ADVrider

Go Back   ADVrider > Riding > Racing
User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-02-2014, 07:07 PM   #16
steved57
Gnarly Adventurer
 
steved57's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: East Texas
Oddometer: 277
I know Ineed a road book holder but do I need an ICO since my Berg came with the Trailtech computer which has an odometer
__________________
AMA Earned Life Member
2014 NORRA Mexican 1000
2014 Husaberg FE 350
2010 KTM 990 Supermoto
2010 KTM RC8
steved57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2014, 06:19 AM   #17
Johnnymoto
Adventurer
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago
Oddometer: 76
there are different schools of thought on this, if you're using GPS, that has an ODO too, just use what ya got, keep the cost down, and use the manual roadbook holder, and if ya wish you'd have had a fancy set up buy it after the rally is my $.02...
Johnnymoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2014, 06:51 AM   #18
Bluebull2007
Adventurer
 
Bluebull2007's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Lima, Perú
Oddometer: 4,940
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnnymoto View Post
there are different schools of thought on this, if you're using GPS, that has an ODO too, just use what ya got, keep the cost down, and use the manual roadbook holder, and if ya wish you'd have had a fancy set up buy it after the rally is my $.02...
That's great in theory, until you take a wrong turn and your GPS distance does not match up with the road book. Do that once or twice and you'll be to be a savant to subtract the differences from your gps distance, compare that to the road book distance, and remember what CAP heading to ride in, all this while trying to avoid the double and triple cautions in a racing environment.

The nice thing about an ICO is that you can calibrate it to the road book at known points on the fly.
__________________
-
-
Dreaming of Dakar
Bluebull2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2014, 08:27 AM   #19
steved57
Gnarly Adventurer
 
steved57's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: East Texas
Oddometer: 277
A savant I am NOT :)

Thanks for everones replies/input
__________________
AMA Earned Life Member
2014 NORRA Mexican 1000
2014 Husaberg FE 350
2010 KTM 990 Supermoto
2010 KTM RC8
steved57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2014, 10:50 AM   #20
Country Doc
Wanderer
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Location: somwhere north of Kingston, Ontario
Oddometer: 2,656
Quote:
Originally Posted by steved57 View Post
I know Ineed a road book holder but do I need an ICO since my Berg came with the Trailtech computer which has an odometer
The trailtech would work ok if it has a remotely adjustable odo on the fly (I think the Striker has this feature). A main problem with lots of stock computers is that the digits/display are too small.

It would help to mount it up high by the roadbook as looking down is a pain, and can be hazardous.

dc
Country Doc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2014, 12:00 PM   #21
Baja Dad
Beastly Adventurer
 
Baja Dad's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Location: Norco California
Oddometer: 1,826
YES you need an ICO
I always run TWO (ico) units

Just email Dave at RMS store@rallymanagementservices.com
and order this it will save you time and money !!!!

__________________
2014 support: GPR,IMS Aurora Rally Kriega, Raiden LS2,100Goggles,SIDI,Seat Concepts, Rally Raid Products UK,Precision Concepts, MX1West,Dunlop
Baja Dad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2014, 03:30 PM   #22
steved57
Gnarly Adventurer
 
steved57's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2007
Location: East Texas
Oddometer: 277
Thanks Baja Dad
__________________
AMA Earned Life Member
2014 NORRA Mexican 1000
2014 Husaberg FE 350
2010 KTM 990 Supermoto
2010 KTM RC8
steved57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2014, 10:52 AM   #23
DaveRMS
Beastly Adventurer
 
DaveRMS's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: San Rafael, CA
Oddometer: 1,039
I have posted a Tech Tip on how to install two odometers:

http://rallymanagementservices.com/b...wo-ico-sensors



ICO vs. TripMaster really comes down to cost. Having sold both of them for years, I can say that both are excellent kit. TripMaster has a larger display but is a fair bit more expensive and does not include a thumbswitch at that price. ICO may be plastic, but ICO says that it is the same plastic that old AT&T phones were made of (tough stuff). In the real world with a large sample set, this just isn't a practical problem.

I've sold 1000's of ICOs and seen a handful of problems (mostly a software glitch that has long been resolved). I've sold 10's of TripMasters and have also had some problems. Statistically, neither is bulletproof or total crap. Both are excellent kit. ICO has been on nearly every Dakar bike since the 80's. TripMaster has good results too at Dakar this year.

In all cases, please, PLEASE route your cables properly. Read my stuff at http://www.rallymanagementservices.com/support. Poor installation and routing is the #1 cause of failure.

Hope this helps!

Dave
DaveRMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Share

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

.
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


Times are GMT -7.   It's 01:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ADVrider 2011-2014