User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-31-2013, 05:47 PM   #1
ericthered OP
Rookie

Oddometer: 2
First Post Go Easy On Me

I searched the categories and didn't see any introduction or newbie section so this seems closest to my topic.

I recently received my endorsement and am planning on shopping for a bike over the winter. I have limited riding experience and don't know exactly what I want to do.

I work from home so I don't need a daily commuter just something to ride around town minimal freeway use and some off road type stuff. Now whether that is single track or fire roads I really don't know what I will like more.

I originally started looking into the CRF250L but I am afraid that I will grow out of that in a month. I also looked into the KLR650 but I want something more dirt bike-ish

That brought me to the DRZ400S. I know there are a TON of supporters in this section and I have answered a lot of the basic questions myself but there are a few things that I'm still not sure about. I am already stretching my budget to buy one new or close to new so KTM seems a bit out of reach at this point. I have also looked into the Christini bikes. They have a couple dual sport models but I'm worried about the additional maintenance required to run that AWD system and the "Knock Off" engine. Now correct me if I'm wrong but I hear its a knock off Honda engine made in China or somewhere? They only have a 30 day warranty on the engine so that kind of freaks me out.

I am starting to wonder if I should just buy a dirtbike and get a plate for it? Im in Idaho now but plan on moving to Washington state next year.

I would like to try Adventure riding but I'm not sure how often I would be able to do it. I have my own business so its hard to take time off. Can a DRZ400 keep up with the KLR's? Same on the dirt can it keep up with the more dirt oriented bikes?

That was long thanks for reading