ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > Road warriors
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-14-2014, 08:15 PM   #931
aerone
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Hwy 28 South Carolina
Oddometer: 371
Don't you simply loosen the set screw, get a spanner and crank down a few threads on the shock? Snug up the locking rings, tighten the set screw and ride... I'm talking about the rear shock of course. No choice on the front.
aerone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 08:57 PM   #932
Tripped1
Likely Lost.
 
Tripped1's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Sandy Eggo
Oddometer: 7,827
Quote:
Originally Posted by aerone View Post
Don't you simply loosen the set screw, get a spanner and crank down a few threads on the shock? Snug up the locking rings, tighten the set screw and ride... I'm talking about the rear shock of course. No choice on the front.
The shock yes.

The fork is another matter, there is no way to change the preload without tearing apart the fork.........so you may as well just change the springs if you need to.


I haven't measured mine up yet, I'm not sure I want to know.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by RottenScummyTroll View Post
Show folks something with a clutch and carburetor, and it's like teaching a baboon to use a Macbook.
Tripped1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 09:06 PM   #933
Pork-Chop Express
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Pork-Chop Express's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2010
Location: Northern VA
Oddometer: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tripped1 View Post
The shock yes.

The fork is another matter, there is no way to change the preload without tearing apart the fork.........so you may as well just change the springs if you need to.


I haven't measured mine up yet, I'm not sure I want to know.
I'm still not sure what KTM was thinking when they omitted the fork preload adjustment on this bike? My 2008 allows you to adjust the fork preload so I have no idea why the 2014 model wouldn't?
Pork-Chop Express is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 10:05 PM   #934
Tripped1
Likely Lost.
 
Tripped1's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Sandy Eggo
Oddometer: 7,827
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pork-Chop Express View Post
I'm still not sure what KTM was thinking when they omitted the fork preload adjustment on this bike? My 2008 allows you to adjust the fork preload so I have no idea why the 2014 model wouldn't?
I was sort of floored by that one myself.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by RottenScummyTroll View Post
Show folks something with a clutch and carburetor, and it's like teaching a baboon to use a Macbook.
Tripped1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 06:34 AM   #935
aerone
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2005
Location: Hwy 28 South Carolina
Oddometer: 371
I'm around 200 lbs in full gear. I set everything a couple of clicks shy of sport and the sag seems to be about right. The only other bike I have that came with one leg doing one thing and the other something else is my 88GS. I put a 950SM front end on it and solved that. Now, my new bike has it. I'm still not complaining, it's a great bike. At 17k it should give you a blow job every time you walk up to it though.
aerone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 06:55 AM   #936
mcskeeto
Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Oddometer: 53
They have "competition" forks in the power parts catalog that I guess have all the adjustments.
__________________
2014 KTM 1290 Superduke R
2014 Ducati 899
2008 DUCATI 848-TRACK
2007 KTM SUPERDUKE-ROAD/2008 YAMAHA R6-TRACK
2012 KTM 350 EXC/2013 Honda CRF 250R
mcskeeto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 07:08 AM   #937
trapperj
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Knoxville, TN
Oddometer: 487
Thought I'd share this ....might save someone else some time & $. The new LED H4 bulbs that are sold through a couple vendors here on adv rider DO NOT WORK on the 1290. I've tried 2 total, from different sellers. Seems the 1290 doesn't like the low draw and gives a bulb out message.

I might be able to deal with that, but the lights also blink on/off on about 1-2 second intervals. Until someone comes up with a work around, buyer beware. Shame too, as it's a clean install, with nice white light. No need for a bulky ballast either, just a bigger bulb that runs off less juice.
trapperj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 07:09 AM   #938
Dagny_Taggart
John Galt - 2014
 
Dagny_Taggart's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Flatlandistand, South West Ohio
Oddometer: 836
Quote:
Originally Posted by trapperj View Post
Thought I'd share this ....might save someone else some time & $. The new LED H4 bulbs that are sold through a couple vendors here on adv rider DO NOT WORK on the 1290. I've tried 2 total, from different sellers. Seems the 1290 doesn't like the low draw and gives a bulb out message.

I might be able to deal with that, but the lights also blink on/off on about 1-2 second intervals. Until someone comes up with a work around, buyer beware. Shame too, as it's a clean install, with nice white light. No need for a bulky ballast either, just a bigger bulb that runs off less juice.
Thanks...damn smart electronics.
__________________
Thanks,
Dagny Taggart
Dagny_Taggart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 07:57 AM   #939
big_sur
Tarded
 
big_sur's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Location: Rocky Mountain Livin
Oddometer: 712
You could probably throw a resistor in

Sent from my SPH-L900 using Tapatalk
__________________
Super Duke Dabbling
big_sur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 09:58 AM   #940
Tripped1
Likely Lost.
 
Tripped1's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Sandy Eggo
Oddometer: 7,827
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcskeeto View Post
They have "competition" forks in the power parts catalog that I guess have all the adjustments.
Yeah, and at KTM prices I'll just go get Ohlins cartridges.

If I got to drop two grand to get a preload adjustment, I'm going to get the real..
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by RottenScummyTroll View Post
Show folks something with a clutch and carburetor, and it's like teaching a baboon to use a Macbook.
Tripped1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 03:57 PM   #941
Roadie
2-Wheels Rule
 
Roadie's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Nor-Cal
Oddometer: 157
Woo Hoo! I just got me one! I called around local dealers and found a demo. Only 374 miles on it.

I have a couple of questions, as it is a demo, the owners manual is coming in the mail, so I am at a loss as to how to set the shocks.
It is very hard to push the bike around the garage, it starts to move and then after an inch or two something locks up and makes pushing it on any kind of incline (or even in the garage) difficult. Is this something with the slipper clutch?
When I put it in gear with the clutch it moves forward like a stallion chomping at the bit, I can tell it wants to move! No insurance until tomorrow, so I am being good and waiting for then to get it out.
TIA.
Roadie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 04:21 PM   #942
trapperj
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Knoxville, TN
Oddometer: 487
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadie View Post
Woo Hoo! I just got me one! I called around local dealers and found a demo. Only 374 miles on it.

I have a couple of questions, as it is a demo, the owners manual is coming in the mail, so I am at a loss as to how to set the shocks.
It is very hard to push the bike around the garage, it starts to move and then after an inch or two something locks up and makes pushing it on any kind of incline (or even in the garage) difficult. Is this something with the slipper clutch?
When I put it in gear with the clutch it moves forward like a stallion chomping at the bit, I can tell it wants to move! No insurance until tomorrow, so I am being good and waiting for then to get it out.
TIA.

Go to KTM USA and follow directions. You can download the owners manual there for free I had one months ago. Hope this helps..
trapperj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 06:26 PM   #943
Dauntless
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Maryland
Oddometer: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadie View Post
It is very hard to push the bike around the garage, it starts to move and then after an inch or two something locks up and makes pushing it on any kind of incline (or even in the garage) difficult. Is this something with the slipper clutch?
When I put it in gear with the clutch it moves forward like a stallion chomping at the bit, I can tell it wants to move!
TIA.
Mine doesn't do that. When in neutral, it is as easy as any other similarly sized bike to push around.
Dauntless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 06:45 PM   #944
trapperj
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Mar 2011
Location: Knoxville, TN
Oddometer: 487
Front break dragging perhaps?

Does it do it in neutral as well?
trapperj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2014, 07:20 PM   #945
Roadie
2-Wheels Rule
 
Roadie's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Nor-Cal
Oddometer: 157
After a little ride around the neighborhood and a warm up, it rolls around fine. What a fun bike! Even not going over 30 I can tell I'm going to love it!
Saweet!
Thanks for the tip on the download.
Roadie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 10:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2015