ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Regional forums > West California, the desert southwest and whatever is left
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-20-2013, 11:33 AM   #1
George 99 OP
Studly Adventurer

Oddometer: 715
AZ Back Country Discovery Route?

The Back Country Discovery Route web site still sez the AZ route "will be released to the public beginning of 2014." Anyone here have any more info?

I'm new to the off road ADV bunch, still working on my DRZ to get it ready for some ADVenturing. Looking to meet up with the more experienced folks here. My old XT350 never took me too far, hoping to change that with the Zook.
Old 09-20-2013, 03:49 PM   #2
BELSTAFF
ADV NOMAD

Oddometer: 1,040
last word

I talked to the route designers at Overland Expo in may of this year, they had just finished up & came to expo to catch up & for some r&r, any way they said it would be awhile before AZBDR would be released as Butler Maps had to do their thing & the video would have to be edited & put into production form, as soon as those two things come together it will be ready for sale.
Best to keep in touch with Touratech folks as they will be distributors of the AZ package when available.

Also FYI, The AZ State Parks division is in the process of developing a full length mapping of The Great Western Trail, from the Mexican boarder to southern Utah full length of Arizona. This undertaking is being spearheaded by Jeff Prince, Az State Parks OHV coordinator. I know he is actively seeking any help to help map the whole distance & finally get a definitive map of the route

Maybe someone else can chime in w/ any other info

Arizona OHV Ambassador
BELSTAFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 10:19 PM   #3
George 99 OP
Studly Adventurer

Thanks, Belstaff. I tried asking the same question from some of the ADV riders who are more closely linked to the trails in AZ but didn't get any info.