ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Bikes > GSpot > GS Boxers
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-18-2013, 05:19 AM   #1
Geralt OP
Adventurer
 
Geralt's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2013
Location: Klaipėda, Lithuania
Oddometer: 81
Has anyone retrofitted aux lights switch on adventure?

I have 2007 R12GSA. It has center mounted aux lights switch under the handlebar tube and the tube has a protective cover. Not only I can't see the switch, but it protrudes the installation of ram ball mount. One of the tabs has to be bent out of the way to install the mount into isa screw nest.
Looks like this:


It had a Wunderlich mount for TomTom Rider system (actual pic.).


I have navigation app in iPhone, so I have installed RamBall mount for iPhone holder.
This is the mount i bought. Can be twisted in all directions.


So... is there any retrofit kit or instructions to move the switch to another location or fit it on the right side screws only? There is only one small switch, no need of that huge box on the handlebar mount. The other port is not used anyway. Would prefer oem look though...
Geralt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 05:34 AM   #2
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 48,650
That is about the dumbest location for that switch!

There is a kit to mount it above the left switch pod that looks like it would fit your bike. You can get it from BMW for a reasonable price.



Jim
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 05:35 AM   #3
jpalamar
Beastly Adventurer
 
jpalamar's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL (Northeast FL, USA)
Oddometer: 3,080
I'm a bit confused as the pic and the verbiage don't seem to be in accord. Or more likely I don't understand. If you are intending to leave the AUX light switch where it is and need a RAM ball to left or right of it, RAM has a simple mount that can use any of the 4 bolt/screw holding that switch. If I stuck my big nose where I should not have, my apologies.
jpalamar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 05:49 AM   #4
Geralt OP
Adventurer
 
Geralt's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2013
Location: Klaipėda, Lithuania
Oddometer: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpalamar View Post
I'm a bit confused as the pic and the verbiage don't seem to be in accord. Or more likely I don't understand. If you are intending to leave the AUX light switch where it is and need a RAM ball to left or right of it, RAM has a simple mount that can use any of the 4 bolt/screw holding that switch. If I stuck my big nose where I should not have, my apologies.
This would be too simple, wouldn't it?
The ball touches the tab that holds the switch.
I did mounted it, but the tab is bent away now.
There is no room between the ball and the housing to fit something.
I've managed to install it just because it can be moved in a lot of directions.
Geralt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 05:52 AM   #5
Geralt OP
Adventurer
 
Geralt's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2013
Location: Klaipėda, Lithuania
Oddometer: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimVonBaden View Post
That is about the dumbest location for that switch!
There is a kit to mount it above the left switch pod that looks like it would fit your bike. You can get it from BMW for a reasonable price.



Jim
Yes, that was my preferred option, but.... I don't know if it's the one and only option. Aftermarket switches on the bars are not the best option.

Geralt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 06:11 AM   #6
NoVa Rider
Beastly Adventurer
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Oddometer: 2,578


http://www.cyclenutz.com/Mini-Handle...tch_p_210.html
NoVa Rider is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 06:44 AM   #7
Geralt OP
Adventurer
 
Geralt's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2013
Location: Klaipėda, Lithuania
Oddometer: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoVa Rider View Post
Blasphemy! It says Yamaha!

Seriously - will take some measures. 20mm should fit somewhere on the handlebars. Thanks.
Geralt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 06:51 AM   #8
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 48,650
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geralt View Post
Yes, that was my preferred option, but.... I don't know if it's the one and only option. Aftermarket switches on the bars are not the best option.

This is not an aftermarket addition or switch. It is a small cover piece that utilizes the existing factory switch and is from BMW. It is how they added the switch from 2008 on for the factory aux lights.

Jim
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 06:57 AM   #9
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 48,650
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoVa Rider View Post
Right. You have both, the factory aux switch like I showed, and the added switch from CycleNutz to the right of your antenna mount.

Jim
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 07:51 AM   #10
RudyBoy
Studly Adventurer
 
RudyBoy's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2004
Oddometer: 647
I was just about to suggest that same switch, so I will now give it a +1 :)

But I will say the OEM switch on top has the best feel and would be my first choice for one set of lights. The bar-mounted switch is likely more affordable, but is a bit of a reach to activate it (while keeping your hand on the grip) compared to the OEM.

__________________
2009 1200 GS Adventure
Boise, Idaho
RudyBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 11:43 PM   #11
Geralt OP
Adventurer
 
Geralt's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2013
Location: Klaipėda, Lithuania
Oddometer: 81
Well... I like the OEM looks, so I have to check how the switch is going to go along with Wunderlich mirrors. The leg of the mirror looks pretty damn close to the switch housing . Almost touches ASC button.
Wunderlich lists it for R 1200 GS Adv. ( - 2007) as well as R 1200 GS Adv. (2008 - 2009) models. So.. I don't know... should be good to go, I guess.
Can anyone confirm these mirrors fit with the oem aux switch on the left bar?


What else do I need to mount it like in a newer model (2008 and onward)? How it is fixed in there? Do I need to drill or brake something to get it attached? I suppose I don't, huh?
Or is it parts 8+7+6? Instead of #3?

6. FOG LAMP SWITCH #61317694815 - $102.40 (what? for a switch? for a button?!)
7. Upper section of switch housing, left #61317702063 - $19.02
8. Lower section of switch housing, left #61317702067 - $22.23

Geralt screwed with this post 11-19-2013 at 12:06 AM
Geralt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2013, 11:53 PM   #12
(I^2)R/746
Adventurer
 
Joined: Oct 2012
Location: Santa Cruz Mountains, CA
Oddometer: 53
I would consider using a different switch like the PIAA fog light kit uses. They are about $20. Wire into a relay tucked away. They are much smaller profile than anything OEM and have an unobtrusive LED indicator. I used to have one on my dimmable LED's (Clearwater) but took it off because I leave them on all the time anyway (dimmed down).
(I^2)R/746 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 05:33 AM   #13
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 48,650
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geralt View Post
Well... I like the OEM looks, so I have to check how the switch is going to go along with Wunderlich mirrors. The leg of the mirror looks pretty damn close to the switch housing . Almost touches ASC button.
Wunderlich lists it for R 1200 GS Adv. ( - 2007) as well as R 1200 GS Adv. (2008 - 2009) models. So.. I don't know... should be good to go, I guess.
Can anyone confirm these mirrors fit with the oem aux switch on the left bar?


What else do I need to mount it like in a newer model (2008 and onward)? How it is fixed in there? Do I need to drill or brake something to get it attached? I suppose I don't, huh?
Or is it parts 8+7+6? Instead of #3?

6. FOG LAMP SWITCH #61317694815 - $102.40 (what? for a switch? for a button?!)
7. Upper section of switch housing, left #61317702063 - $19.02
8. Lower section of switch housing, left #61317702067 - $22.23
You will need 7 and 8, if you have the original fog light switch (which it looks like you do from your other posts).

Jim
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 05:33 AM   #14
JimVonBaden
"Cool" Aid!
 
JimVonBaden's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Location: Alexandria, VA
Oddometer: 48,650
Quote:
Originally Posted by (I^2)R/746 View Post
I would consider using a different switch like the PIAA fog light kit uses. They are about $20. Wire into a relay tucked away. They are much smaller profile than anything OEM and have an unobtrusive LED indicator. I used to have one on my dimmable LED's (Clearwater) but took it off because I leave them on all the time anyway (dimmed down).
He doesn't need a relay. His bike already has it.

Jim
JimVonBaden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 08:51 AM   #15
Geralt OP
Adventurer
 
Geralt's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2013
Location: Klaipėda, Lithuania
Oddometer: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimVonBaden View Post
You will need 7 and 8, if you have the original fog light switch.
Jim
That sounds logical. Thank you.
Will order right away.

Made some cell phone pics to make it more clear:











Geralt screwed with this post 11-20-2013 at 01:53 AM
Geralt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 06:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014