User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 09-25-2013, 01:53 PM   #1
Sabre170 OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 224
Changing tires

Nope, this isn't a thread asking which tire to get.....already bout my tires (got some k70's in my garage waiting for install).

My question may be a very dumb one, however, being a newbie, I want my ignorance to be cleared up.

All my previous motorcycles were tubeless. More so, I was a sport bike rider in my previous life too, thus tire installation perfection was necessary. Any tire change was done at the bike shop. I didn't want to mess with the tubeless install and such.....I'm sure most will agree with my desire to avoid this.

Now, however, I have the difference of having tubed tires. I've changed many of tubed tires on bicycles in my past, but never on a motorcycle....one would think it is a straight forward process.

Is changing a tubed tire truly as intuitive as I want to think it is? I'd hate myself if I took it to the shop and asked a mechanic to swap it if it is uber easy (kinda like asking a mechanic to change a lightbulb).

Is changing a tire and tube truly a user level task? And if so, any special steps, or just treat it like a really big bicycle tire?

Sorry if this is a super dumb question.
Sabre170 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 02:03 PM   #2
MrPulldown
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 2,429
Dude it is just like changing a mt bike tire...

...Except WAY HARDERED.

IMO one should change their own tires. Good practice for when you are out in the woods and get a flat. I do. However I do not think anyone will fault you for taking it into a shop. It is not changing light bulb easy.

Do a search on this topic as there are several very well written "how to's" . I however will throw in some advice:
-get good levers with thin edges on the spoons. At least 3 levers. I have one nice one and two cheap ones.