ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-11-2013, 04:50 PM   #1
superpimp OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 58
Question choke lever not working anymore

Well lately my SE won t start or start after 5-6 re-starts.
I noticed the choke lever no longer works like it did before.
When i pull the lever wide open or close it during start up there is no rpm changes anymore like before.

The only thing i have done lately is handlebar risers, but cant recall if the problem started before or after this mod or not.

I checked during normal engine operations if the rpm will change while turning the handlebars far left and far right and everything seems fine.

Any clues guys
Thanks
superpimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 05:53 PM   #2
gearheadE30
Studly Adventurer
 
gearheadE30's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Location: Indiana
Oddometer: 768
I'd start by pulling the airbox cover and making sure the choke cable isn't broken or something, and that it's all adjusted properly. When I bought mine the choke cable was so stretched that it only came on half way.
__________________
1986 Yamaha XT350 For Sale
2005.5 KTM 950 Adventure and 2012 KTM 200 XC-W
1991 BMW 318is turbo track car
1989 Chevrolet Caprice Classic Wagon sleeper tow car
3 Months Exploring the US on a 950
gearheadE30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 08:13 PM   #3
Hodgo
TWIN Cylinder ADV
 
Hodgo's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Brisbane
Oddometer: 1,549
Check cables. I was a bit too keen and sprayed brake cleaner over the clutch master cylinder but some made it down the choke cable a glued the slide together where the one cable splits to two.
__________________
Hodgo Spot
My North America Trip
RD07 Africa Twin, KTM 950 Super Enduro
www.facebook.com/KTM950SE
Retired.. CR500E & lots more
Hodgo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 06:51 AM   #4
superpimp OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 58
Thanks i ll check it out!
superpimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 01:37 PM   #5
superpimp OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 58
Ok took the airbox and filter out.
Both cable end are attached to the carbs.I did notice one of the cable is frayed,well i can see some sort of spring threw the tubing
( the tubing is splitted ).
Well i pull the choke full open i do see some sort of tention being applied to the rest of the cable but no luck the choke is still nit being applied.
Guess ill send her in to the dealer for a check or choke cable replacement.
superpimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 01:57 PM   #6
Chuckracer
Jerkus Maximus
 
Chuckracer's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Lowville, NY
Oddometer: 7,614
Grab a 10mm open end and remove it, check it, adjust it and/or replace it yourself. You're right there...
__________________
2005.5 KTM 950 Adventure
Chuckracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 04:07 PM   #7
superpimp OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 58
Y a i could try unscrewing the carb end off.
Im trying to figure out how it works it looks like a plastic elbow fitting whre the cable goes in the carb.
called the dealer he said it was 110$+ taxe if its a choke cable replacement but he said it might not be the source of my problem.
superpimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 04:43 PM   #8
Chuckracer
Jerkus Maximus
 
Chuckracer's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: Lowville, NY
Oddometer: 7,614
How's the adjustment at the handlebar end? Is there room to unscrew the barrel adjuster and take up some of the slack?
__________________
2005.5 KTM 950 Adventure
Chuckracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 05:24 PM   #9
gefr
Life is a trip
 
gefr's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: East Med, Greece
Oddometer: 3,756
I had mine gone overboard

My choke cable was out of its groove. This gave me lots of morning starting problems, till my mechanic discovered it.
Cheers.
gefr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 12:53 PM   #10
DiggerD
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2013
Oddometer: 362
Choke Cable Kinked

The first / last time I checked the valves I left all the cables intact and placed the carbs up in the handle bar area. My 04 is used and it must not have been the first time the carbs were set aside like that. The choke cable was kinked and will not return with the handle. I took the handle off the cable for now and will replace the cable next time in for vavle check or ? ?
It takes quite the pull with fingers to choke on a cool day, but I can see the cable with out the handle to make sure I push the choke off,
DiggerD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 10:13 AM   #11
superpimp OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2012
Oddometer: 58
Well, the ball end of the cable is in the groove of the plastic handle at the handlebar; and the slack seems to spec it says 3mm in the manual.
Ill try taking it off this weekend on the carb end and see if it moves correctly.
superpimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 03:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014