets and a/QUOTE]

+1
I helped develop the bracket with Craig. Very happy.
__________________
The race is long and, in the end, it's only with yourself...
bikyto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 01:58 PM   #7
Wookie97
Wow!That was close.
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Oddometer: 28
I've been looking at this same idea for a few months now. My bike is not the R model so I still have the ABS controller in that spot to deal with. The Rigid 6 or 10 inch lit bar looks like it might fit but not sure. Anyone have any mounting tips to contend with the ABS unit?
__________________
Warning Labels are only Recommendations!!!
Wookie97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 04:12 PM   #8
bikyto
Dans le doute...gaz!
 
bikyto's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Northern Cali
Oddometer: 2,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wookie97 View Post
I've been looking at this same idea for a few months now. My bike is not the R model so I still have the ABS controller in that spot to deal with. The Rigid 6 or 10 inch lit bar looks like it might fit but not sure. Anyone have any mounting tips to contend with the ABS unit?
The abs unit is under the seat. Are you referring to the ECU? You don't need to move the ECU to install the light bar. Only two brackets are needed to hold the light and it's all good.
__________________
The race is long and, in the end, it's only with yourself...

bikyto screwed with this post 03-31-2014 at 12:17 AM
bikyto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2014, 04:19 PM   #9
Wookie97
Wow!That was close.
 
Joined: Dec 2011
Oddometer: 28
Sorry yes that is correct. THE ECU in in that slot and not the ABS. Don't know what I was thinking of.

Thanks
__________________
Warning Labels are only Recommendations!!!
Wookie97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2014, 12:52 AM   #10
flyinturbo OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Oddometer: 54
D2 Dually

Got the spot and wide beam D2 Dually lights installed this evening. Haven't ridden it yet as the tank and cowling is still off but I did do a little video of the difference this mod makes. I'm sure a number of people have done this already so this video probably has been repeated a few times!

I'm pretty certain that I'm going to put a 10" light bar on the bike next. I love light and that'll probably be a bit over kill but I'm fine with that. HAH!
flyinturbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2014, 04:49 AM   #11
gefr
Life is a trip
 
gefr's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: East Med, Greece
Oddometer: 3,804
If a light bar is installed with blackdog's base

under the headlight at the triple clamp, is it going to get squeezed by the low fender, under full compression?
gefr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2014, 09:33 AM   #12
flyinturbo OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Oddometer: 54
Well, I'm imagining the light to be mounted above the MDCW D2s, right where the current screen is now. Looking at full bump on the forks, the fender doesn't come up that far. I'll mean removing the screen and mounting the light just below the existing headlight but I think loosing that screen and having that much more light will be a good thing.
flyinturbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 02:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014