ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Orange Crush > Ridiculous streetbikes with 6 CPUs and too much horsepower (1050/1190/1290cc)
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-12-2013, 04:43 PM   #1
FuzzyDunlop OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Melbourne
Oddometer: 233
1190 Adv GPS mount

Hello All

Just traded up from a Tiger 800 XC to the 1190 Adv R and all I can say is HOLY CRAP

Anyway I wont bore you with the size of the grin on mug. I have a Zumo 600 and need a mount for it. Not really interested in shelling out for the Touratech lockable one. Looking at this one though. Anyone have any feedback on this part or any others?
__________________
Currently riding 2013 KTM 1190 Adv R

Check out my blog and let me know what you think
FuzzyDunlop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 05:53 PM   #2
FuzzyDunlop OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Melbourne
Oddometer: 233
The GPS is a Garmin Zumo 660 not a 600 as stated above.
__________________
Currently riding 2013 KTM 1190 Adv R

Check out my blog and let me know what you think
FuzzyDunlop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2014, 10:22 PM   #3
NoSpam
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2014
Location: Kinda depends...
Oddometer: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by FuzzyDunlop View Post
Hello All

Just traded up from a Tiger 800 XC to the 1190 Adv R and all I can say is HOLY CRAP

Anyway I wont bore you with the size of the grin on mug. I have a Zumo 600 and need a mount for it. Not really interested in shelling out for the Touratech lockable one. Looking at this one though. Anyone have any feedback on this part or any others?
Hey Fuzzy - did you ever get feedback or just take the plunge?

Anyone out there with GPS mount insight and advice? I like the look of the Touratech/KTM above-the-gauges but seems they may vibrate and wobble. Is the SW Motech set up legit?

NoSpam screwed with this post 06-01-2014 at 10:50 PM Reason: sp
NoSpam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2014, 12:08 AM   #4
Spayn
Adventurer
 
Joined: Dec 2013
Location: Moscow
Oddometer: 74
I'm using Sw-motech mount. It's great, I like it.
Spayn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2014, 01:34 AM   #5
FuzzyDunlop OP
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2012
Location: Melbourne
Oddometer: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoSpam View Post
Hey Fuzzy - did you ever get feedback or just take the plunge?

Anyone out there with GPS mount insight and advice? I like the look of the Touratech/KTM above-the-gauges but seems they may vibrate and wobble. Is the SW Motech set up legit?
Yeah I did buy it and it did the job but wasnt great. Wobbled about a lot and I rekon the Garmin was obscuring the light sensor on the dashboard. Shortly afterwards my Garmin died and I replaced it with a Samsung S4 smartphone and Otterbox. Not quite as good as the Garmin but 95% as good and does a bunch more than a dedicated GPS.

I ended up removing the mount and using a RAM X-Grip on the handlebars and the ciggy charger. Works a treat. The X-Grip is amazing and grips extremely well. Absolutely no chance of it dropping the phone unless you put the phone in the grip skewed.

The only bad part is the setup is not waterproof, but that hasn't been a problem for me so far.
__________________
Currently riding 2013 KTM 1190 Adv R

Check out my blog and let me know what you think
FuzzyDunlop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2014, 02:01 AM   #6
Davy F
Pro Goolie Fiddler
 
Davy F's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2008
Location: 36th Ulster Divison
Oddometer: 254
I have the SW-Motech GPS mount. Very pleased with it.
http://shop.sw-motech.com/cgi-bin/co...ypid=143541207
__________________
Good luck exploring the infinate abbyss !
Davy F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2014, 02:22 AM   #7
AdvIvan
Rock on!
 
AdvIvan's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2013
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Oddometer: 104
Works like a charm. These days the bar is painted black. The "mount bar" cost me maybe 1 USD and the waterproof iphone holder cost me about 15 USD. Been using it since Sep 2013.
Attached Images
 
AdvIvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2014, 11:51 AM   #8
NoSpam
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2014
Location: Kinda depends...
Oddometer: 170
Very nice Advivan - I, unfortunately, do not share in your creativity and fabrication skills!

Anyone else have the SW Motech mount - seems like it may be the best one.
NoSpam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2014, 08:22 PM   #9
Doug Matson
Beastly Adventurer
 
Doug Matson's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Location: Torrance, Ca.
Oddometer: 1,704
I used a ram ball and 2" arm for my Montana and it works great
__________________
04' 950 Adventure
03' 450 EXC
05' K1200 LT
93' XR 200
72' SL 100
67' Triumph Bonneville
70' CB 350
65' CB 160
Doug Matson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2014, 08:25 PM   #10
coloktmGS
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: SW MO
Oddometer: 261
How did you fix the ram ball to the bike? What ball is that?
coloktmGS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2014, 09:08 PM   #11
DirtJack
Adventurer
 
DirtJack's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Oddometer: 1,366
My setup



is one for an old Zumo and Touratech mount which sits on an Enduro Engineering universal bar mount. I move this setup between all my bikes. No vibes, doesn't block view to other instruments, and is easy to reach.
__________________
Remember, you're reading this on the Internet and it was written by a guy who can remember stuff which never happened.
2014 KTM 1190 Adventure R
2008 KTM 300 XC (plated)
2008 KTM 690 Enduro
DirtJack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 08:22 AM   #12
Bluesilver
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Bluesilver's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2013
Location: South Africa
Oddometer: 331
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdvIvan View Post
Works like a charm. These days the bar is painted black. The "mount bar" cost me maybe 1 USD and the waterproof iphone holder cost me about 15 USD. Been using it since Sep 2013.
I noticed on mine, the screen can't take much torque to it else you will begin to see hairline cracks emanating outwards from the bolt...looks simple enough and effective.
Bluesilver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 08:29 AM   #13
Bluesilver
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Bluesilver's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2013
Location: South Africa
Oddometer: 331
Quote:
Originally Posted by FuzzyDunlop View Post
Hello All

Just traded up from a Tiger 800 XC to the 1190 Adv R and all I can say is HOLY CRAP

Anyway I wont bore you with the size of the grin on mug. I have a Zumo 600 and need a mount for it. Not really interested in shelling out for the Touratech lockable one. Looking at this one though. Anyone have any feedback on this part or any others?
I have them both, the KTM mount with the Touratech Garmin 62S mount, topshelf equipment from Touratech must say.

Bluesilver screwed with this post 09-13-2014 at 03:25 AM
Bluesilver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 09:34 AM   #14
NewToMe
safety 3rd
 
Joined: Apr 2014
Location: Big D
Oddometer: 488
I am using a KTM mount (from KTM Twins) and have been using my Nuvi 2595 held with cable ties. I will mount my Ram holder when it arrives today (plan to use the same KTM mount). This mount is stiff and I did not have any vibration issues on my 300+ mile trip last weekend. I think the 2595 form factor is similar to your 665.

I like the look of the Touratech mount and it might be more secure if you plan on a locking GPS holder.

I would like to find a billet-style permanent clamp mount for the new Garmin before i buy one and risk getting it appropriated on a stop.
NewToMe is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2014, 12:53 PM   #15
NoSpam
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: May 2014
Location: Kinda depends...
Oddometer: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davy F View Post
I have the SW-Motech GPS mount. Very pleased with it.
http://shop.sw-motech.com/cgi-bin/co...ypid=143541207
Hey Davy & NewToMe - Can you post a pic or two of your setup? Say, with and without the GPS unit in its cradle? Also, details of the Ram setup would be great!

I'm trying to figure out if a Garmin Nuvi 52 is "mountable" with the SW Motech/Touratech/KTM system. So far, it seems my Nuvi 52 is a "square peg/round hole" situation for those mounts.

NoSpam screwed with this post 06-03-2014 at 05:27 PM
NoSpam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 12:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014