User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-21-2013, 12:34 AM   #1
onesaintsfan OP
BigJohnHart

Oddometer: 1,297
Rome & Misano for MotoGP

Hope this is the right forum. Looking for tips and pointers from the world travelers here.

I am Catholic and Love MotoGP ( That's the top motorcycle racing series in the world). I know this trip is about 1 1/2 years away but since I have never traveled out of the country, and have only flown 3 times in my life I figure I better get started early. This trip will occur about 3 months after I retire. I want to travel to Rome and Misano Italy. This would be in the month of September. Now the main things I want to see in Rome is the Vatican and St. Peters. I want to spend about 10 days to 2 weeks on this vacation. I want to then travel to Misano for the MotoGP race that will be Fri-Sunday. I thought about then going on to Venice for a few days then fly back. Again I am a total newbie to travel but need advice on them most cost effective way to do this trip. The MOST IMPROTANT thing about this trip is that I don't want to be shuffled around like cattle on this trip trying take in everything. If I could I would love to see the Vatican and St. Peters, but then just meander around the countryside discovering all the mom and pop places and see the REAL Italy and meet real people. A loose plan would be to fly into Rome and spend 3-4 days there. Then take 2-3 days to slow and easy travel to Misano for 3 days at the MotoGP race. Then take 2-3 days to slow and easy travel to Venice. Then fly back to New Orleans from there. Venice is not a deal killer so if I need to go back to Rome and fly out of there then that's ok. I would love to rent a motorcycle and travel, but want the wife to enjoy the trip too so that's out. Don't really care to have to drive, so travel by train would be ok. This race is run in September most of the time so that is the month I want to go. It will be 2 adults. My