ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks > GPS 101 - Which GPS For Me
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-15-2013, 08:34 AM   #1
jes126 OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: Western PA
Oddometer: 10
Cheap Garmin that accepts routes

I got the list of Garmins that have the ability to receive routes transferred from a computer using either Mapsourse or Base Camp. The list is quite extensive. There are a lot of older Garmins that are available on ebay for $30 or $40 that will accept these routes - for instance, I'm looking at a Nuvi 800 for only $60. I know that it isn't going to be as weatherproof as one made specifically for motorcycles, but my question is, can you input an adventure route, unsing back roads and dirt roads, just like the higher-end GPS's? Is the map in a lower end Garmin as complete as the higher end units? I'm thinking, why spend hundreds of dollars when an older unit, that accepts routes, may work just fine. Anyone have a unit like this?
jes126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 02:33 PM   #2
B1
Carbon-based bipedal
 
B1's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Location: Arse-trailer
Oddometer: 2,950
i don't know the 800 series but i posted here about using the cheap nuvi models.

these are the drawbacks i found:

- not water or dust proof without an appropriate case
- the 1450t and 1490t can only stores 10 routes at once (but i think they can have dozens in memory, just need to import)
- only a few hours on battery charge, you definitely need to hard wire it
- if you like to download your tracklogs after a ride, it only keeps the last 600km or so in memory
- can't have too many points in a custom route so may need to split up longer routes (150 points max from memory?)
- no bells and whistles like camera, mp3 player, photo tagging, built-in microwave oven etc.
- the power socket at the rear needs some support or you'll lose power over bumpy ground.

if it's an old model, i would also add they run slow! i tried a 500 and there was usually quite a lag before the position updated from the satellites, and it took ages to import routes or do anything with it.
B1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 04:51 PM   #3
jes126 OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2011
Location: Western PA
Oddometer: 10
Interesting. Thanks for the info. I have a buddy who has a Nuvi 500 and it seems to work fine - no lag time, etc., but even though they are discontinued, they are still going for about $200. I'll maybe give a cheapie a try, or not - still trying to decide. Thanks again.
jes126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 05:48 PM   #4
sieg
Beastly Adventurer
 
sieg's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Southern Illinois USA
Oddometer: 2,334
Want cheap, this will work, strap it to the handle bar or get the bicycle mount.
https://buy.garmin.com/en-US/US/on-t...prod30025.html
__________________
I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but let's take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself.
Current bikes F800GS-WR250F-Versys-690R-RZ350
sieg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 09:08 PM   #5
mcnut
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Bakersfield CA & Sammamish WA
Oddometer: 1,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by sieg View Post
Want cheap, this will work, strap it to the handle bar or get the bicycle mount.
https://buy.garmin.com/en-US/US/on-t...prod30025.html
For $50 more you can have a GPS that accepts maps and has a screen you can see. I'm cheap to but good grief......

Bruce
mcnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 06:02 AM   #6
sieg
Beastly Adventurer
 
sieg's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Southern Illinois USA
Oddometer: 2,334
50 bucks, hey that's 35% savings
__________________
I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but let's take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself.
Current bikes F800GS-WR250F-Versys-690R-RZ350
sieg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 07:21 AM   #7
mdawg12
Old and Slow
 
mdawg12's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2011
Location: Siloam Springs, Arkansas
Oddometer: 1,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by jes126 View Post
Interesting. Thanks for the info. I have a buddy who has a Nuvi 500 and it seems to work fine - no lag time, etc., but even though they are discontinued, they are still going for about $200. I'll maybe give a cheapie a try, or not - still trying to decide. Thanks again.

I've run a Nuvi 500 and 550 on my bikes and they do fine. Had an issue when riding single track or rough dirt roads because the battery would shake and lose connection. Put a sticky back foam strip on the battery door to hold it firm and solved that.
__________________
2006 KTM 450 EXC - Tagged
2005 BMW R1200GS
2001 BMW F650GS
mdawg12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 02:29 PM   #8
mcnut
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Bakersfield CA & Sammamish WA
Oddometer: 1,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by sieg View Post
50 bucks, hey that's 35% savings
OK then this is $150 + $5 shipping, you'll have to do the math.

http://www.cabelas.com/product/Garmi...c-001b2166c62d

Bruce
mcnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 03:03 PM   #9
shu
...
 
Joined: Feb 2010
Location: Colorado
Oddometer: 964
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdawg12 View Post
I've run a Nuvi 500 and 550 on my bikes and they do fine.
My experience as well. The map base is the same that other units use. I never had any trouble routing on dirt roads, forest service roads, power line roads, farm roads. If anything, the base map is too complete, and will try to route you down tracks that have been abandoned for years.

The Nuvi 500 is waterproof but you might think about waterproofing and vibration proofing your USB power connection. This is what I did to mine (post #2):

http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=672276

..........shu
shu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 03:48 PM   #10
sieg
Beastly Adventurer
 
sieg's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Southern Illinois USA
Oddometer: 2,334
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcnut View Post
OK then this is $150 + $5 shipping, you'll have to do the math.

http://www.cabelas.com/product/Garmi...c-001b2166c62d

Bruce
That's a deal
__________________
I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but let's take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself.
Current bikes F800GS-WR250F-Versys-690R-RZ350
sieg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 04:30 PM   #11
lvscrvs
Studly Adventurer
 
lvscrvs's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: norcal
Oddometer: 608
Quote:
Originally Posted by jes126 View Post
I got the list of Garmins that have the ability to receive routes transferred from a computer using either Mapsourse or Base Camp. The list is quite extensive. There are a lot of older Garmins that are available on ebay for $30 or $40 that will accept these routes - for instance, I'm looking at a Nuvi 800 for only $60. I know that it isn't going to be as weatherproof as one made specifically for motorcycles, but my question is, can you input an adventure route, unsing back roads and dirt roads, just like the higher-end GPS's? Is the map in a lower end Garmin as complete as the higher end units? I'm thinking, why spend hundreds of dollars when an older unit, that accepts routes, may work just fine. Anyone have a unit like this?
I've been using a 755T for the past 4-5 years (can't remember exactly), and it fits your criteria nicely. Actually I mostly use MAPQUEST to create my routes and then send them to the Garmin (even though the unit came with Mapsource). Much more user friendly than the Garmin products, and able to route you on forest service roads, but you have to play around with your map-making a bit to get that to work. I'm using City Navigator only in my Garmin btw. This unit has an audio out so I get turn-by-turn directions through my Autocom into my helmet speakers (very handy, especially since the screen is hard to read in daylight). This unit has survived many rough backroad and dirt roads rides and still keeps tickin' Just cover it with a baggy when the rain comes, or stick it in the tank bag... not a big deal for me. They currently sell on ebay for $40 and up...
__________________
Ginormous Beasts go to the Eastside

Tiger 955i / Yamaha WR250R < Tiger 955i / DRZ400S / R1150GS < FJR1300 < DL1000 < BMW R1100RS < Ducati ST4 < DL650 zzzzz 30+ years zzzzz 125 Honda Elsinore < Suzuki TM250 < Yamaha 90 Enduro < Taco
lvscrvs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 06:36 AM   #12
Bleemus
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2013
Location: Winhall, Vermont
Oddometer: 802
Does the 755t send audio to your headset directly or do you need a dongle for it?
Bleemus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 10:47 AM   #13
sieg
Beastly Adventurer
 
sieg's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: Southern Illinois USA
Oddometer: 2,334
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcnut View Post
OK then this is $150 + $5 shipping, you'll have to do the math.

http://www.cabelas.com/product/Garmi...c-001b2166c62d

Bruce
Thank you for the link mcnut! Got one and a power cord, ram mount, screen saver and SD card for less than $200 shipped. It will save my Zumo from getting beat up on the trails.
__________________
I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but let's take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself.
Current bikes F800GS-WR250F-Versys-690R-RZ350
sieg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 10:09 AM   #14
Bleemus
Studly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2013
Location: Winhall, Vermont
Oddometer: 802
I just picked up a 765T on Ebay for $47. Can hold up to 10 routes but with an SD card full of routes it is easy to delete from unit and load any route you have on the card.
Bleemus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 08:38 PM   #15
lvscrvs
Studly Adventurer
 
lvscrvs's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: norcal
Oddometer: 608
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bleemus View Post
Does the 755t send audio to your headset directly or do you need a dongle for it?
My 755T has a headphone / audio out jack from which I run a hardwire to my Autocom. Autocom is also a cable to the speakers mounted in my helmt.
__________________
Ginormous Beasts go to the Eastside

Tiger 955i / Yamaha WR250R < Tiger 955i / DRZ400S / R1150GS < FJR1300 < DL1000 < BMW R1100RS < Ducati ST4 < DL650 zzzzz 30+ years zzzzz 125 Honda Elsinore < Suzuki TM250 < Yamaha 90 Enduro < Taco
lvscrvs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014