User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 08-21-2013, 03:26 PM   #1
Tylenol OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 112
First post

Hey, new to the forum, my name is Tyler 23 years living, 7 years, going on 8, undead, or married if you prefer.

My latest adventure was a journey from the barn to the end of the field, then back past the barn to the house. Up the drive way, through the puddle of water left from the pool overflow, then back to the end of the field and into the barn for storage. Ok, I just got it running no registration or safety yet but it will come.

As some of you may be able to tell from my "Adventure" I am new to motorcycles. I drove many 3 and 4 wheelers, trucks, suv's 4x4's and side x sides. I like fishing and camping trail riding and exploring remote areas. My current bike is a Honda C70 Passport, and it does surprisingly well on light trails. This bike as been in the family for years sitting in a barn before I decided, what the hell, let's get it going. After that I got thinking instead of a 4wheeler, a truck, trailer, registration and insurance for all 3 why not just a bike? My wife likes this idea, and thinks some on/off road trips would be fun.

So as I develop riding skills on my, admittedly super cool over powered monster C70, what kind of bike should I be looking for in the future when I settle down and just require something to get me out with my wife for some fishing camping or trail exploring that can also take on a day trip on Highway that won't be horribly uncomfortable?
I am thinking 250-700cc so I can carry camping gear, about 60lbs, and a folding kayak which packs into usually a duffle sized bag weighing about 60lbs. I doubt I would have both kayak and camping gear at the same time. I don't think this is going to be a tall order, my Honda can carry me and that weight easy enough. Both camping gear and kayak at the same time is pushing it, more so because it becomes hard to balance.