ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-21-2013, 09:06 AM   #16
skandero OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
skandero's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Oddometer: 116
Ta-da! Here I am!
So, the problem was in the faulty sensor. When I stripped her down I saw the oil on the pressure sensor. But anyway tested the pressure with a gauge.
It's 35 psi on idle (1400 rpm) and 42 on 6000 rpm. Right in specs! (0.8 min at idle and 35-50 on 6k).
Pleased, that the orange lady is fine)))

The shitty sensor:


Thanks for the help, guys!

BTW, can anyone tell me, what is "oil pump pressure relief valve"? Or the partnumber. My mechanical english is not enough here, I can't recognise this unit.

skandero screwed with this post 09-21-2013 at 10:23 AM
skandero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 03:26 PM   #17
ICERIDER
Adventure Rider
 
ICERIDER's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Stanley Falkland Islands
Oddometer: 406
Originally Posted by skandero

BTW, can anyone tell me, what is "oil pump pressure relief valve"? Or the partnumber. My mechanical english is not enough here, I can't recognise this unit.


60038010133 PRESSURE PUMP HOUSING CPL

Price: 21.66 (Inc VAT at 20%)
To order, normally sent out in 2-5 days

Or another unofficial name 'oil pressure regulator'.

An official name in the KTM Service Manual is 'bypass valve' which fits in the 'oil pump housing' on page 5-8.

http://www.ktm950.info/how/Orange%20...acing_opr.html/>Here is a nice piece on servicing the bypass valve.
__________________
950 SE
WR250R
950 ADV
__________________
950 SE
WR250R
950 ADV
ICERIDER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 04:01 PM   #18
skandero OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
skandero's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Oddometer: 116
ICERIDER, the link is broken (is this the link form the second post in my thread?), but I understood, what You ment. Exactly the same I thought. Looks like I'm not so dumb as I mean))
skandero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 07:28 PM   #19
ICERIDER
Adventure Rider
 
ICERIDER's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Stanley Falkland Islands
Oddometer: 406
Abudgeggggg! Sorry to nomad guy for fudging his link and knowledge! I knew I'd seen it somewhere and didn't check your other page. Yes that's the one. Looking on a UK shop it shows the part as an assembly with the new part number I showed you. Quite a low price I think too. If I was doing work on the engine I would replace that part at that price and revive the oil pressure.

How did you check the oil pressure anyway? If you managed to do that and you ride a KTM you are't dumb Amigo !!!
__________________
950 SE
WR250R
950 ADV
ICERIDER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 11:17 AM   #20
skandero OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
skandero's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Oddometer: 116
Will post the report in 24h))) I've took some photos especially for ADVrider brothers)

UPD. That's easy to measure the pressure.
I used the adapter from the gauge kit called "AIST", the russian tool manufacturer (BTW: if You need, I can machine the adapter for the metric taps). It is just the same as the pressure sensor, fits extremely cool. The adapter instead of the faulty sensor:
1) the sensor with oil drops(((

2) Adapter in place (when You remove the sensor, there will be a tear of oil, just some drops. I placed a rag under the sensor hole):

3) Oil gauge is connected, it's time to place carbs right here))

4) On the idle

Sorry, no photos on the 6k RPM. But it's cool)

Feel free to ask anything) Hope, this thread helps anyone)))

skandero screwed with this post 09-22-2013 at 11:30 AM
skandero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 01:44 PM   #21
ICERIDER
Adventure Rider
 
ICERIDER's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Stanley Falkland Islands
Oddometer: 406
Very nice pressure test kit! I was thinking about a post an inmate made a few days ago. Suggested attaching a braided oil line from where the sensor fits on the engine and taking it out to somewhere easily accessable. You could then fit the oil pressure sensor (and an oil pressure guage). That way if you carry a spere sensor it's just a 10 minute job to change it. The worry from when the oil pressure light comes on can mess up a trip!
__________________
950 SE
WR250R
950 ADV
ICERIDER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 06:35 PM   #22
Newbusa
Studly Adventurer
 
Newbusa's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: Port Alberni
Oddometer: 558
Why not just leave the sensor out and replace it with a hose to a dash mounted pressure gauge?
__________________
2010 990R Adventurer.
2006 TuonoR
Newbusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 07:30 PM   #23
ICERIDER
Adventure Rider
 
ICERIDER's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Stanley Falkland Islands
Oddometer: 406
Would be good to retain the oil pressure warning light, and have a guage as well.

A good thread HERE on guages etc.
__________________
950 SE
WR250R
950 ADV
ICERIDER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2013, 09:15 PM   #24
skandero OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
skandero's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Oddometer: 116
Yes, I plan to leave both the "idiot light" (and place it right in the line of view, somewhere on the windscreen top) and the pressure gauge.
Quote:
taking it out to somewhere easily accessable
- it's a good idea. The winter is long, I think, I will do this)
skandero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 06:02 AM   #25
ICERIDER
Adventure Rider
 
ICERIDER's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Stanley Falkland Islands
Oddometer: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by skandero View Post
Yes, I plan to leave both the "idiot light" (and place it right in the line of view, somewhere on the windscreen top)
I'm expecting one of these LED's in red any day. I plan to mount it on my SE in line of sight as an oil pressure warning light repeater.
__________________
950 SE
WR250R
950 ADV
ICERIDER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 04:09 PM   #26
pdxmotorhead
Studly Adventurer
 
pdxmotorhead's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Portland OR
Oddometer: 572
Some of the aftermarket gauges have the idiot lights integrated, so all you need is the sensor and the gauge has a adjustable low pressure set-point, autometer comes to mind...

Dave
__________________
Guns are like parachutes
If you need one and don't have it
You will never need one again
pdxmotorhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 07:44 AM   #27
Alleycatdad
Unbunch yer panties!
 
Alleycatdad's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: True Norcal, not that Bay Area/Sacto Crap...
Oddometer: 1,406
Quote:
Originally Posted by ICERIDER View Post
I'm expecting one of these LED's in red any day. I plan to mount it on my SE in line of sight as an oil pressure warning light repeater.
How exactly are you planning on wiring this? It'd be anice thing to have.

SA
__________________
When in doubt, PIN IT! It may not help, but it'll sure end the suspense...
Wretched Exce$$ See ADVr's around the world-ADV spotwalla page
Riding Wretched Wretched Passes
Bad decisions make good stories.
Alleycatdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 08:40 AM   #28
skandero OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
skandero's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Oddometer: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alleycatdad View Post
How exactly are you planning on wiring this? It'd be anice thing to have.

SA
Yes, please, if You have exact idea. I thought about welding the parallel wiring from the sensor, but it not seems to be a simple/reliable solution. But I don't want to cut off the native wiring harness...
skandero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 04:09 PM   #29
ICERIDER
Adventure Rider
 
ICERIDER's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Stanley Falkland Islands
Oddometer: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alleycatdad View Post
How exactly are you planning on wiring this? It'd be anice thing to have.

SA
OK, First thing is I don't have my SE to hand, it's a few thousand km's away in Santiago, but looking at the wireing diagram I see that there is a single wire going to the oil pressure switch...gn-gr (green-grey). Following that back I see it goes into pin 7 on the Multi Functional Digital Speedometer.

Without seeing whats up there at the moment, Im guessing I'll get access to the gn-gr wire somewhere near the speedo. I plan to break into that wire (cut) and add the LED in series, i.e. the power comes through the standard light, then through the inserted LED, and back into the gn-gr wire to the oil pressure switch. I can't see this causing any malfunction to it's brain unless someone knows differently. It could be that LED's won't work in this way because perhaps they won't carry the current through, in which case just add a normal light such as a tail light, but I'll try it. (Oh! just had a thought, how about a nice little 21W turn light mounted out the side of the mask pointed back at you?)

Choosing the place to cut the wire will depend on where the least strain is on the loom. Could mean finding a better placed run away from the headstock nearer the switch with less stress to make it more reliable.

I plan to do this next week so I'll let you know how it goes.
__________________
950 SE
WR250R
950 ADV
ICERIDER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 07:38 AM   #30
Alleycatdad
Unbunch yer panties!
 
Alleycatdad's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: True Norcal, not that Bay Area/Sacto Crap...
Oddometer: 1,406
Please do!

SA
__________________
When in doubt, PIN IT! It may not help, but it'll sure end the suspense...
Wretched Exce$$ See ADVr's around the world-ADV spotwalla page
Riding Wretched Wretched Passes
Bad decisions make good stories.
Alleycatdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014