ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Racing
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-26-2013, 01:26 AM   #1
Mudguts OP
when in doubt GAS IT
 
Mudguts's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Location: Some were in , lostralia
Oddometer: 1,993
Trip master,RNS, ICO, & Roadbook tips and tricks

So we have the Nav tower thread but no dedicated Trip master thread
Lucky for us we have our in house trip master Guru , Tony Schattat
and Road book genius Mr 640 Armageddon

So today I was replacing the battery's in my ICO when I noticed the I can
Stash couple of spare battery's under the battery lid ,

I don't know if this is a Derry every one knows that or
Hey that's a neat tip .
Mudguts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 08:14 AM   #2
wrk2surf
on the gas or brakes
 
wrk2surf's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: THE exact center of California/Bass lake/Yosemite
Oddometer: 6,110
carry or add a spare pick up sensor wire.. thats all I got for now! Good thread idea ! So now all the switch ideas came come to the surface !
__________________
Thanks for the 2014 support:BELL HELMETS, SCOTT USA, Kriega USA, Carbon-pro.com, GPR stabilzers, Renazco Racing, Sidi/Motonation, Masters paint and body, Magura , motolab , Tripy GPS, Loctite and Dunlop tires .
wrk2surf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 12:34 PM   #3
HogWild
Scott Whitney
 
HogWild's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Location: SoCal USA
Oddometer: 2,528
Get some 2032 button cell batteries for $3.43, qty 20, free shipping, no tax, very slow delivery:
http://dx.com/p/2032-x-20-pcs-cell-batteries-751


While you're there, pick up some spare JST connectors that match Tony's Tripmaster and Heading Repeater power cables, $2.70 for qty 10. Tony, you really should use something a bit more rugged than JST connectors with tiny wires, since everything else about your devices is top notch!
http://dx.com/p/jst-cables-10-pair-15234
__________________
.
New desert racing frontiers
It will be Diabolical!
HogWild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 05:23 AM   #4
schattat
Beastly Adventurer
 
schattat's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Oddometer: 1,408
Great thread idea!

HogWold, I admit, they are a 'bit' fragile, but zip tie them properly to your nav-support plate plate and all is good. I haven't really found an alternative solution. Maybe you've got something to share that is easily available, pre-assembled, just solder on to the board and go?

I'd be more than happy to use new power connectors on the new generation of TMs (coming soon )
__________________
RNS - Rallye Navigation Solutions

Yamaha WR450F Rallye Spec
schattat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 11:03 AM   #5
Happe
Offroad Nut
 
Happe's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Wales UK or Switzerland
Oddometer: 675
Well good timing for this thread

I'm currently trying to connect a Trail Tech Remote with an old ICO.


Trailtech has three knobs and four wires.
The ICO Remote (which knobs I hate) has three knobs and three wires.
I can't figure out what the third knob is doing. Actually I know what it is doing but not how.
Does anyone know this?

The Trailtech remote works fine with the top and bottom knob so distance up and down is possible as is switching modes.


Stefan
Attached Images
 
Happe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 11:35 AM   #6
schattat
Beastly Adventurer
 
schattat's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Oddometer: 1,408
Quote:
Originally Posted by Happe View Post
Trailtech has three knobs and four wires.
The ICO Remote (which knobs I hate) has three knobs and three wires.
I can't figure out what the third knob is doing. Actually I know what it is doing but not how.
Does anyone know this?
Stefan, there's an easy trick for a conversion, 2 diodes are what you'll need!
Take the cathode end of a diode, connect it with the + button line, Do the same with the other diode and connect its cathode to the - line. Now, connect both of the other ends of the diodes (their anodes) together on to the third wire (now your mode button), that's all!

To help you understand it better, as you said the ICO remote has 3 buttons and 3 wires vs. your TT remote with 3 buttons and 4 wires. The ICO remote essentially only has 2 buttons, the third button for the modes has the identical effect as pushing the other two buttons (+ and -) together at the same time. In other words, the mode button is not a standalone button like on your TT remote, it does the job of pressing the other two buttons at the same time. Get it?
__________________
RNS - Rallye Navigation Solutions

Yamaha WR450F Rallye Spec
schattat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 11:42 AM   #7
Happe
Offroad Nut
 
Happe's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Wales UK or Switzerland
Oddometer: 675
Yes,

thanks. I was thinking of diodes but was hoping for a simpler solution.
Two buttons will do the job for Nav Training over Christmas.
After that I need a new Tripmaster anyway and yours are looking good

Stefan
Happe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 01:43 PM   #8
Baja Dad
Beastly Adventurer
 
Baja Dad's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: Norco California
Oddometer: 1,830
I would like someone to build a nice sturdy Speedo cable and pick up
so I can run to Units off of one cable

Anyone ????
__________________
2014 support: GPR,IMS Aurora Rally Kriega, Raiden LS2,100Goggles,SIDI,Seat Concepts, Rally Raid Products UK,Precision Concepts, MX1West,Dunlop
Baja Dad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 02:21 PM   #9
Leeexc
Adventurer
 
Leeexc's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2012
Oddometer: 41
My Close up (reading) eyesight is getting worse by the day, Is there anything available to magnify the road book to make it better to read.

Thanks Lee.
Leeexc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 03:22 PM   #10
Gany
Gnarly Adventurer
 
Joined: Apr 2007
Location: Melbourne, Au
Oddometer: 299
There are guys that have roll charts with magnifiers:
http://www.fourstrokesonly.com/RouteChartsPlus.html
Name:  ImageUploadedByTapatalk1382999029.544935.jpg
Views: 1754
Size:  91.1 KB
Gany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 06:16 PM   #11
Bicycle Phil
Studly Adventurer
 
Bicycle Phil's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2003
Location: Left Coast
Oddometer: 665
Pro-Vue goggle inserts. They make a prescription insert that plugs right into your goggles.

Mine work great: easy to insert into goggle frame, completely vibration proof(stays put), easy to remove and clean. Not cheap, and worth every penny.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Leeexc View Post
My Close up (reading) eyesight is getting worse by the day, Is there anything available to magnify the road book to make it better to read.

Thanks Lee.
__________________
-Phil-
San Francisco Motorcycle Club

Thank you: MX1West, Renazco Racing, KTM Twins, Rally Management Services
Bicycle Phil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 09:04 PM   #12
beechum1
Beastly Adventurer
 
beechum1's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Location: Herlong, CA. Look it up, I'll wait.
Oddometer: 7,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baja Dad View Post
I would like someone to build a nice sturdy Speedo cable and pick up
so I can run to Units off of one cable

Anyone ????
What's the bottleneck? does it need a stronger magnet? Since it's just a signal pulse, I believe that it doesn't work, but I don't understand why....
__________________
Rally Moto Kit /// Vendor Thread
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dread Pendragon View Post
Mention to HogWild which way the wind is blowing where you're at, wait 20 minutes, and he'll post a picture of the intersection your at and a Google Earth route of how to get there.
beechum1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 03:44 AM   #13
640 Armageddon
-oo-
 
640 Armageddon's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2009
Location: Greece
Oddometer: 1,762
Excellent thread idea !

About RNS's cables, have seen a clear overcoat (if I may describe it this way) which protects the cables. The guy who used the Trips, never had problems with them. Although they look fragile, and I would also prefer a circular connector, it seems they are doing their job

As far as the roadbook magnifier is concerned, we are working on something and have prototypes at hand. They work ok, the setup is ok and at the end these will be sold as replacement covers or accessories for Mk1 roadbook holder. It depends on the demand though

BajaDad. Speedo cable and pick up.
If you mean to have one cable to read the wheel magnet and then feed the Rally Computers with one plug and then feed the KTM (for example) speedo with another plug, I can't see why why this cannot be done now by splitting the signal from the pick up cable in to two (Tony? ). Unless the Speedo has a pulse multiplier or something which prevents the idea I thing it is doable. This idea of course, defies the redundancy approach. You loose one cable you loose two devices
I have seen riders going mental and have two Trips and another two spare cables already on the bike. Swap connectors and they are good to go. Two cables on the left side two cables on the right side of the bike... Depends on what you wanna do I guess...

Till later,
D.
__________________
Aurora Rally Equipment
"Do or Do Not. There is No Try" - Yoda
640 Armageddon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 11:58 AM   #14
Happe
Offroad Nut
 
Happe's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Wales UK or Switzerland
Oddometer: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by 640 Armageddon View Post
BajaDad. Speedo cable and pick up.
If you mean to have one cable to read the wheel magnet and then feed the Rally Computers with one plug and then feed the KTM (for example) speedo with another plug, I can't see why why this cannot be done now by splitting the signal from the pick up cable in to two (Tony? ). Unless the Speedo has a pulse multiplier or something which prevents the idea I thing it is doable. ...
Nope,

tried it for my first Navigation Ride in 2012 on the cheap.
Two Sigmas on one sensor

As you can see on the picture one Sigma is at 0km/h Speed the other at 7Km/h
The bike is standing still
Attached Images
 
Happe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2013, 12:03 PM   #15
DaveRMS
Beastly Adventurer
 
DaveRMS's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: San Rafael, CA
Oddometer: 1,003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baja Dad View Post
I would like someone to build a nice sturdy Speedo cable and pick up
so I can run to Units off of one cable

Anyone ????
This puts the redundancy at the wrong end of the equation. The units don't usually fail--it's the cables that fail. IMHO, you are better off with 1 unit and 2 cables than 2 units and 1 cable. Of course, you should run 2 units and 2 cables if you really want to do it "right".

Dave
__________________
Rally Management Services - 2015 Dakar plans in the works...
DaveRMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 09:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014