User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 08-30-2013, 10:41 PM   #1
corps_of_discovery OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 19
Southern CA to Central NY, GS noob

Preface. Day -5 or -6. 0 miles today 2700+ to go, I know this is supposed to be “ride” report but I thought background info would make it more authentic. This is my first ride report and my first long distance ride. I have no experience at this so I’m not sure how it will turn out. I have been dreaming of doing something like this for a long time. Knowing that my employment was temporary helped moved these long term goals along quickly. One thing led up to another till all the pieces seemed to have fallen in place. Well sort of… The fact that I am unemployed sooner than I thought has put some added stress to the mix.

However, I keep reminding myself about something I read out a motorcycle book recently, “I care, but not that much”. This motto applies to riding as well as life. Another source of spiritual strength has been The Big Lebowski, I doubt “the dude” or “duderino” would attempt a trip like this but his approach to life seems to make more and more sense to me. Dudeism is regarded as a mock religion and I enjoy that aspect of it. So you might hear some references to that half joking, half genuine, well “thats just my opinion man”. Im also in the middle of Jupiter’s Travels, so I this will be a reference for me. Of course the other book that doesn’t really apply to motorcycles but some broader concepts of life involves Chautauqua. That’s right, I know a lot of ppl hate the book on Zen and Motorcycle maintenance but I find myself bouncing between “classical” and “romantic” approaches and I like philosophy.