ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Layin' down tracks
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 10-08-2013, 05:27 PM   #1
jrsue OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2002
Oddometer: 81
Basecamp and Roads and Rec

Will Basecamp recognize The Roads and Recreation maps? I downloaded BC and on the "map dropdown menu" Roads and Rec does not show up there.. Roads and Rec is what i use most of the time for offroading, and snowmobiling. I use all tracks, never Routes.

I am a long time user of Mapsource, Roads and Rec. and multiple 376 units. I just ordered a new Montana(hasn't got here yet), and am realizing I may have to give in to using Basecamp. I wish I could just continue using Mapsource and R.R

Sugestions please
jrsue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 08:57 PM   #2
250senuf
Beastly Adventurer
 
250senuf's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Kootenai, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 2,185
I think there may have been a recent change. As I couldn't recall if RnR showed in Basecamp I fired it up and walked away as it loads slowly. When I came back there was a box saying UPDATE ready to install now? later? I let it update and when that was done I checked the drop down; NO RnR. Basecamp 4.2.3 on a XP laptop. Sure wish I had clicked "apply update later" and checked if RnR was in the dropdown.

So then I fired up my Win 7 netbook without it being hooked up to the Internet. Opened Basecamp and turned off the update options. Basecamp 4.2.2 , RnR shows in the drop down.

I didn't read what this latest update was supposed to fix but I'll leave the natbook with Basecamp 4.2.2 until such time that there is no choice but to update. I really can't recall if RnR ever showed on the XP machine so it may be more than just the different version of Basecamp causing the difference.
__________________
Not all who wonder are confused
250senuf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2013, 09:16 PM   #3
mcnut
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: Bakersfield CA & Sammamish WA
Oddometer: 1,348
I am running a W7 PC with BaseCamp (4.2.3, an update to an existing install) & MapSource (6.16.3). My R&R displays fine in both, no change I can find. My R&R CD was copied to the hard drive and installed from that location so it doesn't have to access the CD drive for content.

Bruce
mcnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 04:43 PM   #4
Timmer
Beastly Adventurer
 
Timmer's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Burien, WA
Oddometer: 2,299
I'm on 4.2.3 on BC as well and can see US Roads & Rec just fine.
__________________
Tim in Burien, WA
'05 R1200GS '03 F650GS
'08 WR250R
'03 Wing
'01 ST1100
Timmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2013, 06:06 PM   #5
250senuf
Beastly Adventurer
 
250senuf's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Kootenai, BC, Canada
Oddometer: 2,185
Think I figured out why mine don't show on XP laptop

Mine probably don't show because the RnR CD is on drive D, a partition that held the language choices. Had I known I would have put the RnR CD on Drive C. Neither drive is all that big.
__________________
Not all who wonder are confused
250senuf is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 06:50 PM   #6
jrsue OP
Adventurer
 
Joined: Jun 2002
Oddometer: 81
I just installed R.R on my harddrive ( previously was run off CD and it wouln't show in BC) and now it shows up in Basecamp. Next question is will basecamp send RR maps to the Montana and does the Montana read/show them. I understand there is no auto routing with RR but until I get hooked up with City Nav this will give me street level detail, if they load.
jrsue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 07:20 PM   #7
Emmbeedee
Procrastinators
 
Emmbeedee's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: Near Ottawa, ON, Canada
Oddometer: 8,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrsue View Post
I just installed R.R on my harddrive ( previously was run off CD and it wouln't show in BC) and now it shows up in Basecamp. Next question is will basecamp send RR maps to the Montana and does the Montana read/show them. I understand there is no auto routing with RR but until I get hooked up with City Nav this will give me street level detail, if they load.
Technically, Basecamp doesn't send maps anywhere. You can make a call to MapInstall from Basecamp, or run MapInstall on its own to send the maps to the device or the uSD card you plan to use in the gps.
__________________
Want to know more about the Garmin Montana? See the Wisdom and FAQ Thread.
Want to know more about the Garmin VIRB? See here.
"The motorcycle, being poorly designed for both flight and marine operation, sustained significant external and internal damage," police noted.
Emmbeedee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 08:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014