Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-21-2013, 01:24 PM   #1
46er OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 19
Test rode a 2013 R1200GSW...

…that was a mistake.

This is my first post so a quick introduction. I’m fairly new to riding…about 8 years. My first bike was a V-Strom 650 (sold) and I currently have a Tiger 800XC that I love. I ride 90% pavement and 10% gravel/fire roads. I thought my Tiger was the perfect bike until I test rode the GSW.

My impressions of the GSW from the test ride:

The acceleration and braking is in a different league than the Tiger. I took my Tiger out for a ride when I got back and I thought there was something wrong with the throttle and brakes. I really noticed the front-end dive under heaving braking on my bike after riding the GSW. The demo bike did not have ESA or ride modes so I can only imagine the ride would be even better.

The GSW turned in much quicker than my Tiger. In all fairness, the Tiger has a 21” front hoop so that had something to do with it. I was very impressed with the low (and high!) speed handling of the GSW. Even though it’s roughly 50 pounds heavier than my Tiger, it was more maneuverable at slow speeds.

Wind management is also much better on the GSW. The adjustable screen is very useful. I could tell that I would be much more comfortable on long hauls.

The GSW was smoother that I was expecting. Maybe it was due to reading all the threads about the new model’s issues, but I was expecting a pulsing, wobbly and clunky shifting ride. However, I was very impressed with the throttle response, tracking and smooth shifting.