ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Regional forums > Southeast, The Lair of the Dragon - The Blue Ridge and Smoky Mountains
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 11-22-2013, 07:20 PM   #1
New2Moto OP
Gnarly Adventurer

Oddometer: 344
I am new to riding, live in Hilton Head and have some questions...please help :)

Hey everyone,

I am new here and new to riding. I am looking for a dual sport bike to learn to ride on and develop skills that will be used later to do some long distance touring. I have decided to take an insurance/license waiver class as soon as possible so I can start to test ride some bikes. I originally wanted to get a drz400s or sm but after further research have been leaning towards the CRF250L as I have never even been on a motorbike before and the smaller/newer model bike looks appealing. The lower price tag also looks appealing.

I have been told by some (and seen some reviews that say) that this is a bad idea and that It won’t have enough power and I will get bored with it and want to upgrade within the year.

Some details that may affect your opinions...

I am 26 years old 6'1 215lbs and live in an area with almost no hills at all. As mentioned, I have never had or been on a motorbike before. I won’t need to travel on highway ever and the speed limits when I do ride on the road will be 45 mph or lower (occasionally 55). I will be using it just to ride for fun, develop skill and maybe do some small errands around town. Most of my riding will consist of riding on the road to many of the local random fire trail/off road type roads etc. also would like to be able to explore smaller more technical trails on occasion.

I would really appreciate some help!

Of course I will be test riding before purchasing but I wanted to do some online research first
New2Moto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2013, 07:32 PM   #2
biker128pedal
Super Lurker

Oddometer: 2,688