User Name
Password
Register Inmates Photos Site Rules Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 12-15-2013, 08:46 AM   #1
Strykermike OP
Adventurer

Oddometer: 36
Question 2012 vs 2013

So I have been bitten by the adventure bug pretty bad. I haven't owned a bike in about 30 years. I am seriously considering the 990. I have noticed a few left over new 2012 models.
My question is. What are the major differences between a 2012 model and the 2013 Baja edition? Is it just the paint and storage bags, or is there more to it? Any advice here wil be greatly appreciated.
Strykermike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2013, 09:09 AM   #2
armourbl
Adventure Life

Oddometer: 466
I'm new to this as well. I actually have a 2013 on order right now. Besides what you have mentioned, I believe the 2012 has ABS, where the 2013 does not.

Here is an article on the 2012. http://ultimatemotorcycling.com/2012...abs-r-preview/

I'm sure more knowledgeable members will post soon enough.

ben
armourbl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2013, 09:50 AM   #3
SCflyer
Beastly Adventurer

Oddometer: 1,560
I think the only difference between the two is Baja doesn't have ABS on it but you get additions like D908 Offroad tires, aux lights, tail bag and a few other things. Suspension is the same since they're both "standard" vs the R version which doesn't have ABS and has longer suspension travel.

All u need to know...http://www.ktm.com/us/travel/990-adv...l#.Uq3s8a2A05s

SCflyer screwed with this post 12-15-2013 at 09:56 AM
SCflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2013, 10:18 AM   #4
Kingrider
Adventurer

Oddometer: 21
Another gets bitten. That's great. This type of riding beats anything else I've done. Just a word of caution, you are buying the pinnacle of bikes in this genre. It is capable of doing single track in 1st gear and something in excess of 100 mph in the open. Respect the bike and you will have a ball.
Enjoy the the ride.

Kingrider

2004 KTM 950 Adventure